We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a smart looking hotel, with clean, spacious rooms. The resort is nicely spread out with numerous pools to choose from depending on your mood. There are several a la carte resaturants to choose from my favourite being The Pithos Greek restaurant, However the buffet restaurants are top notch as well. Only 2 minutes away from the town centre. Great for shopping, or plenty of tavernas if you want a change. The Thomas Cook rep, Gillian was a great lady very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and she was available Mon to Fri. All staff were lovely. very friendly and helpful. Also was nice to see the presence of top management making sure everything was running ship shape. The beach area is a big size and the sea is calm enough to paddle and swim easily. Plenty of sun bed space at all times.
Now, no matter how good a hotel is. it is nothing without a good Animation team,and they did not disappoint. We first met Ben within 2 hours of arriving and he made us very welcome,Telling us a bit about the hotel and the entertainment programme,always had a smile on his face, even when his guitar was upside down! Then you have Michael, who does Michael Jackson in one of the shows and fire eating ! Tiny, sweet Svetlana who celebrated her birthday and Bethan enjoying a visit from her mum at the time, who we also met. Rio, who was your poolside keep fit expert and a has some great foot work in 'The Lord of the Dance' show. Feisty Flower, who is a mean water polo player and also did the choreography for the shows. Last but not least, our sexy lady Anita !! What an absolute attribute to the team and hotel she is. She never stops and is a natural entertainer and all round lovely person, Always has a huge smile on her face and is jumping around like a bag of frogs!! Well done to the entertainment team and all other hotel staff who joined in the 'green bike ride' promoting healthier,sustainable environments. This hotel will not disappoint and would suit any age range.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkysuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris and that you liked our entertainment team! Moreover, we were delighted you participated in the bike tour following the first solar vehicle that did the tour of Crete last week!
We really hope to welcome you again at Creta Maris very soon in the future.

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,828
    659
    189
    49
    22
See reviews for
1,179
927
15
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TLV
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great time at the Creta Maris, it is quite pampering (especially if you're staying in all inclusive basis).
We stayed in a room at the main building (the room was quite big, the bath was recently renovated). The room included all the regular amenities, including safe,hairdryer, iron, satellite TV with very good selection, mini fridge.
Cons of the main building rooms, about half of them have parking view.
Food and Drinks: As we booked the all inclusive basis, we enjoyed Breakfast, late breakfast (10-11), Lunch, alternative Lunch (light meal), Main dinner, late dinner(22-24), + 4 specialty restaurants. The variety in huge, and the quality is just OK. In addition, there were multiple bars at the beach and pools area, which serve drinks (incl. Alcoholic) and snacks all day long (free for the all inclusive basis). The hotel is quite big, but one doesn't feel too crowded, as there are tons of swimming pools (officially they have 14 pools), and the beach is wide enough.
All in all, I'd definetely recommend the Creta Maris.

One warning not related to the hotel: Bring a lot of patience with you to the airport when leaving Crete. Long queues, no air conditioning, it can really ruin ones vacation....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grooveTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris Beach Resort and really hope to accommodate you once again very soon in the future!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel has been in business since 1975. It seems it was expanded several times and the rooms renovated as well. The room we stayed in was a Bungalow that was renovated this year. Beautiful room with a nice view on the pool.

Our stay was all inclusive and it was great. The breakfast had a wide variety of items and the taste was good. For dinner, we had to reserve in one of the 6 restaurants before 3:00pm on the same day or for next day. You could not reserve any further in advance which was a bit disappointing as I wanted to get it out of the way. The food varied between the restaurants; our favourite though was Estia. We had some special requests (no pork or alcohol) and the manager actually acknowledged that and took us around the buffet to show us what was OK to eat. Even though we had the same comment on all our reservations, this was the only time it was acknowledged. The food was also very good.

I had fun taking photos all over the resort as it had amazing views wherever we went. I attached several that i took.

Overall, it was a pleasure staying there and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris! We would like to let you know that the reason we allow table reservation only a day prior and not further is because we need to be fair with all guests, including those who arrive at the hotel and want to reserve a table for the next day.
We really hope to welcome you again very soon at Creta Maris!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsall
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was My wifes 5th and my 4th visit to the Creta Maris. The welcome from ALL the staff was 1st class.The service we recieved from arrival to departure was the best you could hope for.
All Hotels have a star rating The CRETA MARIS should be rated at least 5 Star.
The rooms are always spotless ,The food is always Good but every year it gets better. The choice and standards of Menu and on site Restraunts have improved every year. The Hotel takes PRIDE in using LOCAL ORGANIC INGREDIENTS.It gets better every year.

I would like to name all the members of staff who were Outstanding but as there are in excess of 400 of them and all of the staff from Manager to toilet cleanser look after the guests with the same comitment and care . all I can say is

All I need to do now is BOOK for next year.

THANK YOU ALL AT CRETA MARIS.

Room Tip: Always book a Sea View but if you are planning to go in June Please avoid rooms 34* and 35* as we wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very very much for your positive feedback. It is always a great pleasure reading a review by a select club (repeating) guest! We are very happy that you love Creta Maris and you feel like home every time you visit.
We will be happy to welcome you again next June!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

this is a game of to halfes the negatives first there are none just returned from 10 day stay at the above resort found this to be with0ut dought the best hotel i have stayed in crete the staff were excellent and very friendly and helpfull there are various pools around the resort all are excellent and well maintained with an above average amount of sunbeds so no saving was required as always available plenty of drinks available from the pool bars or inside bars so no queing required.the rooms were large and very clean with loads of towels changed everyday and the cleaners worked so hard there are 6 restaurants on the resort all serving supereb food and desserts to die for . they have 2 excellent photographers that work for the hotel and take professional photos of the highest qualitywithout being pushy nothing is to much trouble for anybody at this resort at great stay was had so you wont be disapointed

Room Tip: all rooms excellent so no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkyRochford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays at Creta Maris and really hope to welcome you very soon again!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From start to finish this Hotel was amazing. The welcome on arrival was really friendly and the porter was very helpful and spoke great English. We had booked to stay in a Sea View Bungalow and were not disappointed at all. The Rooms were very spacious and the pictures on the web site do not do them justice, the view was amazing day or night. The whole site was extremely well kept and tidy and you can tell the management and staff really care and take great pride in whatever job they do. We would also like to personally thank the Catering Manager for surprising my partner with a Birthday Cake and a serenade of Happy Birthday from all the Staff at the Cochlias Restaurant, we were very surprised as we had not informed anyone of his Birthday. It was a really nice gesture and well received. We must also mention how hard every member of staff works from the cleaners right up to management level. Everyone is so friendly and tries so hard to make your holiday a great one, and it works! I can Safely say after visiting Greece and Crete in particular on many occasions that this is the Best Hotel we have Stayed in. We would also Like to thank Irini at the main Bar, who after only a few days knew exactly what dinks we all wanted, and also the two Maria's as well, in fact we could name so many staff who all made a difference to our Holiday but unfortunately we cannot remember all the names. I must also say how amazing ALL the Restaurants are, every one of them has amazing food and service and staff. Thank you all. We will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Sea View Definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purplerainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, your kind words gives us the strength to always continue the good work and try to become even better! It is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay by all means and we really hope to welcome you very soon again at Creta Maris!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

great location , great hotel ,great staff and the best hotel food
they have 5 different restaurants and they serve a great food
also the staff are very friendly and professional
we came as a family with little children's and we enjoy very much.

Room Tip: try next to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creta_Maris, Marketing & PR Manager at Creta Maris Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It was our pleasure accommodating you and your lovely family in our resort. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Creta Maris and really hope to welcome you very soon again!

Best regards,

Faye Papaioannou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,037 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Property: Creta Maris Beach Resort
Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#1 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing