We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,888)
Filter reviews
1,888 results
Traveller rating
1,068
545
210
39
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,068
545
210
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama barfish restauranta la carte restaurantsathina restaurantmain poolanimation teamposeidon poolkids clubmain restaurantdisco barhappy trainsea viewgreat holidaybuilding workmama miasea frontall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 1,888 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What an outstanding hotel, ALL the staff were friendly and helpful in fact nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was brilliant so much choice for an All Inclusive, everything was freshly made and there was so much of everything. The choice of drinks both soft and alcoholic was very good. Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels. We used the spar quite a bit as it was very good value for money. The reps were amazing especially Dan and James who helped my Husband organise an amazing Birthday for me from making the reservations for the Restaurant in the evening to picking out a Birthday card (the hubs left mine at home lol). We will definitely be back next year. Thank you to everyone at Nana for making a truly unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 308 and it felt like we were in the centre of everything.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Sian,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and especially for celebrating your birthday here in Crete. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly apprciate your kind feedback and with pleasure we will forward your compliments also to our team. We think, that's the nicest way to thank them after a quite busy season and of course also a big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests also next season.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is one of the best all inclusive hotels I have stayed in (apart from an adults only in Rhodes). All the good comments are totally true. The staff are excellent and always helpful, food excellent, grounds lovely and plenty of space to walk around without that feeling of being in a crowded hotel (apart from meal times - more of this later.)

ROOMS: There are many different types and the layout is a bit of pot luck as to what you get. Read previous reviews and you will get a feel for what is right for you. But I will say if you are placed overlooking the front entrance or at the side of the hotel overlooking the service area it will be noisy due to coaches, cars and waste lorries arriving at all times of the day. Avoid these. Sea views can be anything from full view, side view, or barely a view at all through trees. Sea front rooms are assured of a good sea view but are more expensive. Balconies are generally quite compact but ok.
Some rooms have been refurbished and they are very nice. More cupboard and drawer space than I've had before and plugs everywhere
In your room will be toiletries but no robes or slippers. There are no tea/coffee making facilities so bring your own. They do supply kettles if you ask but they may run out. There is a fridge for your use but water is not supplied you have to buy bottled water!!
There are in room safes but charged per day.
Some rooms have baths and showers, some shower only so be aware and request at time of booking.
Towels and linen changed regularly, and rooms lovely and clean.

FOOD: Very good choice of food and quality is good. It could be hotter at times though. It gets very busy at peak times and there is often a small queue for dinner but you never wait too long.
If you want an egg for breakfast though be prepared to queue behind a load of people wanting "designer omelettes" as the cooks or management have still not mastered how to deal with this problem.

Al-a-Carte restaurants, Greek, Fish and Italian can be booked (no extra charge) 1 visit at each if you are staying 1 week, 2 visits each if staying for 2 weeks. Greek restaurant was awful. Service abrupt, food cold, meat inedible.
Italian was lovely - well worth a visit. Did not visit the fish restaurant.

ENTERTAINMENT: I found this quite poor day and night apart from Circus which was brilliant. The evening shows fill an hour but enjoyed ourselves more in the bar chatting to other guests.
Entertainment in the day focuses on keep fit or sport. Not to everyone's taste or ability.

WEATHER: If you are going early or late season I would bring a light jacket as the evenings can get chilly. The sea was warm in October but the pools were starting to get quite chilly.

REP: Dan was very informative and made the welcome meeting one of the best I have heard and I've heard a few that have bored me to tears. No hard sell just helpful hints. Great stock of books in his office and if you run out of sun screen he had plenty. Just leave something maybe you don't need.

WI-FI: Available for 5 euros for 90 mins.

TOWELS: No deposit for beach towels and can replace as often as required.

FACILITIES: There are numerous pools, table tennis, tennis and all non-motorised water sports are free. You can certainly do as little or as much as you want at this hotel. There is a lovely beach perfectly safe for children. Plenty of sun-beds around the many different areas.
Cannot comment on the Kids programme but they seemed to be enjoying it and seemed to have very good facilities.

I would definitely come back to this hotel it has something for everyone and with a few improvements could be almost perfect - well nothings perfect!!

WHERE COULD IMPROVEMENTS BE MADE:
Reduce the queues with more staff on the bars in the evening. They did their best but often waited 10-15 mins.
Sort out the breakfast queues for eggs. Same waiting as for drinks.
Stop charging for guests to keep their valuables safe. Even 5* in Dubai do not do this.
Sort out the Greek restaurant. It's letting the hotel down.
Supply water in rooms. This is an all inclusive hotel!
Improve entertainment in the day for the slightly less active!

Room Tip: Sea view or sea front have better views but check they have been re-furbished.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you rate us as one of the best All Inclusive resorts you have ever been. We are also very thankful for your suggestions and will have them in mind for next season and do our best, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Please allow us to inform, that in all hotel descriptions and also on our website the all inclusive package is clearly described.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again!

Best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

What a pleasant holiday - Nana Beach Resort - their last week of the season - closing until March. Very friendly, thoughtful,pleasant and professional staff. Nothing was too much for them to make sure our stay went without hitch. This was also true of the reps. The food was well prepared with a Fish, Greek, Italian restaurants dotted around the resort. I would most definitely recommend this resort to every none who likes the best of everything a holiday should provide.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travelellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

It's really nice to see, that your not only enjoyed your well deserved holidays, but that our team managed to exeed your expectations by far. Your big compliment for the whole team of Nana Beach is a high motivation to continue giving only the best to our guest also during the next season.

We hope to see you again next year and send you all our best wishes!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We travelled with First Choice. We arrived in Crete after a two hour delay at Bristol Airport - this was due to 'sticky valves' in the fuel system and the uncertainty of how much fuel was on board! We also travelled to the resort without a Thomson rep, which wasn't a problem.

When checking in, I completed the necessary forms at the Reception counter, which saved queuing again. I had previously requested a room in the 800-900 block as recommended by TA reviewers. We were allocated room in the 900 area, but it was an adjoining room and the furniture was dated (I also bruised my legs on the wooden bed frame - so beware!). We complained immediately and were allocated a refurbished room in the 400 block (shower only). Lovley views, small balcony but near the main building, bars etc but away from any noise.

We both suffered health problems whilst we were on holiday - typical. I had a tooth infection and a cold and my husband had tonsillitis! The receptionist were very helpful, calling the local dentist and pharmacy for me. The doctor who visits the hotel daily wanted to charge 48 euros and see the necessary paperwork before examining me........we went to the chemist in Stalida and got anti-biotics which are available over the counter. The hotel also delivered champagne and fruit to our room with a get well message - nice touch!

The clientel seemed to be predominantly German, some Russians and quite a few from the UK.

The hotel has 7 swimming pools, including the children's pool. The grounds are immaculate and laid with beautiful plants and shrubs. The hotel has a lot of rooms, some of which are like two-storey 'bungalows' but these are well spaced out and some of them (800-900) have fabulous sea views.

The Athina restaurant was very busy at peak times, so would suggest eating a little later in the evening. The wine is an acquired taste, but you can help yourself and take bottles away if you wish. Thalassa was a nice open-air place to eat breakfast. There is also a snack bar nearby for burgers, sandwiches etc. The lady that works in there is brilliant - she works so hard and always with a smile. We ate in the three main 'a la carte' restaurants (you have to book). The Greek restaurant was awful and the service hurried and indifferent. Avoid. The Italian restaurant was nice and the food was reasonable. We ate every lunchtime at the open air Poseidon restaurant and had a brilliant night there with some ladies from Newcastle - hello to Terry and Sandra! The food here was lovely during the day - right by the pool, perfect. Note that the water is safe to drink and available in all the restaurants, snack bars.

Each of pools had a different purpose - we chose to use the 'relaxing' pool by the Poseidon restaurant. We also spent some time on the landscaped terraces right by the sea, great for snorkelling, although access to the sea was difficult from here - easier from the beach. We also used a pedalo a couple of times which was good fun and you get a great view of the hotel and neighbouring towns. Plenty of sunbeds at this time of year, although some are still reserved in-spite of the hotel rules (no guessing which nationality are guilty of this).

You can easily walk to Stalida, which has a nice waterfront. Hersonissos is within walking distance, but takes about an hour to walk to the harbour. Buses run frequently and inexpensively from the front of the hotel - go to Agios Nickolaos if you can. Lovely harbour / views / shops / restaurants / boat trips. The Minoan palace at Malia is nearer than that at Knossos and not so over reconstructed. There is also a beautiful, but very neglected Roman fountain in Hersonissos.

There is a small, very expensive shop on site. Alternatively, there a much cheaper supermarket just a few hundred yards from the hotel beach.

Overall, a good hotel in a great location. A brilliant place for families and couples (the entertainment is generally aimed at families).

Crete is a lovely island with so much to see and do. We will vist again, especially the eastern side of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 400 area are near to all the amenities. Some rooms in the 800-900 areas have wonderful sea views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TintoVino2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for leaving us your kind feedback at tripadvisor. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Your praise for the whole team of Nana Beach is a big motivation to continue giving just the best for our guests also in summer 2014!

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We are a married couple in our 50/60s. This was our first visit to Greece (and Crete) and also our first all-inclusive AI). We were put off from AI holidays by reports of guests drinking all day long but this turned out not to be the case as the type of guests who use the resort are unlikely to binge drink. The resort is purpose-built on the side of a hill leading from the main East-West road down to the sea. There are many swimming pools and different types of restaurants all of which were perfectly acceptable. The staff were excellent and our fellow guests were the usual mixture or Brits, Germans and Russians - no problem with that either.

We chose to go after the school summer holidays to avoid masses of young children. Those children who were there were generally very young and kept to the man-made beaches or the children's pool and play areas. They were also well looked after by a very hard working team.

There are plenty of reviews that speaks of how good the Thompsons rep, Dan, is - well they're all true!

We had a very restful time in wonderful weather - exactly what we needed.

We took a short walk outside the resort to the nearest local town, Stalidia. Because the season was coming to an end it was quite depressing to see all the cafes,restaurants, tat shops, car hire companies and bars empty - but I don't think I'd like to be there in peak season when it must be manic.

We did one day trip to visit the Minoan Palace and Heraklion, the capital. The tour guide, Veta, was excellent and provided lots of historic and interesting information throughout the trip.

One odd thing we noticed on the way to and from the resort was the number of shops selling fur coats - in Summer?

We will return to Crete and next time visit the other (West) side of the island - possibly Chania.

Room Tip: For a bit of privacy ask for an upstairs room (most are only 2 floors) an din that way passers by can't look into your balcony/room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloKaren60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear KarenandLes,

Thank you very much for visiting Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved first all inclusive - holidays in the quietness of the late season and that you are already planning to come back to Crete. Your compliments for the whole team of Nana Beach are a big motivation to continue giving all the best to our guests also in summer 2014.

Please allow us too add, that we can understand your confusion about the fur shops nearby the main road very well. For Europeans it seems very strange to see them on a greek island, where also the winters are not very cold. But many tourists from Eastern Europe, Russia, etc. love to buy their furs in summer and also on holidays, because they seem to be cheaper than in their countries.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and if one day you decide to come back to the east coast of Crete, we would be very happy to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews