We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just came back from a family vacation in Creta Maris (10 people, ages 2 to 75) - and we all had a wonderful time!
Before I complement the resort, one suggestion for improvement, which I hope someone from the hotel will read and take into consideration: How is it possible that in a hotel that offers so many pools and a big beach there is no place to hang wet swimsuits in the rooms? The result is that each guest improvise a solution, and usually hangs it on chairs outside... Creta Maris - you can do better!

In any other aspect - I have only good things to say
* The resort is very clean (rooms and public areas), rooms (and we had 3 different ones) were comfortable and well planned. The pools are all around the hotel, so there is always one not far from your room - but the beach might quite far, so one might one to check it before booking.
* Although the pools and the beach were packed with people - it was quiet and you could find a free bed
* Food - as others have already said - is not really good or tasty, but in all meals there was a big variety of offers, they were never short of anything and there was never a big line. i.e., you don't go to Creta Maris for the food, but you don't stay hungry.
* We tried 3 of the restaurants - italian, organic and greek - and they were much nicer then the big "basic" restaurant. Please note that it is necessary to book a place as early as possible (must say - I think many guests reserve a place and just don't show up - because it is free anyhow, so the restaurants are fully booked, but are not full at all, which is a pity because other guests could enjoy the place!).
* The reception people were always eager to help and very nice!

So, if you're planning to go there - Have fun!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,103)
There are newer reviews for Creta Maris Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 3,104 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

When picturing what a resort would look like in Crete this place is exactly that picture. Beautiful white-washed buildings with lush tropical landscape overlooking the Agean. The resort's private beach is small by American standards but really is the nicest in the area. The main pool is amazing and really large. The entertainment is fun and engaging. I had a room overlooking the ocean. It was so beautiful and peaceful. The room was clean and very large by European standards. The restaurants on property were all delicious and service was very good. The hotel is right by a little Greek village and I highly recommend walking through it, having a drink, and shopping. It is really nice and pretty. I never had a problem finding a sunbed so that was also a huge positive. The spa looked really nice but I did not have the time to partake.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindseyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was not on the review list when we last stayed here. Very comfortable room GREAT pool and one of the best outdoor meals (dinner) we have had anywhere in the world. There is something for everyone at this resort / hotel. Also excellent breakfast. Go back - too right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NZJJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Creta Maris this week(August 2014). We were a family of five and chose to stay in two bungalows.

First let me start by saying I am well travelled and an ex travel agent. Before I go anywhere I research it to death. The Creta Maris delivered on all counts.

We were met at reception and our bags unloaded for us and taken to the desk, then after our room was allocated we(and our luggage) were driven up to our room in a golf buggy... So far so good .

The bungalows we had were not renovated but they were lovely. Spacious and clean with traditional furniture. The air con worked a treat and a safe was provided free in the room. There is a fridge in the room which has a bottle of water in. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and beach towels. I can't fault the rooms at all.

The all inclusive is excellent. Food in the main buffet is good and plenty of choice. The choice of a la carte restaurants is also good but majority are self service buffets . Drinks are good, cocktails included and also some premium brands. We drank Pimms and Baileys. During the day at the pool bars they made fresh crepes and waffles and good selection of snacks. The only down side is having to pre book the a la cartes this has to be done very earl or you won't get in.

The hotel it's self is very nice. It is large and sprawling and a bit of a hike when it's hot between bungalows and restaurants but I did see people getting run around in golf carts so I guess that's an option.

Hersonassis itself is a dump in my opinion but Creta Maris is far enough outside so it's not a problem.

Can't comment on the entertainment as we never partook!

All in all a very good hotel suitable for families. Absolutely no complaints and well deserves it's 5* for a million reasons . Don't usually go back to the same place but would consider here again.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have recently returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely resort.
We stayed in one of the garden bungalows, which was very clean and quaint.
The resort is well laid out and spacious. Although it can accommodate 1800 people it did not seem overcrowded at all.
There were 7 pools and plenty of sunbeds. In fact we could always find a sunbed, which is pretty rare these days. Also the pool and beach towels were provided and could be changed whenever you wanted.
The resort is right on the beach so you could alternate between the beach and one of the pools at will, which was great.
The food was excellent quality and there was plenty of choice.
In addition to the main restaurant you can eat in 4 A La Carte restaurants. We only managed one, which was Cochlea's BBQ restaurant. This is in a beautiful setting overlooking the sea. The appetisers and desserts were beautifully presented and the BBQ meats were very tasty. The only slight negative was that the waiter presented me with a wine list without any further explanation. You had to pay for the wines on this list but there was no explanation that you could also have all inclusive drinks. This was a little confusing and could have been explained better.
The staff were generally very helpful and friendly.
If you want to venture out there are some shops, restaurants and bars close by but after dark be careful as the road is not fully lined with pavement.
There is entertainment provided by the Animation Team. We saw an very good Michael Jackson show. You have to seek out the entertainment which is up by the Terra building away from the main building. This is an advantage with a large resort because you can watch the entertainment if you want to, without it being thrust upon you.
We enjoyed the Romantic bar, which has a terrace overlooking the main pool and beach. A lovely spot for an after dinner drink or too!
Overall this is an excellent resort, which was just about perfect in every way. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet choose a bungalow. Likely to be a bit noisier in the Main building and T...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Colin003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
I stayed at your hotel from the 6th to 13rd August 2014. We were upgrated to delux bungalow and I was and am really very grateful and appreciate it. I absolutely enjoyed the stay very much in your hotel and I really appreciate knew it. The hotel is very quaint, like a typical Greek village located right on the sea with mountains as background scenery with a lot of plants and flowers as olive tree fig tree and different flowers of colors. The hotel is very clean and the beach ocean and pools are very good and clean too. What I particularly find that they don’t only offer high standart but take action for protecting the environment at the same time. (High standard in harmony with nature) making food was a taste buds and the service was very knowledgeable, especially Mrs. Catherine and Maria were very nice and are incredibly courteous and accommodating. The animation (animation team) was very entertaining especially women Cevta and Ms. Svetlana were very hospitable and friendly oriented in my eyes, with them you could see the beautiful holiday Basilea and have fun. By and large, a wonderful great fantastic holiday I will never forget.
Keep it up like that!

Lots of greets

yours sincerely

Ms. Geilich

Room Tip: The bungalows are very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just returned from our first stay but I am sure it won't be our last! There is something for everyone. We were a group of 6 with 2 teenagers and they loved it. If the teenagers are happy then so are the parents. The resort has its own private beach and whatever time of day we went, there were always sun beds available. Same at the pools - nothing felt overcrowded. Make sure you explore the whole resort as you keep finding little surprises everywhere you go. Staff were all lovely and friendly and the food was great. You must book in to the barbeque restaurant by the beach - the food looked and tasted wonderful. The grounds are really pretty and everything is lovely and clean. You can have as quiet or busy a holiday as you like. The choice is yours. I know we''ll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Lislovesherhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,332 reviews
2.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
47.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
20.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Maris Beach Resort

Address: Port of Hersonissos | Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £123 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Maris Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Maris Beach Resort in Crete, just 24 km from the Heraklion International Airport is close to Hersonissos, a long sweeping bay of sandy beach and crystal clear water. Creta Maris, a small village with quaint twisting paths, small piazzas filled with the scents and colors of a wide variety of trees and flowers, is a unique combination of Aegean Architecture, Cretan hospitality, green oriented environment, and high quality All Inclusive services. At Creta Maris, the choices for fun, entertainment, sport activities, but also relaxation, exercising and beauty are endless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Creta Maris Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Maris Convention And Golf Resort
Creta Maris Convention & Golf Hotel Chersonisos
Creta Maris Convention Hotel
Creta Maris Hotel
Creta Maris Convention Hersonissos
Hotel Creta Maris
Creta Maris Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing