We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nana Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Snodland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay the Nana Beach Hotel (20 June 2013). The hotel complex was very large and set in a lovely location with good views. Hersonissos was some 25 minute walk one way, with Stalis about 15 minute walk the other. Our room (362) appeared recently decorated. It was clean, spacious and had an excellent full sea view. The air con was efficient and quiet. As the layout of the hotel is small groups of 2 or 3 storey buildings it makes the accommodation very quiet with no noisy corridors, or lifts. The swimming pools are listed as being salt water however, I was unable to detect any salt in the water! They were mainly of a good size and kept very clean. There were plenty of sun-beds available around the pools and on the beach, although we were not able to secure a parasol on every occasion.
The cocktails were mainly very good, as was the wine but the lager can only be described as weak, and quite tasteless. Be prepared to queue for drinks in the evening, and queue jumpers! Although the alcoholic and soft drinks are all inclusive you have to buy bottled water.
We were not impressed by the food, either by the variety, or standard. If, you are a tea drinker you will need to bring your own tea bags as those supplied by the hotel do not produce a very nice flavour. For those of us who do not eat meat there is not much on offer, also some dishes listed as vegetables actually contained meat! The filled pasta mainly served at lunchtime also contained meat, and there was often no choice of a meat free sauce. The food in the two A la carte restaurants we went to was better than the main restaurant, with the Poseidon fish restaurant being the best. The staff at this hotel were all very helpful and keen to please, especially in the restaurant by the beach ‘Thalassa’, where the young man who showed us to our table was particularly good.
The entertainment in the evening left quite a lot to be desired, and the performers from outside the hotel were not very good with the exception of the dancers on the Greek Night which was excellent.
All in all we had a good stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone with small children as the daytime entertainment for them and the area with the pool for children was very good, but nothing much for older children to do.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andy_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

It's nice to see that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and liked especially the unique location of Nana Beach. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests. We are also very thankful for your suggestions and will work on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    443
    168
    25
    13
See reviews for
888
497
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just returned from this hotel after a weeks holiday. I am writing this because i want to share our delight with fellow travellers. A perfect location, gorgeous gardens and surroundings and first class service. We are a couple in our mid fiftys and although the resort is more for the family holiday i still am not giving this hotel a bad review. I only wish i knew about it years ago when our children were smaller. The resort is immaculate and so clean. Great pride is taken by the resort team to ensure everything is perfect. Which it is. My only moan is that the food could have been a little warmer but im not worrying about that. Always something for everyone of every taste to eat. Enjoy the 5 swimming pools and areas. We liked the quiet relaxing pool with jacuzzi purely because it is child free. Children have the most wonderful pool areas and entertainment in the evening.
We would love to return with our grandchildren and have already told numerous people how wonderful this hotel is.
Thank you to all for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a sea view room. It is unecessary as the grounds are so beautiful and well kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Lorraine,

Thank you so much for coming to Crete and for staying with us in Nana Beach. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read that you liked especially our location with the big garden and the service. With pleasure we will forward your compliments to our team, as we think this is the nicest way to say "Thank you" and of course also a big motivation.

Also for your suggestion we are very thankful and will have this point in mind.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon together with your grandchildren!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire,England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We really loved this hotel, especially the lovely grounds which are a credit to the staff, and loved the fact that there was something for everybody. The beach at the harbour end of the complex merged beautifully into the rocky plateaus for sun bathing at the other end.
We really enjoyed the food, especially the Italian venue, and were upset when we could not get a table towards the end of our holiday. Our fault for not booking earlier!
The Squid in Poseidon was superb and we had wonderful food in Zorbas-, especially when my husband and our friend got presented with a large plateful of lamb chops as 'desert'. These were very acceptable and very tasty!
We preferred to eat at Thalassa as it was open to the outside and not as hectic as in Athina, but on the downside there was less variety there.
All the pool snackbars had constant supplies of help yourself cold, soft drinks, various hot drinks, beer, wine and icecream and at 4pm out came the homemade cake and biscuits!
At the Poseidon pool lunchtime salad and pasta, chips and a hot dish were limited in their selection but this was a poolside snack bar not a restaurant and I thought that this was more than adequate! For those who wanted more it was only a short walk to the Athina.
The Pergola snack bar next to the main pool had a better selection but the tastiest snack was the beef burger from Nautilus--why could they not be available elsewhere? The girl there worked very hard to keep up with all the orders, meanwhile in the Verands bar I had no idea that any food was available as there was no menu on show and nobody waiting to be served.
My only 2 complaints were that the grass round the adult only pool was in a very bad condition
and there was no English Channel on the TV (apart from the news) to watch whilst getting changed. I was reduced to watching the German version of Hart to Hart!
We had a wonderful room and it was well worth paying the extra for a sea view.
Thank you management and staff for a great holiday.
K&W Leonard

Room Tip: 800 blocks are good-especially with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying at Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you really enjoyed your holidays. Also we are very thankful for your suggestions and will work on them, because they help us to improve.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nana Beach has a very friendly team of staff. excellent food in all the restaurants, Make sure you try the a la Cart they are so like a good UK restaurant. We were made to feel very special. The hotel offers fantastic views for all the beaches and bays. Lots to do around the sea and complex. We found a 10day stay was lovely and we were spoilt rotten and very relaxed when we left. Excellent all round with NO bad points.... Well done Nana Bay and Thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view,... we stayed in room 202 which sadly overlooked the front of the building and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you felt very special. Please be sure - all our guests are very special for us and so we are doing nothing less than our best in order to give full comfort and deep relaxation to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We came home last night from this amazing hotel..and I want to go back- right now!! We stayed a week to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. On our arrival there were flowers, sparkling wine and a fruit bowl in our room, our bed was covered with flower petals and our towels were in the shape of hearts! So lovely! on three occasions when the staff found out about our anniversary we found ourselves with another bottle of sparkling wine! We tried all three A la Carte restaurants, all good, but the Fish restaurant was a brilliant evening as the two lady cooks come to your table and share a glass of raki with you..again and again!! So funny- and we loved it! Thank you ladies!! All the staff are very attentive- Maria and Thomas in the beach side restaurant are a credit-nothing is to much trouble for them. The hotel was full during the week we were there, but it didnt feel like it! There was never a shortage of sunbeds- always plenty of room- everywhere! The complex is spotless, gardens are beautiful, beach is clean with a very small tide so no waves as such, just calm clear sea! The food was always hot, varied and plenty of it! lovely salads-and I still put 4lbs on!! Wonderful ice cream!! beach bars to have snacks all day, always something and somewhere to eat. Beautiful walks along the seafront, terraces to sunbathe if you wanted to be away from it all. My husband was desperate to watch the Lions v Australia rugby match-when the large TV in the lounge didnt have any sound a technician was sent for straight away and all was well before kick off!! We will most certainly go back-and for a longer stay next time! For an all inclusive holiday in every sense of the word the Nana Beach ticks every box! Every thing you want and need for a perfect relaxing holiday is there- and if it isnt the staff will find it for you! Loved every single moment of it! Thank you Nana Beach- see you next year!

Room Tip: To be close to the dining areas try to book a room in the 400 block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhod and Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Rhod and Deb,

Thank you so much for having spent your 30th wedding anniversary in Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

It was a big honour for us to welcome you for such a special event and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Don't worry about some lbs more - Cretan food is very healthy and holidays are days for enjoy.

We are looking very forward to see you again and hope that you return soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Looking forward to going back to Nana Beach hotel in September, this will be our 4th visit to this hotel. Everything about it is fabulous, the staff are so friendly and very helpful, the food is great, the a la carte Italian restaurant is really nice. In the 3 previous years at this hotel we could not find fault with anything. So looking forward to September.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomfordRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Nana Beach again and for sharing your experiences from your previous holidays with other travellers. We hope you are fine.

It's a pleasure to read, that you always enjoyed your holidays and that you liked especially the food and our staff.

We are looking very forward to welcome you again in september and will be waiting for you with open arms!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here as a family of four for two weeks. Two children aged 3 and 10 months. Firstly this hotel is huge! Lots of pools, lots of places to eat and drink and gorgeous grounds. I actually thought the hotel looked much better in real life than in the brochure which is rare! I emailed a week before my stay to request to be in the main building as it is where the main restaurant is situated and with two young children did not want to walk far to have breakfast/dinner. This request was met which I was very happy about. Like other reviews have mentioned English people are definitely the minority here with most of the hotel guests being German or Russian. We spent most of our time at the other end of the hotel near the kids pool and both my children loved the kids pool with the sprinklers and small slide. The other side of the hotel has an adults only pool which is good if you want peace and quiet. Needless to say we never visited this pool! Food and drink is constant there are so many places to get food all over the hotel you will always find something! Ice cream is help yourself all day long which is really good as other all inclusives can be restrictive with ice cream. We didn't get to see much entertainment as our children always fell asleep so early! But we did go to the Greek night both weeks. Traditional Greek dancing and if you stay awake long enough they start smashing plates this was so good and so fun! The beer is good but do not expect to feel any effects from it! tastes nice but not sure if its actually alcoholic!!! Cocktails are good as well. You can help yourself to wine from fridges which is really nice too. The staff work really hard here and always say hello (in Greek) whenever they see you. We didn't go on any trips but we got a bus outside the hotel for less than 2 euros to hersonosis which is only about 10-15 mins away. We brought all our souvenirs here.. the usual stuff u expect to buy on holiday. Fridge magnets t shirts etc. We also got a bus to Malia to see what all the fuss is about. As expected full of first time away from parents 18 yr olds walking the strip drunk out of their minds. Couldn't wait to get away from there to be honest! We didn't bother with late check out as they have a luggage room to leave your bags and as we weren't planning on staying in our room on our last day saw late check out as a waste of money. Overall we had an amazing holiday here. The hotel definately exceeded our expectations it was such a lovely place we all had a really nice time here and I for sure would recommend to other families a stay at this hotel. One more thing I haven't mention is the beach! It's lovely the water is so clear and the views are absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Kamil,

Thank you for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice for your well deserved family holiday and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you and the kids had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay und that your children loved especially our children's pool with all its water toys.

Concerning our local beer we asure, that it contains alcohol, but it might be lighter than the beer you normally drink at home. It has also to do something with the climate we have - if you drink a strong beer in Cretan summer heat, you might feel dizzy very fast.

If you come next time, for souveniers we would highly recommend to buy some Cretan olive oil, which is one of the bests from the world, herbs like e.g. seasoning mix for Greek salad, meats, vegetables, fish, etc., thyme honey, olives and of course some Cretan Raki. In this way you can extend your holidays in your own kitchen.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerly
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,990 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,241 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#25 of 171 in Hersonissos
729 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
44.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Property: Nana Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing