We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the vecation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the vecation ever”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

great location , great hotel ,great staff and the best hotel food
they have 5 different restaurants and they serve a great food
also the staff are very friendly and professional
we came as a family with little children's and we enjoy very much.

Room Tip: try next to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It was our pleasure accommodating you and your lovely family in our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris and really hope to welcome you very soon again!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,823
    658
    189
    49
    22
See reviews for
1,176
925
15
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Golf del Sur, Spain
Level Contributor
187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Sent here for a work conference, how could I refuse...and overall found it a very clean, even felt brand new in places and with very friendly, efficient staff
Having said the positives, here are a few gripes...
This is an all inclusive resort and is very set in its ways but being a conference delegate we were on a b&b basis, so we had to pay for all meals and drinks as an extra, which is my main complaint.
All but one of the five restaurants are buffet venues, even the a la carte is a BBQ buffet, the one that isn't has only a small restricted local menu and what did annoy me is the rule that you are only allowed to visit each of these restaurants ONCE every week.
I don't know if this is normal for an 'all inclusive' but I wasn't told this at any point of booking and I could not find it on their website.... after the first couple of days having a buffet for every meal becomes very boring.....what would be nice is a normal restaurant for those that do not want a buffet, paying a supplement for it where necessary and then there would be no need to leave the resort, apart that is from trying to get a a proper drink...the non branded/weak drinks may be acceptable on an 'all inclusive' tariff but when having to pay extra for each drink, I don't expect the same poor quality, in fact I had to leave the resort to get a decent G & T or glass of wine.
The room we booked was a deluxe garden view bungalow but it actually over looked a dusty olive grove and main road which often had coaches and delivery lorries struggling up the hill.
The air conditioned unit was situated in the front corner of the living area, it was quiet but restricted to 16 degrees and the cold air struggled to reach the bedroom.
Stocked fridge (no wine or spirits) but not replenished at any point, though this could have been because we were b&b only.
Good bathroom with a great powerful shower in the bath.
We had a small pool in the middle of the bungalow area, which was nice and close to us but it would have been nice to have been able to get lunch/snacks here like I have had at other resorts and not just the cake offered each day.
The other downside to the pool was that, because it was small, people seemed to think it was a children's pool and often the noise/inflatables,jumping/diving was intolerable and the group of pool attendance guys that seemed to hang/hide around the bar there did nothing to stop it, even though the area had signs saying no diving....
Finally I would like to thank one particular member of the breakfast staff, Eleni, who greeted everyone like an old friend, always smiling and couldn't do enough for everyone, she is a real asset to the resort.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow if you can afford it but they are a bit of a mixed bag, pool view sounds good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mvf906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to thank you for your comments and assure you we will do our best to ameliorate our services even more in the future. Please allow us to offer you some explanation on the above mentioned issues faced during your stay at Creta Maris. Firstly, we would like to let you know that the reason we have this special restriction about the a la carte restaurants (that guests can visit each once per week) is because we need to offer the option/availability to all guests to enjoy all our restaurants, so in order for a guest to find availability we had to add this restriction. Of course we always are available to discuss with guests that have any special need and do our best to assist. We would like of course to thank you for you feedback about the website and assure you that we will add this information as well.
Moreover, concerning the drinks offered at the resort, please allow us to inform you that every guest can enjoy unlimited local and international drinks at the resorts’ bars. In case a guest requests a special branded spirits we are always to offer it with an extra fee. In addition, apart from the local wine offered at the buffet all the restaurants, the resort also offers a great wine list of local great wine producers and can be offered to every guest (with an extra fee).
Following, concerning the air condition unit at the rooms, please allow us to explain that the temperature is not restricted but can be amended from the control. In case that was not possible, our staff could have assisted you.
Lastly, please let us clarify that the resort only offer a mini fridge, not a mini bar in the regular rooms. We only offer a complimentary fridge stock upon arrival including water, soft drinks and beer, to the deluxe rooms’ guests.
We really hope to have another chance in the near future accommodating you again at Creta Maris, offering an even better experience of our services.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just come back from our holiday at Creta Maris beach resort in Hersonissos, crete. We had a lovely time.

NEGATIVE:

Was worried at the beginning as we arrived quite late in the evening and they were very helpful as they had left the dining room open for us, we were given a map with the keys and room number but we could not find our room anywhere on the map when I asked we were in the Terra building over the other side on the map the rooms do not exist, when I asked someone in reception about this he said I will take you but he pointed up the road said turn left over bridge when we did this we were totally lost and a buggy came down so we stopped him and he took us to the lift and said 3rd floor. when we got into room it was nice but we did not know how to work the lighting as it is a big key with a bulge on the end I scanned it across a hole in the wall and lights came on but when I started to walk through the room they went out and it was pitch black, I then realized that you have to put the bulge end into the hole as it is a magnet.

There is no full length mirror in room but they have said they will look into this. That is the end of the moans..............

The room we had was large with an extra settee which would make a single bed chairs and table, we had a seaview I would recommend this if you can afford it as it is really worth while our balcony was large too such a treat to sit with a wine and look out to sea. The bathroom was large and clean. Very big wardrobes and plenty of drawer space I do not know what the other rooms are like over the other side. Thee were plenty of shower gels, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion all of a good quality, you would not need to take your own. We had a couple of times they had not left something we phoned reception and the maid was there very quickly with the item.

The food was excellent you have 2 main buffet rooms the main one is a little noisier as it has more people and more children there but food is good, the one in the Terra building is quiter and more relaxing
food also excellent. The 4 other a la carte restaurants were all very good The 2 greek ones you will not need to eat too much before hand as the portions and quantities a huge but lovely. The italian is buffet style and the other one near the beach is BBQ which is also buffet but great, cannot fault the food if anyone says they cannot find anything to eat there must be something wrong with them. Plenty of wine and beer also.

Should you have any problems getting into the restaurants go to Guest relations in the reception area and they will help you. You are only supposed to use the a la carte restaurants once per week but if they have room they will try their best to accommodate you over and above your allowance.

Speaking of the guest relations staff they are very friendly and helpful if you have any problem at all while at the hotel I would recommend to speak to them as they will try their best to sort it out for you, as they say if they are not told of any problems they do not know they exist and they cannot make things better.

They have 6 pools and the amount of loungers they have on the whole complex is amazing including the beach, I have never been anywhere that has so many. You will find if you use the main pool near reception it gets busy and people are putting their towels out early unfortunately, but the other side terra building it is really quite and you do not struggle to get a lounger at any time of day, they all have bars nearby so you wont get too dry....

The hotel is a short walk into Hersonissos which is quite large lots of roads leading off and lots of bars, restaurants and shops, if you get fed up with lager as my husband does it is worth a walk and go the the irish pub near the sea I think it was called shannanigans.

To close to say that the whole site was very clean as they were always hosing done the paths, etc and staff were friendly. The weather was beautiful also which helps.

For the price I think this was a good hotel and would go back again should we ever go to Crete again we tend not to return to countries twice.

I hope this may be of help to some people

Room Tip: Terra building rooms were large 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wondermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris Beach Resort. We apologize for the difficulty finding your room at the beginning, there should have been a problem at the front office as we always accompany guests to their room upon arrival. We really hope to welcome you very soon again!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

NEW
Vic and Jean
One of the best holidays we have been on without a doubt'' We stayed in a room with a sea view that was no more than a five minutes walk from the main part of the resort and was lovely. All areas - food, pools, restaurants, bars and all footpaths - are all extremely clean and very well run. All the wonderful staff from cleaners to the Management; nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment staff work very hard and our thanks go to all of them but especially to Rosie and team who made us feel very welcome and kept us amused.

All the food al the a la carte restaurants was out of this world - we were spoilt for choice. We would like to make a special thanks to Anna from the Italian restaurant and Michael in the Bar. Also the guest Relations Team, Marianna, Niki, Aspa, Inni. Everybody was extremely friendly.


We would recommend this hotel to everybody and for the first time in many years we are seriously thinking of going again in the near future.

Room Tip: We Stayed in room No 6214 on the second floor not far from the Italian restaurant and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicT165XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you had a wonderful time at Creta Maris and really hope to welcome you very soon again.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

That is my wife, who asked me to write the review. When booking the staying I bought a SPA package for my wife. And she was really happy with the services provided. The girls at SPA are very friendly and do their job good. My wife would like to say special thanks to Erianna, the SPA manager. She was very kind and she knows her job perfectly. If you have any issues you can contact her and she will do her best to help you. Hope to stay at this hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays and the Spa at Creta Maris and really hope to accommodate you again very soon in the future.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We arrived late to be told our rooms weren't available but we were given a bungalow suite for the first night and then moved the next morning after breakfast .for the inconvenience we were upgraded to a sea view room instead of the standard room booked through our travel agent , what a bonus .
The food was a varied choice and replaced frequently ,there was something for everyone at each meal ,The hotel was spotless and the staff are very evident cleaning around the pool and public areas constantly .The grounds and gardens are very well kept all credit to the staff
The location is ideal a few minutes walk away to local bars and shops .We booked a couple of trips from the local tour shops and they were excellent value for money and well run .We went to spinolonga with barbecue and swimming one day for 32 euros and then a boat trip across the bay to Sissi one day for 20 euros ,both well worth it .A must for a night out is a trip by taxi approx 7-10 euros to koutouloufari ,a village set in the hillside lovely little gift shops bars and restaurants which comes to life at dusk .
We have been to Crete before but this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in and would recommend it unreservedly .

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris and really hope to accommodate you again in the future!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersonissos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My sister and I have enjoyed a wonderful holiday here and would like to say a huge thank you to the wonderful staff who assisted me when I had a nasty fall. The Assistant Manager and also Mariana could not have been more kind and attentive to ensure I received the necessary treatment. We can not rate the complex more highly in all respects. Good rooms, great food and beautiful surroundings not to mention the swimming pools which we made great use of.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you had a wonderful holiday at Creta Maris and really hope to accommodate you again in the future!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#11 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,033 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Property: Creta Maris Beach Resort
Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing