We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nothing at all to complain about at this hotel.

We were in a superior room which was absolutely spotless and spacious. Every member of staff that we had dealings with were friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure we were ok and had a good holiday. Reception were fantastic and even changed my mattress as the one on the bed was far too hard for me.

As others have said the food can become repetitive but as the grill at the bottom end delivered fresh cooked food on a few nights you can always find something.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, whatever age.

Room Tip: It really is worth paying the extra for the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

My visit to the Albatros was as a member of a club sports team, as an end of season trip. When we were told where we were going, it was decided that we would go for the superior rooms.
Due to taking a late flight we arrived at nearly midnight. We were surprised to be told that because we had missed the evening meal, we would be given lunch the next day, at no further charge. So began a really good five night break.
During our stay we were treated excellently. Our rooms were spacious, with large balconies. The beds were comfortable, which gave a good nights sleep. All towels and bedclothes were changed regular.
If I were to pick on anything that wasn't that good, it would be that the pool was cold. But then it was May, and it would be nitpicking.
Plenty of sun beds, with notices saying No Reserving. No need to though, as there was always spares.
The food was good, and there was a good selection. For the evening meal, try to get a table with Poppi. She looked after us fantastically.
The receptionists were friendly, and always on hand to help.
All in all this is an excellent hotel in a really friendly town. Close to loads of bars and shops, and a very short stroll to the seafront.
If what you want is a great holiday on Crete, at a reasonable cost, look no further than the Albatros.

Tip: Go for a Superior room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Albatros Spa hotel in September 2013 and had a lovely time. the food in the restaruant was good and if you did not fancy it there was plenty of cafes etc. nearby within 5 mins walk.
Tried the spa and that was good, she who must beobeyed had a foot treatment and totally loved it!
all in all a great place to dtay the staff were lovely and tyhe hotel so clean, booked the superior room and it was well worth it. We would definately stay there again and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Always go for the superior rooms as they are by far the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank receiptfolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel was great. We had a lovely large clean room which even had a large sofa bed. Our view of the pool was also great. The hotel is beautiful and very modern, clean and spacious. Location is also good and walking distance from all main amenities. The spa is lovely and all staff were great. The pool was also very nice and the sun-beds and lunch food was great.
Breakfast was repetitive but nice. We were half board but after 3weeks there we got very bored of the repetitive dinners so better to go out and eat instead. Very much a family holiday hotel.

I also heard that some of the rooms were in an "old block" and were not yet refurbished. im not sure if this has changed now as our rooms were great but worth a check before you book; just call up directly and say u definitely want in the new block (if there is still an old block but i think this has now been eliminated)

Room Tip: check if there is still an old block. if there is make sure u ask for a room in one of the new block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramdom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This resort is quite lovely,it's very close to the beach,which is gorgeous,The staff are very polite and helpful,Rooms are great, the only negatives are..double bed rooms are two single beds pushed together and made up as singles,so no cuddling with your partner,the food is not to my health freak standards,but thats my problem,also the gym is terrible,maybe ok for stretching,but totally useless for any serious exercise..all in all a great holiday..the beach is the winner of the show..

Room Tip: rooms in the new building,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in September and we were very pleased with it. I'd like to disagree with a lot of comments about the standard rooms being too small. They are not. We didn't plan to spend much time in the room, bar sleeping and getting ready to go out. The standard room size was fine, nicely cooled with air conditioning (at no extra cost) and cleaned daily. The only negative we had was that the pool was very cold but hardly something to ruin a holiday. We didn't eat there, so cannot comment on the food. I'd recommend the Albatros to anyone. A stones throw from the beach and endless restaurants/bars/clubs/shops to cater for most tastes. We'd definitely use this hotel again and had a fantastic experience from very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you don't plan on being in the room much, don't bother paying extra for the superior. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Went in June could not ask for anything better the food great, people great, surroundings great, enjoyed the location, had to pay for deck chairs on the beach (not happy) gym and staff very good and friendly. Met a nutritionist/aerobics instructor received excellent advise from her which we are still applying. Would go back to this hotel every year. However would stay in the newer part of the hotel. The standard room very small with uncomfortable beds.

Room Tip: Please choose superior room then sit back and have a perfect holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mallybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#5 of 172 in Hersonissos
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel

Address: Dedalou 1, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#19 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £46 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Hotel is situated only 25 kilometres from Heraklion International Airport in the town of Hersonissos, a place which attracts thousands of visitors every summer. This family-owned and run resort hotel offers high quality standards in combination with traditional Cretan hospitality and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is ideal both for leisure and business travelers. Located away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of the town, only a stone's throw from a long sandy beach with crystal clear water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Chersonisos
Albatros Spa And Resort Hotel
Albatros Hotel Hersonissos
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing