We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 with my Mum and sister. We shared a room for three. Unlike other places we have stayed, the room was actually spacious enough for three people. The hotel was clean, the pool was nice and not too overcrowded, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay happened to be over my sister's birthday, which we hadn't mentioned to the staff, but on the day we found a cake with a candle in our fridge and a lovely birthday note in the room, which was a nice touch.

The location is pretty touristy - the very nearby beach is ok, but pretty overcrowded and small. We were looking just for relaxation with easy access to shops and restaurants, and this gave us it. We used the hotel spa and hairdressers and ate in the restaurant one evening, and it was all very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayer965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    311
    86
    24
    20
See reviews for
203
476
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We've just returned from Crete, it was a wonderful experience. After reading lots and lots of reviews, we booked a week at Albatros Hotel - the best choice we could have made! Everything was as expected, some things even better. It has a very good location, close to the beach, but also close to the attractions, shops. We had a standard room which was as expected - modest but with everything you need(AC, flat TV- channels in English, German, Italian, Russian; hair dryer, safe free of charge close to to the Reception), very, very clean. The food - we absolutely loved, quite a variety to choose from, many Cretan dishes. The service was impeccable, both at the Reception and Restaurant. We also liked the pool and the atmosphere.
We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voula, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting Chersonisos with my family and we stayed in the Albatros Hotel, and I have to admit that it was absolutely a great choice. In this hotel you feel from the first moment the hospitality and the professionalism! The hotel is perfectly located, near the airport, 5 minutes (walking distance) from the downtown area and 2 minutes from the crystal- blue watered beach.
I have nothing to complain about the room. It is spacious, very comfortable and perfectly maintained by efficient and super pleasant staff. The pool area (2 pools and enough free sunbeds for everyone) and the entire environment (especially the very comfortable sofas under the stars) is very very cozy.
The breakfast, lunch and dinner is a buffet with excellent variety and quality of delicious hot and cold meals. I used to fill my plate more than once every morning and evening!
There is also a spa, which of course we tried. It was a great experience! Just what we needed for relaxing and enjoying!
Definitely, we already miss our holidays at Albatros Hotel!

Room Tip: Excellent value for money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Everything was just perfect at Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel! Firstly, it was close to many attractions, and 30 metres from the beach, which was magnificent! Secondly, the food was awesome! I tried the buffet & the a a carte menus. Thirdly, the rooms were very clean and the hotel was nicely decorated form the inside and the outside. There was, also two big pools, and two rooms for kids and not only! I spent much time there playing ping pong and table hockey! Finally, the spa was something I'll always remember! You could do manicure, pedicure, hamam, sauna, hydro-massage and there was also a coiffure! To sum up, it was one of my best holidays, that I will never forget!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a week at this hotel and we are very delighted about our vacation.

We found this hotel an excellent choice for Crete and we are very happy we chose Albatros.

Location:The hotel is located in a quiet area of Chersonisos, only 25 m away from the sea.

Rooms:
The rooms are spacious enough for 2 and equipped with everything you need.
Our room had partial view to the sea and we found this to be delightful. We also enjoyed the shower gel and the shampoo, provided by Mastic Spa - seemed to be quality products and not ordinary items usually provided at other hotels.
Superior room is a must.
The only improvement that could be made: Rooms are not soundproof so every noise from outside is easily heard.
Our room was located above the pool bar and all the music and noise came up through the pipelines. There was a hole in the wall near the entrance, covered by a painting - probably left for interventions on the utilities pipeline. This sucks however, because you can also hear when your neighbors above flush their toilets.
We reported this issue but the reception told us that the music at the bar stops at 12:00 pm. Of course it didn't - usually at 2:00 am. Luckily we are young and the music wasn't bad. I shazamed a couple of songs too :))

Food:
I was surprised about the food, to be honest. Dishes are correctly cooked and the ingredients are local and seem to be natural.
There was a high variety of greek/cretan and international food.
Fruits, vegetables, pork/chicken/lamb/turkey, pasta, deserts etc.
Tip: always check what the chef is cooking outside. Pasta is great and the deserts are a must!

Staff: The staff was kind and prompt to any requests. We also booked a car at the reception of the hotel and we got what we looked for.

Spa: We booked SPA day for 2 (70 euros)
It's actually SPA Hour for 2. The massage takes 25 minutes, they offer 2 glasses of champagne. Jacuzzi, sauna (wet+dry).
I wasn't very delighted about the massage and overall i found this quite short. I didn't have the time to drink my champagne properly so i had to sip it quickly.
If you book this don't forget that when you check in the reception hands you a discount voucher (5 euros). I forgot about this.

There are a lot of tourism agencies in Chersonisos where you can book trips across the Island.
We went to Gramvousa-Balos lagoon by trip and to Vai beach by car and it was amazing. Balos lagoon has crystal clear water and white/pink sands. If you forget where you are you might very well think you are in Caribe. I definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Hotel very clean, excellent service, food very good, Local to all amenities, would go there again sometime and would recommend to anybody. My son has a severe nut allergy and the head Maitre d' at the hotel kindly informed him of any nuts in every dish, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have just got back from the most amazing week at this hotel. before i left i read all the reviews about the rooms etc. and i was in real panic as i only booked a standard room. yes they are slightly small but it has everything you need. the only downfall is probably the shower as it really is tiny but i didnt care.
The staff are fantastic and so friendly, especially the bar man alex he made our nights at albatross unforgetable!!
Theres so.much to do in the town, little shops restraunts shisha bars night clubs etc. the beach is litteraly at the back doir of the hitel so beautiful. it was also my 21st birthday while i was there and they upgraded me to superior for my.last two nights free off charge and left a birthday cake in our fridge. they were so sweet!
The spa is also lovely. everything about this place was perfect and i could not have wished for better. ignore the bad stuff its what you.make of !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank becky11892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#7 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Property: Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Address: 1 Dedalou | Chersonissos Crete, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Hotel is situated only 25 kilometres from Heraklion International Airport in the town of Hersonissos, a place which attracts thousands of visitors every summer. This family-owned and run resort hotel offers high quality standards in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is ideal both for leisure and business travelers. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town, only a stone's throw from a long sandy beach with crystal clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Spa And Resort Hotel
Albatros Hotel Chersonisos
Albatros Hotel Hersonissos
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing