We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Silva Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silva Beach
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed just last week and were welcomed and looked after well by the staff in all parts of the hotel.
It was a bit of a surprise that the all inclusive drinks finished peppily at eleven, this resulted in everyone vacating the bar to go elsewhere but as there were not many people left then the hotel bar closed shortly afterwards.
All clean and our was exemplary.
Food was of a good quality and a reasonable choice for Crete
Entertainment was adequate.
The manager who was always very apparent was unprofessional, when chastising staff in front of the public with no concern for their feelings and more interested in showing his power.
Talking to previous visitors, the manager has made changes that simply not of any benefit to the staff and has appeared to drop the hotels standards in just twelve months, no nice sandy beach.
Enjoyed our stay but will never go back there

Room Tip: pool view or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AndyC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed as a couple at the Silva Beach in mid July. Our initial introduction did not go well as despite the staff being friendly and being handed the booking confirmation relating to an upgraded room, they still showed us to one of a lower standard. This was rectified when we realised the room was not what we had paid for. This should not have happened in the first place and I do wonder whether this is a tact they try on unsuspecting guests.

There was a wide selection of choice in the restaurant and this was constantly replenished and the food was of good quality. However, if you are looking for a romantic meal for two, this is not for you as it is more of a motorway service style venue. If, like me you are a red wine drinker, try the rose instead, as the red, as with all the wines, is served out of a dispenser very cold. The wine in the bar is served through cold dispensers as well, so I would try, as we did, some of the lovely beach bars instead where they serve it from a bottle. I am not sure why they decided to call it the 'Romantic Bar' as although it is fine for a drink, it certainly is not a romantic environment. We ate out three nights out of the seven. There is a wide variety of restaurants with beautiful views overlooking the sea which are well worth visiting.

There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool but they are situated almost of top of each other, so no privacy. After a few days this does get a bit much.

The hotel is situated in a very good location, close to the town and there are some lovely coastal walks which are well worth doing and a chance to escape the cramped conditions around the pool.

The rooms are very clean and ours was cleaned every day.

Room Tip: Book a garden room, but make sure you get this on arrival as the staff do tend to ignore the prepaid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Silva Beach for a week commencing 1 July 2014. The transfer from the airport took 40 minutes - 1 hour. We were very pleased when we realised how close the hotel was to the strip of shops and bars as we looked at a few other hotels in the same area, but this hotel has a brilliant location.
Unfortunately when we arrived at the hotel, we were told there was 'a problem with our booking' and we would be relocated to the sister hotel Bella Beach. I was not happy with this as we had a long day traveling and I had been very happy when seeing the location of the hotel. We did express that we wanted to stay at the hotel and asked if there was anything they could do and they told us that we could come back to Silva Beach if were not happy. However, the number of nights that we would have to spend at Bella Beach kept changing, they initially told us that it would be 1-3 nights and when I complained we were told we could come back the next day. However, when we arrived at Bella Beach they had no idea that we would be leaving the next day and told us that it would be more than 1 night. It was a very stressful experience. The main reason we wanted to stay at Silva Beach is because of the location and we just wanted the holiday that we paid for. We were told Bella Beach was a 5* 3km away from Silva Beach, however after a 10 minute car journey this was not the case and the location did not suit us at all. I complained several times at the front desk saying we were unhappy with the hotel and wanted to be moved back. Eventually we were told we could go back the next day, but this was a lot of hassle and not a relaxing start to our holiday.
Rooms:
When we arrived back at Silva Beach the next day, we checked in at the front desk and they told us they had upgraded our room and our all inclusive had been extended until we left the hotel. This helped us a lot as our flight was at 6pm! We were shown to our room, a side sea view room at the back of the hotel. The room was lovely, very tidy and always kept clean by the staff. The shower was lovely and powerful and we had a small balcony to sit out on.
Hotel:
The complex is like a village, lovely grounds with three bars. The romantic bar is a great place to sit in the evenings and the animation team put on a great show every night ranging from tradition Cretan dancing to bingo. There are two pools, one situated in the middle of the complex and the other right next to the sea. Although the sea is rocky, there is a great view and we loved this pool the best, especially due to the beach bar right next to the pool serving drinks and ice creams all day.
Food and drink:
The all inclusive buffet has a great range, always serving something different for every meal and there is something to please everyone. The desserts mainly consist of mouse and I felt this was rather disappointing, but the Greek desserts were delicious. The all inclusive drinks menu consist of a long list of cocktails, wine and beer on tap and a range of spirits. Although the spirits were local they were still nice. However, the juices were horrible, not fresh at all, the orange juice tasted like still orangeade, very cheap and nasty.

Overall, this hotel is situated in a great location, in the middle of a strip of shops, bars and restaurants next to the sea. The hotel itself is very quiet and is like a little village away from it all. The promenade has lots of restaurants if you want to try something different and although the shops are quite repetitive, it is a great strip to stroll down and buy trinkets and souvenirs. A great couples holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xx_gina_xx_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned from one week Silva Beach. Booked & travelled with Jet2. There are pro's & cons about this hotel you need to know about before booking, especially with Jet2. These are the cold *facts*:

(a) Hotel - checkin
In spite of the fact that I booked a Double room with Garden view, and paid the upgrade for it when booked online, and had the docs to prove it, and presented these details from Jet2 to the receptionist so there was no room for error, we were given a twin room overlooking a side road. We returned to reception and were told that they could 'put the beds together'. We said no. We wanted what we had paid for. We were eventually given a double room with garden view, with an adjoining locked door to the next room.
This checkin experience was unpleasant - there is no reason to have been given the first room unless they were trying to rip us off & so allow another punter to pay an upgrade for that room. The details I provided were crystal clear to reception. Your conclusions are your own. If they are reading this now, its your own fault.

(b) Hotel - room
Room itself was good. However, the shower blew hot and cold at its own whim - you had to get out from under it when you heard the telltale gurgle. You cant put paper in the pot - it has to go in a bin at the side, which fills easily. Also, the pot has a reverse design that means you have to scrub it after each session.
The connecting door remained locked. However, you can hear all the conversations in the next room. The German lad in the next room sang at the top of his voice late afternoon - until I told him thru the door, in a convincing continental way, to shut up.

(c) Hotel - For Kids?
There is nothing for Kids here. No pool attendant to supervise any issues or things to play on. If you have kids, you are much, much better off going to Star Beach up the road where they have everything.

(d) Hotel - Animation
There was one young lady Animator. She was friendly enough, but looks 16. On the Saturday night, there was zero entertainment - can you imagine. The reason? It was the Animation day off. Rest of the time, the entertainment was pleasant enough. Bar staff were friendly.

(e) Hotel - Food
The restaurant is more like a canteen, pleasant enough. They change the menu every day, but when you have everything on the plate, it looks the same. But then, I wasnt paying for special service, so you get what you pay for,

(f) Clientele
The week we went, it was c.90% East European/Russian. This itself isn't bad, make your own mind up. If you are like me and want a pleasant couples holiday, the last thing you want is the standard model of east euro/russian lads getting 'wodded' on 'wodka' and sounding like they have emerged from the lobotomy theatre and it was a resounding success.Each to their own.

(g) Location - good, in the centre

(h) Jet2 Rep - nowhere.

(i) Jet2 Flight
I will *never* fly with Jet2 again. I am in the process of getting a refund. This is the reason: I pre-booked and paid for named seats, and checked-in on-line for out/return journey. We didnt find out until we were *literally at the outbound gate getting on to the plane* that we had seats in different locations. People behind waiting to get on the plane. I complained there and then and got the worst response from the J2 lady attendant: " Terms & Conditions state that your seats can be changed." Oh yes? When getting on the plane itself and not at checkin? That response shows the lack of commercial behaviours - no attempt to help out. We should have been told at the bag-drop. That means no more custom, and, refund. Both outbound and return flights were with 3rd party airlines seconded to Jet2.

In summary, you expect to get what you pay for when going budget - but if you have paid for it, you expect to get it, budget or otherwise. Based on my experience of this type of hotel around europe, its no more than 3-star.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Situated on a very busy main road. Staff are great, very friendly and helpful but rooms a little small and very dark. Our bathroom was clean but very small. Food very good but drinks very watered down. Entertainment started around 10pm and as we were all inclusive the drinks package stopped at 11pm so you then had to pay for all drinks or have early nights. Was hard to get a sunbed around the pool as they always had towels on them by 8am. .Not many Brits there

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriswestie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wonderful location, friendly stuff (Thank you Elena in the reception) , great people, A+ experience.
This is my 3rd visit to Crete in the same hotel and I don't see myself staying anywhere else when going to Crete.

Room Tip: A pool view room is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Situated close to (pretty much in) town, Silva Beach was really convenient. Although it's really close to all the facilities it is not at all adversely affected. Quiet and a good place to be. We were really happy with our choice and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Rooms clean and nice. Good showers etc. Wide ranging food choice and lots of it. All staff without exception had a really happy and friendly manner and were all smiles. (Seems also to be a feature of Crete, which we drove all over). We didn't meet one unhappy face! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I would probably request a first floor (one floor up), room overlooking the central pool. (Pool is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
83.7 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
437 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#64 of 172 in Hersonissos
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#26 of 172 in Hersonissos
786 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Beach

Address: El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#18 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £70 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of just half an hour from the Heraklion,at the outsckirts of Hersonissos Silva Beach Hotel operates as an all-inclusive resort hotel, where one can choose from a plethora of activities or if otherwise inclined just relax on the beach or around the pool. The Hotel was renovated during winter 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silva Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Silva Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Silva Maris
Silva Beach Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing