We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely surprised.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Ranked #75 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nicely surprised.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 12 of mixed ages. We knew we were in the annexe before travelling and was prepared for the worst. If you go expecting 5 star luxury, you will be disappointed. However the hotel met all of our expectations for what we paid. Very clean, clean towels every day. The food was excellent, cannot understand what people complain about. The location is fantastic both for the beach and resort centre. You can book your beach beds from reception for 4€, this includes 2 beds, umbrella, towels and small bottle of water.
We never had to reserve sun beds even though there were 12 of us, for August this is amazing. All in all the hotel offers great value for money, we had a fab holiday.
We found the reception staff and restaurant staff very accommodating. The bar staff were a bit miserable and made no effort to communicate. We had excellent service from one particular waiter, Petros. The others could learn from his service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for your review of the Hersonissos Palace and we are pleased that our hotel met your expectations and appreciate the value for money we offer. We do make sure all of the hotel is kept as clean as possible and room linen is changed every day and I am sure our chef will appreciate the comment about the food he prepares.
The sun beds and umbrellas in the hotel are all free of charge and we do try to make sure there are enough available for all our guests; the charges you mention are for the beach which is a part of the hotel.
Our team of staff are all trained to be friendly and welcoming and we always try to make all our guests feel comfortable; the bar staff do work really hard especially in the hot weather and I apologise if they struggled to communicate, remember English is not there first language. I will certainly pass your regards onto Petros.
WE are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hopefully we will see you again in the future and give you an even better experience in the Hersonissos Palace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    214
    165
    102
    91
See reviews for
146
340
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there late July and would siggest that you try another hotel for your all inclusive stay. Once a week you need to pau EUR 16 to get the dinner. The area is quite run down with scrap and open places. The staff were unatentive and seemed not very interested in the guests. The soup - choise of one- had a sign for The Chefs Soup every day ? However it was different at least twice a week.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Morten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for your review of the Hersonissos Palace although I find it difficult to understand your comments. The all-inclusive tariff includes all meals in the restaurant; as part of the entertainment there is an optional BBQ evening once a week for which there is a charge but this your choice; the restaurant is open as usual.
The gardens around the hotel are well maintained daily; beyond the hotel the area is typical of any town outskirts although the local mayor has put much effort into making Hersonissos attractive and, of course, the hotel is only 80 metres from the sea.
All our staff are highly trained to ensure that all guests are made to feel welcome and comfortable, if you felt otherwise you should have informed the management.
The sign on the soup in the restaurant says ‘The Chef’s Special’ and is a different soup prepared by the chef each day. If you need to know the main ingredients of the soup or any of the other dishes then there are plenty of staff to help you.
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope that you may reconsider our hospitality in the future and return for a more pleasing holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were here in July. Got room in the annex which is another building down the street on the other side. We slept There. the first night. The next Day We upgraded to a room in the main building. This room was much bigger and quite nice. A honour to the cleaning lady who kept the room very clean and tidy. The hotell is supposed to be a 5 star which all inclusive. They only serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can not have any snacks at the pool. The so called afternoon tea is a joke . You must ask for it and you get one cake and tea . Breakfast was the best meal and lunch/dinner was boring hotell food whith very few greek dishes. No signing that told you what the ingrediens were. The grill that we have read about after coming home we never saw. No one told us either. The waiters were not very service minded. We had to go to them and ask them for water. You got water in a can not a bottle. If you wanted a bottle it was ekstra. One night it was barbecue night.This you had to pay 16 euro per person for. So our honest opinion are: not a 5 star hotell. The all inclusive is very restricted. Nothing like Turkey or Egypt where we have been many times. If we should choose Greece again we will never take all inclusive.

And last This International hotell were occupied whith most russians who appearantly do not know what a que is or normal politeness.

Marianne

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for you review of the Hersonissos Palace although we are disappointed it did not meet your expectations. When you made your booking through your tour operator you will have chosen the annex with an all-inclusive tariff. The tariff is explained at the time of booking with all the tour operators it is also displayed in the reception and bar areas of the hotel. Snacks are available at the bar but they are not part of the all-inclusive tariff which is clearly explained.
The food in our restaurant is freshly prepared each day by our team of chefs. There is a wide choice of Greek and international dishes, both hot and cold, and the salad bar is refreshed daily with a choice that reflects the local seasonal food. All the main courses and side dishes are usually labelled, but there are plenty of staff members who can help explain what is in the dishes if you are unsure.
We do not serve water in cans, but in glass jugs; if you prefer bottled water then, as in most establishments, this will incur an additional charge.
The BBQ is optional, the restaurant is open as usual; the BBQ provides a taste of traditional Greek cooking with an extended number of dishes from the grill, waiter service for inclusive drinks and a top class band for entertainment.
We are an international hotel and we do attract people from all over the world, different cultures do have different expectations and we try to welcome and care for all our guests as individuals whatever nationality they are. We do hope you reconsider your views of Greece and especially Crete, it is a wonderful island and may be you might visit it us again in the future for a much more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was really scared by some reviews. I went to the hotel expecting everything to be bad but everything was OK for us! We got a sea view room with a nice balcony. The room was very clean. Closet was not very spacious. Food was excellent. Big buffet with different choices everyday. Drinks for AI are available until 23:00. The barman was usually serving for free until 23:20. The hotel has two outdoor swimming pools. The front one is more loud. We rented a car from the lobby, they cooperate with SIXT. In case you have time available don't miss visiting the Lassithi Plateau. Hersonissos by night is great. Hotel is few meters away from the beach street. One night there were some drunk Russians on the room next-door, we made a phone call to the lobby to complain about it and they fixed it immediately. In our consideration for going next year again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for writing a review of the Hersonissos Palace and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. When considering reviews they need to be put into context; since the start of this season we have now had over 4000 guests stay with us, we know we cannot please all of the people all of the time, despite our efforts, so we do get some poor reviews but so far the majority, like you, have enjoyed their stay with us.

We are pleased you found the food excellent and appreciated the work that chef puts in each day to vary the menu. He always makes sure there is a wide choice of food to cater for al tastes.

It is good to hear that the receptionist sorted out your ‘noisy neighbours’; we will always try to find a compromise with guests who want to party all night as part of their holiday and guests who want a peaceful night’s sleep.

Our team of staff work hard to make all our guests stay with us welcoming and comfortable and it is good to hear that you appreciate the work that we do, it makes us want to work even harder so that when you visit us again you will enjoy your stay even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlingerode, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just came back from our holidays. We stayed at Hersonissos Palace for 7 days. We had booked a room in the main building which we got. The room was spacious and quit clean. The main restaurant was open 3 times a day. Breakfast and dinner were the best part for us. At the end of the buffet there is a live cooking section with freshly grilled meat or fish. Drinks at the bar were standard. There were two music night during our stay. We booked the BBQ with live music. Hotel has 3 swimming pools, the indoor is not heated. All the staff were pleasant and polite. They seemed interested on helping us out. Hotel Manager was kind of a weirdo, her outfit was kind of extravaganza. Small gym in the basement. There is also a tennis court but never saw somebody using it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for your review of the Hersonissos Palace. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that we try really hard to offer real value for money. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and lunch in our restaurant.
We all work hard as a team to make all our guests holiday as welcoming and comfortable as possible; but please don’t make personal comments on a public forum.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to maybe staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Tired rooms
TV with NO English channels (what is the point of that!)
Waste bubbles coming out of a drain, across the floor in the bathroom, after we had a shower.
The only computer in the hotel was broken.
No snacks around the pool unless you paid for them (we were 'all inclusive' but would still have to pay as there was no facility for snacking).
Took some melon out of the restaurant, on a serviette, to the pool one lunch time and was told not to take food out of the restaurant. Always had to eat during restaurant hours and in the restaurant.
'All inclusive' had a VERY restricted drinks offer (no gin); soft fizzy drinks were never 'fizzy'; glasses were like science test tubes. They wouldn't give you a plastic half glass for lemonade because they were for the beer!! Wine came in small round tumblers.
They had a BBQ night (which you had to pay for despite being 'all inclusive' if you wanted to attend - we didn't) so you had to move from the pool at 3.00pm for them to set it up and go to the other pool which was very tired and surrounded by grass. Told to use the upstairs bar in the evening as the usual bar was sectioned off for the BBQ but there was nobody serving at the upstairs bar! Totally deflated by now and couldn't be bothered to raise an issue.
I could go on and on about all sorts of things - totally disappointed.
Asked receptionist about it being 5* and she said their ratings were different and we should had done more research - how rude. How are we supposed to know that their ratings are different - around the world, 5* is supposed to be very good.
Quite a few wild cats and dogs around the hotel - spotted a dog have a pee in the pool!
Food was good and cleaner did her best to try and make grotty rooms look nice. Staff were generally helpful and nice.
Booked for 2 weeks and left after 1 week.
Give this hotel a miss. THE 5* RATING NEEDS TO BE REMOVED.

Room Tip: Paid more for a sea view but the balcony was like a matchbox with an air-con unit blowing all over y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for your review of the Hersonissos Palace, although we are disappointed that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As we have previously stated we are a designated five star hotel based on the facilities we provide and we are very proud of this. The star rating is a legal requirement in Greece unlike the UK where it is optional. Neither you nor we have the authority to change a Greek star rating – not that we would want to as it shows the facilities we offer to our guests. The tariff you choose when you booked, through your tour operator would have explained the extent of the ‘all-inclusive’ tariff and it is your responsibility to make sure you have made the correct booking. We can only go on the information provided by your tour operator.
We are a Greek hotel in Greece and the Greek television usually does have channels that transmit in English, if you were unable to obtain them, then this would need to be reported at reception so that an engineer can check the TV. This applies for any of the facilities that are not functioning correctly.
We do expect guests to eat in the restaurant and not take food out; we live in a hot country and have to be careful how we dispose of any food left out otherwise we would attract insects and other wild animals that roam around including the cats and dogs you mentioned.
As explained on the all-inclusive tariff the bar has a range of local spirits, cocktails, wine, beer and soft drinks which are included, any premium and imported drinks are charged for.
The BBQ is optional, the restaurant is open as usual and alternative arrangements are made for the bar; all of this is clearly signed on the night of the BBQ.
Animals and humans may well urinate in the pools, that is why we close the pools at 6pm so they can be cleaned, filtered and the relevant chemicals added ready for a fresh start the next day.
It is disappointing for us that you did not enjoy your holiday; the star rating of hotels does vary from country to country. There is currently no international standard for a number of reasons but there is plenty of information on the internet regarding this and when booking hotels independently, wherever your destination, it is worth bearing this in mind.
I am pleased you found the staff helpful and nice despite your experience; we do try hard to make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We really do want you to have a good stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

After visiting hersonissos 2 years ago with a basic hotel we decided to upgrade to the palace thinking we were going to be located in the main hotel!!we were located down the street in the annex which was part of the hotel hersonissis which we stayed in 2 years ago we were mortified to say the least . We went to reception and were told it was a promo room which means you can be put anywhere so after a while we discovered it is no fault of the hotel but our travel company.at this point instead if spoiling the holiday for the rest of our 8 friends and family we decided to make the most of it.
Give credit due to the cleaners what A job they do. They were spotless and cleaned the rooms to very high standards. The rooms are basic but clean the air conditioning wasn't the best but the main thing we had trouble with was After showering the bathroom flooded and this happened with the rest of the party in our groups rooms as well.The main hotel itself was lovely and set a very good example with the reception staff were helpful.
The pool areas were clean and we favoured the pool at the back near the tennis courts.the inclusive bar here was a nightmare with the barman as his customer care skills were none existent. The grunt he gave when you asked for a drink and the lack of a smile And
A simple hello was a joke.
The food wAs a typical all inclusive where sometimes it wasn't what you wanted but the chef on a night cooking was always nice, hot and tasty. A bit worried with the temperature of the foods and I did see on more than one occasion that the new rice was put on top of the old which is a disaster waiting to happen. The restaurant manager was rude to one of the people in out group over the all inclusive pass on her day of leaving with his people skills showing he shouldn't be working with people if he's going to take a rude and ignorant Approach to guests.
The entertainment was good And the bar staff in the main pool area always friendly and helpful.
Location is good, annex very noisy but it's not the worst in crete.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank terwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fotini28, Public Relations Manager at Hersonissos Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for reviewing the Hersonissos Hotel and we are sorry that the hotel did not meet your initial expectations. As you say the tour operator should have explained the tariff you were booking. We will pass your comments onto the cleaning staff, but we do make sure all the rooms and the hotel in general is thoroughly cleaned every day with fresh linen in the rooms. The rooms in the Annex should have the same compliment of facilities as the main hotel and they have the same floor area. The issue with the plumbing should have been reported to reception for the engineer to investigate, sometimes it is simply due to excessive use of shower gel, but it still needs checking out.
We are pleased that you found most of the staff welcoming and caring, we do work hard as a team to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will have a word with the barman in the ‘kafeneio’, maybe he was not having one of his best days.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant; the chef does work hard to vary the menu from day to day and always has his specials on the grill. I will check the issue with the rice; this is most unusual as the staff are usually very particular about removing the previous tray of food before adding a new tray. I can only apologise if the Maitre’d was not polite to you, English is not his first language and he does have a difficult task to ensure the restaurant runs smoothly when we are so busy and sometimes situations can be confusing on the last day of the holiday.
We do hope that you will come and see us again before too long and that we can welcome you back with an even more enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.1 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#36 of 58 in Heraklion
387 reviews
2.1 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#122 of 171 in Hersonissos
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#50 of 171 in Hersonissos
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#58 of 171 in Hersonissos
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#59 of 171 in Hersonissos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Palace Hotel

Property: Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Address: Dedalou 10 Street | Limin, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hersonissos Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hersonissos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece
Hotel Hersonissos Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing