We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't let the size put you off” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nana Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“don't let the size put you off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

brilliant stay again at the nana beach, good food, lots of sunbeds and a really nice room. All the staff are really friendly and helpful, the animation team work their socks off to entertain and make sure everyone is happy. plenty of quiet corners and pools. Easy walk into Stalis or Hersonnissos if you want to shop. Hope to see everyone next year.

Room Tip: the rooms in the 600s have been refurbished and are in a nice quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcovan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for returning to Nana Beach and for leaving your kind review at tripadvisor. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We highly appreciate your nice feedback. Your compliments for the whole team, which mainly is working since many years in Nana Beach, are a big motivation to keep on pampering our guests also in summer 2014.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you again and we are already looking very forward for your return next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    406
    155
    23
    13
See reviews for
791
468
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hessle E.Yorks England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Visited this hotel in September '13. When I book a holiday I expect the Wow ! factor when I open my room door. Yes I did get that, but not in the way I was hoping for. The room was very basic to say the least. Apparently some of the hotel rooms have been refurbished....guess ours wasnt ! We were at the "quiet end" of the hotel but sorry I can't remember my room number.Small room with 2 single beds, one at each side of the room with an adjoining door to next doors room ? Vision of a prison cell came to mind. Tiny tv....no flat screen tv as in other reviews? I upgraded my room on booking the holiday and paid for a sea view. Because I upgraded I assumed the room would also be better . There was a FABULOUS sea view if you were stood up (beautiful ) but if sat on the balcony, no chance as the balcony had a solid concrete wall running across it and not railings. There were railings down each side of it though so you could always see your neighbours on each side! Bathroom very much in need of TLC. Shower hilarious. However, everything was lovely and clean. Sheets, so white and crisp.We just didnt spend any time loitering in the room. We were up and out and never sat down in it at all.( in all fairness, when i asked to change rooms they did offer us 2 rooms to look at but 1 was in the "noisey" area ( hotel is split between quiet area and activity area ) and the other wasnt available for 2 days so we just stayed put and grew to love our room because of the fabulous view. The grounds are fabulous, soo pretty. Vast. Booked the hotel because of the amount of pools but never went in one! The sunbathing area that runs the full length of the hotel along the cliff side is so unique, we went there every day. Lots of "shelves" cut away in the rocks, each with 2 sunbeds on them and an umbrella so you had your own little private space....100's of them so no matter what time of the day you went there you could always get a spot. Liked all the food/restaurants....definitely couldn't complain. Fridges in both restaurants filled with bottles of wine that you could just help yourself too.As many as you liked...it was very strange as there wasnt any bottled water to help yourself to, you had to buy that from the supermarket ? There were water machines to get a glass of water. In a couple of the snack bars there were beer and wine pubs so you could just help yourself which was very handy. In all the holidays I have had, I have NEVER experienced such lovely staff. Everyone, regardless of their role. The management must be very proud of them. They made me smile everyday and nothing was a problem, ever. I would visit this hotel again but ensure I asked for a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for Quiet area is thats your thing but ensure its a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank n44sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

First of all we want to thank you very much for your very kind words concerning our staff. Indeed, we are very happy and also proud to have so wonderful people here and that most of our employees are working in Nana Beach since many years. Your kind words for the whole "Nana Beach Family" are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

Concerning your room, we want to express again our sincere apologise. We are happy to inform, that currently we are renovating the remaining rooms and of course also the room where you have been, so next summer there will be no difference anymore between "renovated" and "not renovated" rooms.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again in 2014!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 15-22 October with my husband and two young children. After doing a lot of research as we always do before booking any holiday, and reading all the glowing reviews for the hotel we had high hopes and expectations and were very much looking forward to our arrival.
I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and also filled in a form online which would supposedly speed up the check-in process when we arrived. On arrival we were presented with the very same form to fill in again! We did this and were taken to our room on a golf buggy, along with our luggage.
Our room had recently been refurbished and was nice and clean and modern. Room 369. As a previous reviewer said, watch out for the wooden bed frames and I also bruised my leg quite badly. There was plenty of wardrobe space and a flatscreen TV.
The pools were very nice although we found that the only pool we could really use was the kids pool as the others didn't have very big shallow areas, so the 6 pools were wasted on us.
The entertainment was the poorest I have ever seen at a hotel of this kind. The kids show every evening was really poor and the adults shows afterwards even worse. I have to say Tim was great though and my 5 year old son loved him and enjoyed his darts competitions on several occasions. Thank you Tim.
For us what let the hotel down the most was the food. Although there are two buffet restaurants, only the Athina near reception has high chairs and therefore we were unable to use the Thalassa which is the nicer one with views of the sea. I can only presume that they have made a conscious decision to ensure young children are unable to dine there. This is supposed to be a family hotel!
The buffet food was average and certainly not a patch on any other 4 or 5 star all inclusive hotel we have stayed at, and we have stayed at many.
We tried 2 of the a la carte restaurants. The Greek and the Italian. The Greek was ok and the Italian was very disappointing, serving up what looked liked a microwave meal.
We enjoyed the nice walk to Stalis and also visited Hersonnisos as we always like to get out and about, and even more so on this occasion.
The hotel has so much potential, in a beautiful location with a lovely beach and stunning views. It's a real pity that the food and entertainment are so average and I am unable to rave about this hotel as so many others have. I had such high hopes and couldn't help but feel disappointed with the Nana Beach. I hate to say that I really didn't think it was anything special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0nkeymagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

It's nice to see, that overall you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Thank you also very much for informing us about some details, which did not comply with your personal expectations and be sure, that we will have them in mind for next season, because the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

Concerning the high chairs in Thalassa restaurant by the beach, we want to add, that in all the other restaurants with pleasure we provide high chairs for our smallest guests, but in Thalassa restaurant unfortunately we just don't have enough space to provide them and not really a possibility to store the buggies.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you decide to return to Crete.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Superb gardens, fantastic position, imaginative use of rocky beach front for private coves and areas, lovely beach, goodish food, nice rooms, decent entertainment, good cocktails, consistently impressive, friendly service but don't order the 'champagne' as it's cheap fizzy pop and not worth paying the money additional to your all inclusive deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Phil,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are pleased to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you appreciate especially the size of the hotels with it's many facilities, the food, the beach and our service. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests also in 2014. Thank you also very much for your small advice, which with pleasure we will check.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

booked this holiday 2 days in advance with Thomson 1 week all inclusive for 2 adults and a 3 year old. recently I had lost faith in Thomson as they started increasing star rating in there adverts in comparison to what you actually get well mind changed.
booked last minute and all I can say great resort lovely pools , lovely beach area lots of bars and good quality drinks sometimes your are just poured rubbish but this place does not.
the food in the main restaurant is really good and not repetitive the staff are all very attentive, polite and really nice all I can thing the hotel must treat the staff well as the niceness of the staff does never come across as false all the way across the full staff spectrum.
the rooms are really clean and equipped how you would expect if not slightly above par for this region.
would definatley return lots of beach space for my 3 year old and pool space for everyone good kids playground. a good resort with in walking distance of the hotel.
my only advice would be don't bother with the al a carte restaurants why would you want to be served chicken and chips at your table when you could have great hot and lovely food with loads of choice from the main restaurants.
all round good hotel everything you require

Room Tip: because we had a 3 year old we were near playground and kids pool ideal for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to read, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate the possibilities we offer in our "Cretan village", the food and our service. Indeed we are very glad to have most parts of our staff with us since many years. We are like a big family, each guest who comes to Nana Beach for us is like a new family member and our aim the high satisfaction of all our guests. Therefore we are also very thankful for your kind suggestion, which we will have in mind for next season.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking forward to welcome you back to Nana Beach family!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited Nana Beach back in May 2011, after realising we could go abroad and get some sun for not much more than we had just shelled out for a week at Centre Parcs, once you added up the meals out and activities. With 2 children we didn't want anywhere too hot and decided on Crete. We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Nana Beach and decided to go back this time for a bit longer (11 nights), taking advantage of the new Nottingham 2 week Oct half term.
As 'returners' we received a free upgrade on our room and had a choice of a family suite, which has a separate room for the children, or a nice sea view room. We opted for sleep space (you can see the sea all day from most of the pools and bars anyway!). We also received a fruit basket and bottle of wine. Our room did have tea/coffee making facilities, but with all the bars and restaurants fully inclusive and so near by - why bother?! The only disappointing thing about our room turned out to be the noise from the bar on the nights when there was something on in the side area of the bar that was just across from the family block. If we had wanted to move we know that wouldn't have been a problem. However, our kids had such a great time during the day, swimming in the pools and the sea, playing on the beach, playing pool and table tennis, going to the mini disco and much more, we needn't have worried - they both slept very soundly. The shutters outside made the room completely dark, so they didn't wake up too early either. We could then get up and head out to breakfast and come back to find our rooms all beautifully clean and tidy.
The variety and quality of the food in the main restaurants is great. My husband likes to eat meat, whilst I am vegetarian and our children also have different tastes, yet everybody found several platefuls of really nice food at every meal. We enjoyed going towards the beach for breakfast and eating in the 'Thalassa' restaurant in the mornings. We didn't bother booking into the a-la-carte places. We tried the Italian the previous trip and preferred the much wider range of food available in the Athina restaurant. Other guests also commented that it wasn't really worth it to go elsewhere.
The pools were a bit cold at this time of year, so we spent more time on the beach and in the sea (which was a perfect 22 degrees). We floated around on the 'lilos' which have a clear bit in the pillow and could see all sorts of fish in the water below. We had brought a snorkel set with us from our last visit and discovered you can also borrow them from the water sports center, so father and son spent lots of time floating around after fish.
Our daughter, aged 7, isn't one for sitting still and relaxing so soon asked if she could go to the kids club. There are 2 parts to this, one for all the German kids and one for anyone else - the 'international kids club'. It was pretty quiet as it was nearly the end of the season, but Ines and Charlotte made her feel very welcome and she loved hanging out and doing various activities with them and a couple of Swiss boys and some English children who arrived during our second week. The mini disco is a must for any child who enjoys lively action songs and lots of shouting and screaming at the DJ to play the next song. The 'animation team' do a great job for those who want entertainment, whilst there are plenty of quiet areas if that's not your thing.
We have never been anywhere else all-inclusive to compare it to, but speaking to other guests who have stayed in other places, they said it is as good as or better than similar holidays.
We certainly hope to visit again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Heather,

Thank you so much for coming back to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

It's nice to see, that again you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you also saw and felt the improvements we did during the last 2 years. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to give only the best for our smaller and bigger guests also next summer.

It was a pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you again, if one days you decide to return to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

What an outstanding hotel, ALL the staff were friendly and helpful in fact nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was brilliant so much choice for an All Inclusive, everything was freshly made and there was so much of everything. The choice of drinks both soft and alcoholic was very good. Our room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels. We used the spar quite a bit as it was very good value for money. The reps were amazing especially Dan and James who helped my Husband organise an amazing Birthday for me from making the reservations for the Restaurant in the evening to picking out a Birthday card (the hubs left mine at home lol). We will definitely be back next year. Thank you to everyone at Nana for making a truly unforgettable holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 308 and it felt like we were in the centre of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Sian,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and especially for celebrating your birthday here in Crete. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly apprciate your kind feedback and with pleasure we will forward your compliments also to our team. We think, that's the nicest way to thank them after a quite busy season and of course also a big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests also next season.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#5 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
49.7 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Property: Nana Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing