We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review from all inclusive guests (couple)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Ranked #84 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 25 August 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two week holiday (all inclusive) from this hotel (10th-24th August) and we had a fantastic time!

Let me begin this review by showing our appreciation to a very pleasant, helpful and reasssuring lady called Fortini (hotel manager). Upon arrival there was a mix up with our hotel and we were put in the second block which was not advertised when we booked it with '118travel' who we blame for this mix up. The second block consist of a 2* rating and is named as a promotion room, so please note to check with your travel agents before booking. We found that 118 travel had only taken pictures of the main block which is a 5* rating and mislead us to think you we would be staying in the main block. Anyway after speaking to Fortini she understood and arranged for us to stay in the main block for the remainder of our holiday (we only stayed in the second block for one night) because Fortini was VERY efficient!
So I would like to thank Fortini for her assistance and reassurance.

About the hotel....
Bar staff: called 'Londi' very pleasant and helpful and always made you feel welcome when purchasing your drinks.
Cleaner: called 'Julia' who worked on the 2nd floor. Excellent service of cleaning everyday and very pleasant and arranged our room personally by hanging up our photos and putting up my birthday cards.
Room; excellent service of cleaning everyday as previously mentioned. Brilliant pool view with a balcony, flat screen television, excellent working air conditioning, good bathroom, a safe is provided however you do need to pay 30euros for 2weeks to hire it (something to note).
All inclusive food: good variety of food everyday and something for everyone, above average most days.
Drinks: are available from 10am to 11pm with a variation in soft drinks, alcoholic drinks (beers, wines and 3 different kinds of cocktails).
Location: the hotel is in an excellent location where the main strip of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops is a 2 min walk away. The beach is a 1 min walk away, where you can hire sun beds and umbrellas for very cheap price. A local bus which can be caught is at the top of the road a 1 min walk away for a very cheap price, where you can visit different places of the island.
Evening entertainment: there are local dogs and cats who congregate outside of the restaurant who are very entertaining especially when they chase the bikes and cars. Some may not appreciate this so I suggest you sit inside.
Dancing entertainment: arranged by the hotel where some greek dancers came in and put on a show for everyone. They were very good and very inclusive where they encouraged all guests to get involved.
BBQ evening: this is a seperate cost to your all inclusive price of 16euros per person. It allows for the entertainment and the food. There was a wide selction of food which was delicious! Our only dissapointing part of the evening which was when we were seated on only a table for two and then asked to move by a waitor called 'IVAN' who was very rude and said it was for the new people, which they did not even turn up. Then we were made to sit with a French couple who spoke no english and were very miserable! Dispite this encounter an evening not to be missed!
Transfer: easily located when ariving to Crete and was a 45min journey with pick ups!
Excursions: WATERCITY-please if you can spare 64euros (for two) they spend it on this water park. It is the biggest waterpark in Europe and is absolutely amazing, such a brilliant day out. We definately had a fantastic time and got our moneys worth! The price includes transfer too which you get on at the top of the road.
Boat trip to Sisi and the caves: 25euros each. A good trip to see parts of the island and to jump off the boat into the sea.
Sun beds: if you would like to get the best spot to be in the sun all day then get a sun bed at 8:30am (a wake up call can be arranged at reception everyday) then get the spot by the gate against the wall to the left of the bar. It is the best spot for sun bathers! So if you ensure you get up at 8:30am you will be guarnteed a spot, you can reserve the sun beds by putting your own towels down and returning after breakfast to sun bathe with reassurance your sun bed will not of been adopterd by someone else! :)
Restaurant: for my birthday my boyfriend and I went to a restaurant outside of the hotel called 'Captain G' where we had excellent service, food and location. We arranged a day before to have our own exclusive table for 2 on the beach, absolutely breath taking!! A 1 min walk from the hotel.

Please note if you decide to venture down to the strip (definately do!) then go to a bar called BIo Bio they are lovely especially 'Julian' who will give you good deals on the drinks and you can have a seat over looking the harbour. One thing to be wary of the strip is the illegal immigrant children who patrol the strip selling roses, uv braclets etc. They willl pick pocket if they get the chance so be aware! Also they can be violent and rude! However do not be put off by this, because if you tell them to go away in a firm voice they will!

The only negative of the hotel we have is the 2* accommodation which is in the second block which is very dissapointing that travel agents can sell you it making you believe you will stay in a 5* accommodation! Which you won't if you have paid for a promotion room, so watch out!

Once again I would like to say thank you to Fortini who made our holiday a holiday to remember with many cherisable memories!

Love from Geraldine and James (room 212)

Room Tip: Don't book a promotion room, ask for the main block/building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Guests,
By writing this review you not only praised us but also gave vital information for our future guests. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and impressions.
Julia and Londi will be very happy to read their names on website and of course appreciation of their job is already a big compliment. Thank you for taking time to remember their names and mentioning them.
Once again we regret for the first uncomfortable night you had. Your nice words are a reward for us for our job and service we try to do as good as we can.
I really do hope it was not the last time you stayed in Hersonissos Palace. We are would be glad to accommodate you next season again and do our best to serve you.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Travellers should be aware if they think they are staying in the hotel you may be placed in the annex which is further down the street away from hotel ammenities
When booking it should be made clear that the hotel only has rooms available in the annex allowing the guest to make a choice if they wish to stay or choose another hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jberry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have just returned (26/7 - 9/8) from a fantastic 2 weeks at the Hersonissos Palace Hotel. The whole hotel was spotless the cleaning staff do a brilliant job. The food was great, we found it slightly repetative by the end of our 2 week stay, but this is to be expected, A good range of salads, a variety of meats and a pasta station were always available and the food tasted nice and fresh. The bar staff were always friendly and there was a good range of drinks on offer. We would like to say an extra special thank you to Fortini the Manager, we had some issues on arrival which had been caused by our travel agent in the UK but she was quick to sort this out for us. We spent most of our time at the pool at the back of the hotel which was quieter but stil has its own pool bar. The evenings were nice and peaceful which was just what we were wanting with some entertainment on some evenings.

The location of this hotel really made our holiday as within 30 seconds of walking out of the hotel you could be at the beach, the port or the main strip of bars and restaurants, Despite this the hotel was very quiet, aside from a few inconsiderate guests.

Overall a superb holiday and a hotel we would definately return to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear guests,
It was our pleasure to have you here. It is our job to make you feel comrotable and nice during your holiday. And if we do it very well, it is the best reward, especially the words you wrote.
Thank you once again on behalf of the hotel and its staff and personally. It would be a pleasure to have you with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Overall, my stay at the hersonissos palace was pleasant. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the location was excellent being less than a 5 minute walk from both the beach, shops and nightlife/ restaurants.
The hotel has two outdoor swimming pools, and an indoor swimming pool - which is not heated. It also has a gym and a sauna which did not seem to be in operation during our stay.
The staff hosted a poolside bbq one evening, which was lovely and inexpensive.
The restaurant was clean, and had a nice variety of food, although the breakfast was somewhat unusual, onion rings for breakfast?!
my only complaint would be the cleansiness of the room. there was stains on the curtains and duvet cover, the toilet leaked an odd brown substance, and peoples hairs covered sticky surfaces in the bathroom..
However, if you can over look this, then the hersonissos palace is a very pleasant stay and besides the rooms is exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Char G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

+ wonderful silent swimming pools
nice view, nice bar, good elevators .

+- very simple clean rooms

- stuff not always kind , you should pay extras for being apart of b.b.q evening around the main pool. food was very bad! all meals weren't varied and have an average-bad taste.
internet by fee. all inclusive extra payment is a joke .(lots of not included rules)
poor little sea shore with stones.

to sum it up , 3 stars hotel

Room Tip: it all depends in how much you want to pay. if you are pleased with a very simple services - take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dror C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

we just [1-8 aug 2012] came back from Crete after staying at hersonissos palace
and we have only the best to say about the hotel.
the location is 200 m' from the busy noisy clubs and it is quiet and close enough .
it is 100 m' from the beach. but the most important asset of the hotel is the staff , we came to meet kind and very helpful and patient people working there and that is a reason to come back
and enjoying a very successful vacation

avi & drorit , israel

Room Tip: ask in advance to be on the 3rd or 4th floor (out of 4),quiter like that and facing the pool, much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have recently returned home from my first trip to the Hersonissos Palace Hotel and, although I do not usually tend to return to the same resort twice, I would definitely stay there should I holiday again in Hersonissos. My partner and I arrived in the early hours of the morning and were greeted outside the hotel by the night porter who was clearly expecting us...he even carried our cases up the steps at the front of the hotel. We were able to check into our room immediately which was very welcome after the late flight. We found the staff very accommodating and felt they couldn't do enough for us. Fotini (PR Manager), Anna and Lucas (waitress and waiter/barman) were particularly attentive. Also the other bar staff (sorry, I can't remember their names), the lady during the day and the two guys at night were brilliant - full of fun ! The air conditioned rooms were decorated in a modern minimalist style (ie tiled floors, plastered walls with modern art) and were spotlessly clean - which to me is extremely important. The towels and sheets were changed daily, without question. The hotel is not located in the most salubrious of areas ie there are areas of undeveloped land obscuring the view between the hotel and the sea however, it is very safe (I never had any qualms with walking home at night) and the hotel is only a two minute walk from the beach. There is entertainment in the hotel on certain nights however, if this isn't your thing, you are only a two minute walk away from a plethora of bars and restaurants - no end of choice. I would also say that, although you are in the heart of things and on the doorstep of the 'strip', it is very quet and we were not disturbed by any noise at night - be that from revellers or music from the bars/clubs. There are three pools at the hotel and our room was overlooking the main pool. I would recommend this as we felt involved with the fun and games going on in and around the pool during the day and, as the entertainment in the evening was centred around this area it gave us the option to view the entertainment from the privacy of our balcony rather than sitting in the bar. The food was plentiful and fresh although I do agree with an earlier reviewer that it becomes a bit 'samey' after a few nights. This is not a criticism and is purely down to my personal choice and, for the price we paid for all inclusive (a bargain!!!), we could afford to eat out in the evening if we fancied. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hersonissos Palace Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it for a break in the sun! Thank you Fotini, and all the staff, for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: A room on floor two or three overlooking the main pool would be my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for you comments about our Hotel.
I appreciate very much your long and informative writing. You gave so much information about the Hotel and area to our possible future guests. It is very important to us for clients to understand where the hotel is located and how it operates in order to meet their expectations and make the stay as pleasant as possible.
I will definitely give your nice words to Anna and Lucas and the entire main bar team. I believe it will make them feel really special.
We are expecting you at Hersonissos Palace again next year. It is the best evaluation for us and service we provide when our guests come back and stay in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#13 of 174 in Hersonissos
1,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#51 of 174 in Hersonissos
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Infinity Blue Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#40 of 58 in Heraklion
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Palace Hotel

Address: Dedalou 10 Street | Limin, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hersonissos Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hersonissos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece
Hotel Hersonissos Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing