We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Greek hotel we've stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Hersonissos
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best Greek hotel we've stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is just superb!
Having stayed at several hotels across Crete and Rhodes in the last few last years, I can honestly say that the Royal Mare is better than anywhere else we've stayed, and by some margin.

Our holiday was the 8th - 15th July 2014 and we stayed for the same week last year. It really was a no-brainer to come back, especially as other hotels we looked at seemed to cost more but were not as good.

I can echo all the excellent feedback many others have provided about the Royal Mare.

We also noticed when we arrived that the hotel had clearly addressed and improved on some negative feedback that we read on Trip Advisor. Seating arrangements had been improved in the main restaurant and sun canopies had been built on outside stairways to prevent heat building up, and some other subtle tweaks had been made too - they really do listen to feedback!

So, running through each aspect of the hotel...

Staff - They made the holiday for us and were so welcoming and sincere and couldn't do enough to help you. They were smartly dressed in uniforms and the restaurant waiting staff were well drilled and knew just when to approach and when to hang back.

Must give a mention to everyone who looked after us so well - Firstly, the charming Innes at reception who remembered us from last year, much to our amazement. She offered us a choice of rooms and arranged for us to swap to the room we had last year and was extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay, always giving us a quick wave as we would pass by reception.
Our porter (whose name we sadly missed) also remembered us from last year and he too helped orchestrate the room swap, making calls on his mobile and again, was very chatty and would say hello when passing by.
Thanks also to all the waiting staff who looked after us so well at Breakfast in the El Greco - Kaithy, Marielene, Kristina and Maria - they were all smiling and friendly and immediately changed plates and cutlery as soon as we'd finished and quickly knew our orders off by heart - thank you all.

We were invited to Cocktails one evening and there met Vassilis, the Commercial Director of the hotel. In conversation with Vassilis, I mentioned that I had been unable to email the hotel with a query because the dropdowns on the 'Contact us' link on their site was not working properly. Vassilis immediately gave me his card and told me to email him directly if there was anything at all he could do to help, which was a very nice gesture.

Later, a gift and card arrived in our room to thank us for booking our holiday at the Royal Mare for a second time. Then on my birthday, a card and cake arrived and this was completely unsolicited by us, reception must have noticed my birthday from the paperwork.
Really nice touches. Overall, we felt that the staff were very sincere and really did want us to have the best possible time during our stay.

The gardens / grounds are immaculately maintained and the planting and lawns are so green which is hard to believe, given the summer heat. All buildings are spotless and freshly painted and many have small murals on outside walls.
All footpaths and pool areas are washed down every morning before anyone emerges so they are always clean for the day ahead. All communal and private pools are in pristine condition and the water (in July) was just the right temperature. All restaurants were clean and tidy, the El Greco and Candia are very appealing to the eye, in fact premises wise, the whole complex really looks like a brand new hotel.

All buildings are constructed in the local Cretian architectural style and it works very well, not appearing at all tacky or contrived as some resort hotels can be, and it appeals all the more because of its pristine paintwork. There's even a clock tower! Maintenance teams were working constantly whilst we were there and it showed, the place is immaculate.

Beach - You enter the pebble beach through the Albatross Fish Restaurant, which actually now has a few tables on the beach itself. The beach is fine and looks clean and tidy with plenty of sunbeds in rows and a variety of watersports available.
For those expecting pools with a sea view, unless you've booked one of the top of the range seafront suites, there are no views of the sea from any of the communal pools. The hotel complex is oblong shaped and only a narrow end of this oblong (this being the Albatross restaurant) borders the beach.

We stayed in a VIP bungalow (apartment in reality) which was lovely and had a pleasant balcony from which to have a drink and watch the World go by. Our room and others in our block had been refurbished since last year with new décor, repanelled wardrobe and cupboard doors, additional lighting and ceiling fans. (Aircon standard of course) The bathroom was a good size and had a marble basin, bidet, lit shaving mirror, hairdryer, shaver points, cupboards and separate bath and shower cubicle, which was great when quick turnarounds were needed to get two people processed for dinner on time!

The food....it's superb!
The main restaurant, the 'Symposio' is sited in the main building and is a self-service buffet, which every day offered an enormous variety of different foods, it fact there was so much choice, became impossible to decide what to eat!
It's true that the Symposio does lack a little atmosphere as it's a huge room and things can feel a little rushed with so many people coming and going. That said, asking for an outside table on the balcony much improves matters and affords a view over one of the two main pools and the complex beyond with the sea in the distance, which is just fine and you get to watch the sun go down too.

We preferred the 'a la carte' dining options though and loved the 'Candia' restaurant which is placed on stilts over a lagoon pool - a fantastic place to eat. The food itself was superb high cuisine and the waiting staff were also excellent. It is quite expensive but the hotel does offer a 'Buy 2 (or 3) meals, get one free' deal which we took up.

For us though, the highlight of the holiday was the Greek BBQ night at the El Greco restaurant - this is a weekly event featuring a traditional Greek band. The same band played there last year and they must simply be one of the best traditional Greek bands to be found anywhere. The singers and bouzouki player were just fantastic. I love traditional Greek music anyway, but this band again managed to conjure up the very essence of Greece within their performance and you find yourself both enthralled and captivated...they are honestly that good, if Greek music's your bag. I wish I'd bought their CD!

There is other entertainment laid on in the communal pools, such keep fit, water polo and a kids club where the children have their own play area, complete with wooden ship and sunbeds for parents to chill on whilst the kids are playing in the sand, or in their own pool.

I would say that the Royal Mare is more suited to couples or adult groups than families with
children, although kids are very well catered for. Aldemar's own site promotes it as a Spa Hotel, rather than a Family Hotel.

In the evenings there was cabaret style entertainment in the Minos bar but we didn't go there as we found the bar a little dark and lacking in atmosphere. Although there are obviously guests from many different countries at the hotel, it would be fair to say that much of the evening entertainment may not appeal to British tastes.

Apologies for the unintentionally wordy review, but there is so much to say about the Royal Mare. Oh yes, it also has a superb spa....but we never got that far!

In summary, it's just a fantastic place to be if you are looking for a pampered 5 star stay in quiet yet classy surroundings, where everything is done for you. The dining is superb and the waiters even carry your trays to your table at lunch. The Greek BBQ is a must, even if it is an extra expense.

To give a balanced view - Yes, as with anything it isn't perfect.
It's not situated in the prettiest part of Crete, there's not much to see or do in the surrounding area if you leave the hotel complex (unless you like shopping for fur coats), the WiFi is patchy, there are no pools on the seafront, the extra cost 'a la carte' restaurants aren't cheap and the Symposio restaurant lacks atmosphere, but these really are just minor quibbles.

The overall experience is wonderful and it was galling to check out and fly home after just a week. As Innes at Reception said when we left - 'It's paradise here, isn't it!"

I would thoroughly recommend the Royal Mare to anyone looking for this type of holiday - We will be back!

Room Tip: 1/ Go for a VIP Bungalow package for a shared private pool and a nicer breakfast experience at the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review.
Nothing makes us happier than the great holiday experience of our clients, and we wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Royal mare in the near future.

Kind Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    372
    146
    50
    11
See reviews for
428
690
53
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent wonderful holidays from 12-19 July 2014. We had a standard room with the see view, very quite. The staff was smiling and professional. Speaking lots of languages, always ready to help. Mini-club possibility with few persons from animation team who spoke few languages and mini-disco for children every evening. Lots of activities and etertaiments. Beautiful smimming pools, thought we were mostly at the plage. The plage of the hotel has nice installations, but when it is windy there are waves. Excellent quality of food. We were visiting a lot during the day, but the time spent in the hotel we enjoyed a lot. We will be happy to return to this chaine of hotels as it is excellent quality for Greece.

Room Tip: We had room 181, quite, see few, main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we were never disappointed except for the fact that Internet access had to be paid for, which I didn't expect from a 5* resort. Overall the food the service was excellent, the attitude of staff was commendable, Nicholas and Editya especially, were extremely helpful and made sure out needs were accommodated for...thankyou to them and the rest of the staff. Our VIP deluxe room was delightful and would recommend this resort to anyone who wants relaxation. The grounds were kept immaculate and rooms very clean. We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalBadesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review.
Nothing makes us happier than the great holiday experience of our clients, and we wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Royal mare in the near future.

Kind Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from this hotel, having booked a premier VIP bungalow. We were disappointed immediately as we got a room with a sofa in it, no different from many other hotel rooms. we had room 110 which had a swim up pool ! however the pool was shared on a row with may other rooms and ours had a big chunk taken out of it for a palm tree. we asked to be moved and to the hotels credit they moved us the following day. Room 111 still a very small pool and no lounge area as with all the other rooms. I think we would have been better to have booked a normal VIP bungalow as these had a larger area. Facilities were nice but never really got over that initial feeling of disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate candid comments from our guests as they help us to improve our services. In reply to yours, you had booked a VIP Bungalow sharing pool which is the room type that was allocated to you. The sharing pools are of different size and architecture and shape depending on where they are located on the hotel grounds, and how many rooms are sharing the pool. The pool outside your room is more private as there are only very few rooms that share, adding to the feeling of privacy. We are not sure of what you mean by normal VIP room, but if you are referring to the ones on the upper floor, they do not have the added feature of direct access to the pool as your booked and allocated room type has. The sofa is standard furniture in the room for the comfort of our guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and we take pride in our staff, which is why we think that a two star rating does not reflect the service provided, or the experience of your stay here with us.

Thanking you again for your review we look forward having the opportunity of welcoming you back again to Royal Mare in the future.

Best Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived at 10.30 pm, the reception staff were great they carried our bags to our upgraded room where there were sandwiches and a bottle of wine waiting for us. Everyday there was a complementary bottle of water and bowl of fruit, the food was excellent and plentiful and the staff could not do enough for us. We will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21Pooh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Aldemar Royal Mare. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Your kind remarks encourage us to continue the good and hard work, assuring you of our best of attentions and quality services at all times.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greece.
Kind Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Quick checkin at 2 in the morning and in our room with bags within 10 mins of arriving. We woke up to find lovely pools with rooms nicely laid out around the resort. We had VIP rooms which were excellent. The food was really good. Lots of choice. Huge array of fresh fruit. A nice international mix of clients. Mostly couples and small families. Quiet and plenty of space, sun loungers and shade. We were a family of 5 including a 11 year old son and 2 daughters of 21 and 23. We had never been to Crete before and we thought that this was the best hotel that we saw during our stay. The staff were great and were really helpful to us especially on our last day when we had a lvery late flight home. We just had to ask in advance and they made it easy for us to enjoy the day, store our bags and change before the flight. I have never found it so easy to recommend a hotel and we would definately choose to stay here again..

Room Tip: The VIP rooms give you access to an extra restaurant for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneymanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Aldemar Royal Mare. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greece.

Kind Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay @ the Royal Mare on July 10-13, 2014. B&B.
Reception was welcoming, the rooms were clean, big and comfortable, the breakfast was rich and good.
We highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassilis F, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this great review.
Nothing makes us happier than the great holiday experience of our clients, and we wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Royal mare in the near future.

Kind Regards
Vassilis Fragoulakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
46.2 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
47.2 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort

Property: Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mare Luxury Resort + Thalasso is an exciting holiday destination located at the heart of the Mediterranean in a realm of myths and stories. There are so many ways to relax at this beautiful community surrounded by cooling water and verdant gardens. Chill out in the comfort of your well-appointed room, enjoy the sparkling blue waters of the sea, treat yourself at the world's finest thalassotherapy centre, discover the secrets of Cretan cuisine and embrace an enchanting summer full of traditional Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Royal Mare And Thalasso
Aldemar Royal Mare & Thalasso Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Royal Mare Village Thalasso
Royal Mare Village
Royal Mare Crete
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing