We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Silva Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silva Beach
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 12 June 2010

We spent 6 nights at this hotel at the end of May. We booked this as a last minute deal and it was everything we wanted! We were impressed by the room - newly refurbished, extremely clean, well laid out with comfortable beds. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere and relaxed feel - we were made welcome by everyone including the maids. We were lucky in that we went in a quiet week where the hotel was initially probably only 50% occupied. It did get more busy as the week went on, but the service remained the same. Our room had an adjoining door to the next room which only became a problem when someone noisy moved in next door. We only had to mention this at reception and they immediately offered us a different room which was HUGE with a larger bathroom. The food was generally as expected - lots of fresh salads though and the Greek night barbeque was excellent.
The animation staff were also excellent. I was particularly impressed by the standard of the aqua aerobics session! Overall we had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabuloushols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
There are newer reviews for Silva Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

My partner and I are in our very early 20s and wanted a special holiday together. We initially picked Aquis Silva Beach through Thomas cook due to excellent value for money for a four star all inclusive package.

The food was absolutely fantastic, and catered for all tastes. There was always the ‘safe’ option of chips and vegetables for those who are a little less adventurous. The restaurant held special theme nights – Greek, Italian, International, Asian, etc. These provided a huge variety of food, meaning that meal times were never repetitive. We enjoyed every meal, there was always one dish that you’d just have to go back and get more of!

The staff were fantastic – they were polite, full of character, and soon became on friendly terms with the guests. We were always made to feel incredibly welcome by every member of staff, including the chef who was often seen walking around the restaurant looking proud of himself (and rightly so!).

The reception staff were particularly useful, especially when dealing with our incompetence, and also with an important medical issue.

We found our room to be very clean and comfortable, and had a very good view by the large pool.

The location of the hotel could not be better; the sea is a few steps away with a small shingle beach, and there is also a large sandy beach a few minutes away. The hotel is situated on the main road that runs through Hersonissos, which puts an endless amount of shops and bars at your doorstep. We also found that our hotel is a major pickup point for a lot of excursions which proved to be invaluable.

We found that the hotel seemed to be a sophisticated refuge from the lively town, and we also appreciated the fact that it is a child-free zone!

To conclude, I would strongly recommend this hotel, or any other Aquis resort – the whole experience was high quality and although we had bad experiences with our rep and some medical issues, we never found a problem with the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthanjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We realy enjoyed our holiday in Aquis Silva Beach! I went with my mum to holiday and we had great time. Hotel was very nice, very clean and very organized. The hotel rooms are modern with LCD TV and very comfortable. The staff and managment team very helpful and friendly. I went few times to hotel spa and it was very nice. The hotel based in the middle of the city and we went shopping few times. We found a lot new friends there. Thank you very much for great time and we definitely come back!
This hotel is perfect for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastasia26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We booked this holiday very last minute and got a very good deal on-line with You Travel. We arrived in the small hours very tired and were led to an annex room which we found out was much bigger than the refurbished rooms. We had two balconies and a sea view; it was clean, tidy and just fine. The staff were great, and lots of them, the food superb with lots of choice and all inclusive drinks. The location was fantastic, great beach areas, nice stroll into town and numerous bars and cafe's along the coastal path towards the port. Get a car from 'Action' car and bike rentals, it's just outside the hotel to the left on the main road - great prices and great guys (do insist on all inclusive insurance, a little extra but well worth it) - drive to Elounda and get a boat trip to Spinalonga island, an old Leper colony that became uninhabited in the fifty’s and drive up to the Plateau of Lassithi and have a bite to eat in one of the many bars in the area and enjoy the views. The hotel has two superb pools that are very safe, loads of sun beds and parasols, an outside bar and shaded seating areas. In all a Fantastic place which really made our holiday something special. Think on this boys and girls, the problem with the negative comments about this hotel is in fact the minority British that will moan and groan about anything and everything - one chap just ate chip butties because he didn't like the foreign food and listening to other people's trivial gripes was, to put it bluntly, down right embarrassing. Go on, treat yourselves and enjoy one of the best - you deserve it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrpw666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Many years ago my wife and myself started visiting Crete. For the first accommodation choice -by the travel guide from the tour operator- we've chosen "Silva Maris Hotel". Several reasons for that choice: location in Hersonnissos -out of the crowded centre-, directly connected to the sandy beach and the sea, separated from the main traffic route (so very quite rooms!) and the village like total aspect of the hotel. Moreover the two not salty(!) swimming pools.

For general reasons to have been "somewhere else" on Crete we found twice a hotel accommodation in the Western area of Crete that were accommodated in about the same way as Silva Maris at reasonable price level.

But we still returned to Silva Maris -since 2009 named Silva Beach Hotel.
The main reason was and still is the quality of the total packet offered: the complete environment and the possibilities. To the nice possibilities belong the choices of food everyday again: for breakfast, for lunch and for evening dinner.
The choices everyday are so wide that it's sometimes realy difficult to moderate the choices on your plates! For breakfast there are five tastes of jam available and also egg plates prepared in five diffent ways: what a pampering! At dinner time recently a cheese board is offered as well.
The turn-over in the buffet area is very fast, so you will have hot food always.

Especially as a vegetarian with special food wishes we experienced enough choices -every day others!- to be satisfied. And even for meat, fish or chicken eating people there are much possibilities. Compliments for the Chief executive and his kitchen staff!
And let’s not forget to mention the A la carte possibility offered -on request- once a week instead of a buffet dinner. The spices prepared and offered are exciting and served in the upper Olive Tree restaurant with evening sea views.

Beyond those food offers for internal purposes also there are very kind and friendly connections with the management and all others of the serving staff. In the event of any question these people will help you always in order to reach a satisfied customer: Greece hospitality to top!

In 2010 part of a renewing program came to an end. Modernisation of the individual rooms (not all of them yet), modernisation of the entire area without losing the original concept of the hotel. And that pretty village like design is a core of the Silva concept.

At the all inclusive bar a magnificent anti-queuing rule is introduced: no more than two refreshments to be ordered at one time.

In cases of being more crowded: additional staff is available and comes on duty.

Very surprised we were at the day of departure. As we should be picked up only 20 minutes after the formal opening of the breakfast buffet there would be only a few seconds to eat and to drink in a hurry.
But we experienced a special early opening for early leavers: for them several tables were prepared with a kind of private buffet: hot prepared food of coarse not presented. Perfect.

The rating of Silva Beach hotel is ***** worth!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schurink_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Arrived at the hotel shortly after midnight which we were told was too late for a drink-luckily the bar opposite was still open. The reception area was most impressive, but the staff not! We were booked in the annexe which was miserable to say the least. We had been advised that this area hadn't been renovated but didn't expect it to be so bad. The layout of the hotel and grounds are lovely and very well kept. The pools are impressive, but not enough sun beds. The biggest disappointment was the dining area-having to wait til a waiter/waitress found the time to acknowledge your presence to clear a table to be able to sit-or pile the dirty dishes onto another table yourself. We spent quite a few meal times surrounded by tables piled high with debris, from a number of diners, that had been dumped! We never had our plates and dishes removed after each course. The food was second rate, monotanous and barely hot. It was only the Rose wine that made it edible,
Staff were very thin on the ground-one barman for all the guests. I have never qued so long (15 minutes one time) for a drink before! Entertainment was laughable (If only !) Magda tried her best! Had to ask to have some music on in the bar area. No proper dancing area. This was my second AI holiday and couldn't compare to the PROPER 5* Mitzi Hotel on Rhodes.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenTraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed at the Aquis Silva beach hotel for a week during the last week of May into the first week of June. The hotel is magnificent, set out like a cretean village only two rooms high and inbetween the rooms there are beautiful trees and plants growing including many fruit trees. The rooms are refurbished really nicely, enormous bed, t v, good side view of the sea and quiet (we were set back from the main street), laminate floor brilliant remote controlled air conditioning. The bathroom was also nice, but the shower was very small!!
The restaurant staff are very organised and attentative, food could not be faulted refreshed frequently during service and a wide selection something for everyone. BBQ night was great and entertained by traditional cretean dancers. Olive branch restaurant as nice where you could go one night included in price, worth a visit to be waited on.
The 2 pools were lovely and refreshing with plenty of sun loungers if there early. Becareful when entering the pool as the steps are very slippery.
The pool bar and romantic pool bar had a good choice of drinks, but they do finish promptly a 23:00, any after that you pay for so stock up early!!
The hotel had a selection of day activities running, but lacking evening entertainment.
We would strongly recommend to people wanting an adults only holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshineloversxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
1.4 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#63 of 171 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#13 of 171 in Hersonissos
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 171 in Hersonissos
749 reviews
83.7 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Beach

Address: El. Venizelou 193, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Aquis Silva Beach)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £63 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silva Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a distance of just half an hour from the Heraklion,at the outsckirts of Hersonissos Silva Beach Hotel operates as an all-inclusive resort hotel, where one can choose from a plethora of activities or if otherwise inclined just relax on the beach or around the pool. The Hotel was renovated during winter 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silva Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Chersonisos
Aquis Silva Beach Hersonissos
Aquis Silva Beach Hotel Hersonissos
Silva Maris
Silva Beach Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing