We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carole and Ginette”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carole and Ginette”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Spent 5 nights in this hotel. We stayed in the new wing and we had a view of the ocean and of one of the pools.The location is great only a couple of minutes from the beach and about 10 minutes to all the stores. 5 minutes to a great bakery that is opened 24 hours. Very easy to take a city bus if you wish to do some visits on your own which will cost half of the price ie: Knossos. The buffet was great really a lot of choice. The service excellent. The staff is always smiling. It is a great place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole0072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    312
    86
    24
    20
See reviews for
202
477
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
inverclyde
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just back after spending 2 weeks in this lovely hotel (sep2013) would def recommend, we stayed in superior room and paid extra for sunbeds on balcony which was really good(room 370) had sun most of the day. Def would go superior as older part of hotel not so nice. Although I could not comment on the rooms as I never seen them but did hear few complaints. Superior rooms excellent...staff fantastic, nothing a bother too them, food was lovely, no problem getting tables at meal times like other hotels, rooms cleaned everyday, we ate out quite a few evenings would highly recommend el camino, Italian and starlight on waterfront... We had a great holiday

Room Tip: Room 370 has sunbeds on your balcony and gets the sun most of day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel during September 2013. We booked a room in the new wing and got one facing the sea and the beach, which is only a minute (by foot) from the hotel. The room was nice, not too big but not too small, with a balcony. It was clean and cleaned again every day (from all the sand that got into the room). Food - the buffet breakfast and dinner (we stayed on half board) are good (selection of meat, sides and fruits) but with only small variations every day. Most pity was the feta cheese that was somewhat bland, and the drinks at the dinner are not included.

On some nights there was music and dancing near the pool (greek night was nice). However sometime it lasts until 11pm and can be heard loudly even in the rooms at the back.

The best thing about the hotel is definitely the staff which was always helpful, both during the reservation and at the hotel.

The beach - the hotel is literally 1 minute walk from the beach and the promenade, but other cities might have better beaches. Many of the hotel guests stayed near the pool though.

I would recommend this hotel, with as other reviews suggest - stay in the new buildings.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the pool and can be more noisy before 11pm on some days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller34540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My friend and I have just come back from a two week holiday and thought I will tell everyone what I thought off the place and the hotel.

Hotel
There is a old building and new building. The old one is where we stayed and it is clean but very very small.It is not modern at all and is slightly dated. We didn't spend any time in our room except for sleep so the size didn't bother us. Our balcony over looked a massive tree, so not the best view in the world, if the tree wasn't there then the room would over look the pool. For us all we cared about was the room was clean and we had clean towels. 5/5 for cleanines

Breakfast/Dinner
The breafast wasn't the best but there was a lot of options. Different types of ham/chese/cake/eggs cooked serveral ways/fruit. I had toast everyday as the eggs were over cooked and needed a lot more salt. 3/5 depends on taste and what you like.
Dinner again buffet style food, lots of veg/meats/salad and great desserts. No complaints on dinner or lunch. 5/5 as there is something for everyone.

The hotel does have entertainment in the evening. We went out everynight so cant comment if its good or not. There is also two bars which are reasonbly priced and plenty off seating.

The hotel on the second to last night said we needed to move rooms and put us in a suite. Oh my this room was amazing and if you can afford to pay the extra I would. The room is 3x bigger then the old building the balcony was massive and has sun lounges in it. The bathroom had a bath big enough for two people. Thew view over the sea was breath taking and I am so glad we were able to see what the new building is like.


Trips to do
The hotel is a short walk (10mins) to the Harbor where they have boat trips. Glass bottom boats and a day boat trip. We went ont the boat trip 12.00-16.00 and it takes you to sissi,malia,stalis and a cove to see some fish. There are different types off boats that do this trip all priced the same 20 euros. Now the sea is so rough and I am not lying. if you have a week stomach do NOT go on this trip. I was on it for 1 hour and had to get off as I felt so sick and I was sick.

Again at the harbour they have a train ride which takes you all over the place and to the old part of the town. Cost 10 euros and is two hours. You can get off and on when ever you like. We got off at the old town and had lunch out and then got back on in a hours time.

I wouldn't take taxis and just use the busses. They take you every where and are cheap Stallis-Hersoniss is 1.80 euros and Hersoniss-Iraklion(capital) 3.00 euros. Iraklion-knossos 1.50 euros This is one way and have a/c

The is also a aquarium 20 mins walk away which cost 6 euros, you get to see the local fish and hold the reptails. If you pay once you can go as many times as you like. Run by a english man who been in crete for 20 years. They re home any animal.

Trip to Knossos to see the ruins. I wouldnt pay a tour guid and instead jump on a bus and make your way there. Its 6 euros to get in, They are trying to restore the palce but and some off the rooms still have old painting and pillers in them. Ok day out but as its out doors it is very hot.

Lot off the souviners in crete are inported. The blue opal stone is not from crete and is from Australia, every shop is selling it and some can be very expensive. All the shops sells the same stuff even in the captial. The captial is good to take a look at, slightly more clothes shops but very expesnive. In the tourist books will tell you about fountains that are from the roman times. These have not been taken care off and are surrounded by cafes. They also dont work and look very negleted this is the same with all off them.

The strip is very lively and the men out side will harras you to come into there bar. If you want a quite evening go to hooks which is at the end off the strip run by a english family. They also have under cut the other pubs on the drinks. Cocktails are normally 6-8 euros in this bar they are 3-5 euros and are made with inported spirts. Vodka is smirnoff and not a cheap brand. You sit down on your swinging chair and watch the sun go down, Its very peaceful, the boys (Nico and Harry) ate very sweet and have a chat to you and ask about your holiday.

Overal was a very good holiday and I hope the information I gave you will help you with your holiday and what to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lauflor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel services were really nice. The staff were always kind and helpful. Besides the standard room which I won't recommend to anyone everything else was good. The food was more than enough and we also did have ice cream. When we missed dinner we go vouchers for lunch. Once we came in really late at around 10pm and even the dinner was closed they still served us something ti eat. It has a small pool mainly for children and a bigger one. The hotel organized a Greek night, cooking lessons and aqua gym. There is no free wifi but when you're on vacation you don't really need that. We had a nice stay there. I recommend only you chose the superior rooms.

Room Tip: Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviaRosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 with my Mum and sister. We shared a room for three. Unlike other places we have stayed, the room was actually spacious enough for three people. The hotel was clean, the pool was nice and not too overcrowded, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay happened to be over my sister's birthday, which we hadn't mentioned to the staff, but on the day we found a cake with a candle in our fridge and a lovely birthday note in the room, which was a nice touch.

The location is pretty touristy - the very nearby beach is ok, but pretty overcrowded and small. We were looking just for relaxation with easy access to shops and restaurants, and this gave us it. We used the hotel spa and hairdressers and ate in the restaurant one evening, and it was all very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayer965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We've just returned from Crete, it was a wonderful experience. After reading lots and lots of reviews, we booked a week at Albatros Hotel - the best choice we could have made! Everything was as expected, some things even better. It has a very good location, close to the beach, but also close to the attractions, shops. We had a standard room which was as expected - modest but with everything you need(AC, flat TV- channels in English, German, Italian, Russian; hair dryer, safe free of charge close to to the Reception), very, very clean. The food - we absolutely loved, quite a variety to choose from, many Cretan dishes. The service was impeccable, both at the Reception and Restaurant. We also liked the pool and the atmosphere.
We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabiLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#7 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Property: Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Address: Dedalou 1, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Hotel is situated only 25 kilometres from Heraklion International Airport in the town of Hersonissos, a place which attracts thousands of visitors every summer. This family-owned and run resort hotel offers high quality standards in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is ideal both for leisure and business travelers. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town, only a stone's throw from a long sandy beach with crystal clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Spa And Resort Hotel
Albatros Hotel Chersonisos
Albatros Hotel Hersonissos
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing