We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday!”
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nana Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went to Nana Beach in October and had a great time. The weather was good so that helped but the hotel was lovely. Close to the beach, great food with a choice of restaurants (delicious cakes in the afternoon), plenty of activities included in the price if you wanted them, a very hard-working animation team, beautifully laid-out resort resembling a small white-washed Greek village and a spotless room which was cleaned every day. The only fault was that the pools were freezing - the time of year I guess. Plenty of beds around the pools but we were there right at the end of the season and it was lovely and quiet (I imagine in the summer holidays it may get quite crowded). I would have no hesitation in returning there but I think I would stick to the quieter times of the year. Fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

We are pleased to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Please allow us to add, that even in main season due to it's size Nana Beach never feels "crowded". As we have the advantage of a big area, there are always sunbeds and shades and enough space for everybody available.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again this year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    443
    168
    25
    13
See reviews for
888
497
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
alliBDurham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Nana Beach hotel is full of fun things for young children, I don't recommend the kids club, though. But anyway what a lovely beach, fish swim in the sea! On the beach the sand his hot, it warms your toes!
Nana Beach is a perfect beach for children and families. Some pools are massive, and deep too. Oh, there are some kids pools, a small one, and a bigger one. My favorite pool had a hot tub, although a lot had hot tubs.
The rooms were amazing! The family rooms had one king sized bed, plus a single bed. We didn't care that the TV was partly in Greek! We had more important things to do than watch the TV anyway!
Each night, there is a performance, some are very good! Kids club do a play once a week, though I still don't recommend kids club!

I am giving this terrific hotel a five star, everyone should visit NANA BEACH!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alliBDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed especially the very children - friendly beach, the children's pool with it's several water toys, your room, the food and our service. Your kind words for the whole team of Nana Beach are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our smaller and bigger guests also in 2014. Please allow us to add, that our children's club usually is loved a lot by many childen of all ages including their parents. Anyhow, we highly appreciate your feedback and will have this point even stronger in mind for next season.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

All our best wishes and a happy 2014!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Went late September and the weather was hotter than we'd thought it would be. Large layout to this hotel and liked the pools being graded kids, family and adults only. The hotel room was on the larger size, well maintained and the bed comfortable. House keeping was good. Enjoyed the food mainly from the sea front restaurant. Enjoyed two of the a la carte restaurants as a change, didn't get into the Italian one which was popular and books up early. Enjoyed the beach area also, which was clean and tidy with free pedalos! Families will enjoy this hotel. Minor down points, wished the drinks around the pool were served in slightly larger sizes, the sun beds around the pool were not very robust and what has to be the slowest internet connection since dial up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avensis_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

We are pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests also next season. Thank you also very much for your small suggestions. Please be sure that we will work on these points as well, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

All the best wishes and a happy 2014!

Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Couldn't fault it - would recommend and return! Good choice of food and drinks, clean, comfortable, relaxing, friendly staff, plenty of activities available and a great location - everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bobcarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for joining Nana Beach family for a while. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are very pleased to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you liked especially our All Inclusive offers, the friendlyness of our team and the activities, we offer in our "cretan village". Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests also in 2014.

We are looking very forward to welcome you again and send you all our best wishes!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Bit of a late review...our family (me and hubby and four boys 14,13,9 & 5) stayed at the Nana Beach early October and we had a fabulous time. Late afternoon flight from Bham, which got us to Nana Beach at approx 12.30 in the morning. Transfer was great, 25 minutes from airport and we were the first drop off....welcome was very friendly, we were asked to leave our luggage in the reception and take advantage of a quick bite to eat in the late night snack bar. After a filling in a registration form we were taken to our two rooms by golf buggy. I had requested by email a week previous for our rooms to be located close to each other, and was happy to find they had fulfilled this. Lovely rooms, looked newly decorated, plenty of storage, plenty of towels (not the greatest shower) lovely balcony overlooking the pool, and to discover in daylight, the sea.

2 main restaurants...one by reception, Athina and the Thalassa which was smaller but overlooked the sea front... both served a high standard of food... I'm vegetarian and never struggled. Some may complain but I've been to many AI 4+ star hotels and not had the quality of food that we had here. We also found the waiter/waitresses to be extremely helpful...always quick to seat us and make polite conversation...

Our first 2 days were very overcast, not bathing weather at all, so we walked into Stalis on the first morning, and Hersonissos on the second day. We all preferred Stalis...lots of bars and shops..Hersonissos was more of a high street with the usual touristy bits.

Pools were lovely, cold, but we expected that after holidaying in Kos last October. Plenty of sunbeds, choices of snack bar for in between meals, drinks on tap..loved the cake in the afternoon!! Spent a day on the beach once the sun had put in an appearance...pedalos etc included, kids had lots of fun with those.

The surroundings were what made this place so lovely, little secluded bays cut into the rocks, and so many lovely plants and flowers... me and hubby both agreed that it really was a pretty setting.

Due to having 4 boys who keep each other entertained, we cannot comment on kids club... from what I saw it seemed to be geared towards the German holidaymakers...Thomson reps did ask daily if the boys wanted to take part in activities, but we were never nagged. Boys had lots of use of the table tennis, and virtually lived in the pool. They did attend a magic show one night, but we're the sort of family that enjoy sitting with a drink and playing cards with the kids of an evening so we didn't really make the most of the entertainment.

The hotel has a small shop which stocks a small selection of emergency purchases, we forgot shaving cream but we're able to buy there...and bottled water is not provided but can be bought in the shop for approx 0.40 euro.

So, would I recommend?? Absolutely!! Lovely hotel, staff are friendly and hardworking (considering that a large percentage of holidaymakers were rude and had no manners) Food was great, rooms cleaned to a high standard. Only downside for us and this is no reflection on the hotel was the other holiday makers!! Us British may have a bad reputation abroad but at least we have manners!!! Please and thank you were in short supply by most, the staff deserve medals!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julia8275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Julia,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

We are pleased to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays, although in the first two days we were a bit unlucky with the weather. Your kind review for the whole team of Nana Beach is a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our smaller and bigger guests also next summer.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again in 2014!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

brilliant stay again at the nana beach, good food, lots of sunbeds and a really nice room. All the staff are really friendly and helpful, the animation team work their socks off to entertain and make sure everyone is happy. plenty of quiet corners and pools. Easy walk into Stalis or Hersonnissos if you want to shop. Hope to see everyone next year.

Room Tip: the rooms in the 600s have been refurbished and are in a nice quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcovan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for returning to Nana Beach and for leaving your kind review at tripadvisor. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We highly appreciate your nice feedback. Your compliments for the whole team, which mainly is working since many years in Nana Beach, are a big motivation to keep on pampering our guests also in summer 2014.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you again and we are already looking very forward for your return next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle E.Yorks England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Visited this hotel in September '13. When I book a holiday I expect the Wow ! factor when I open my room door. Yes I did get that, but not in the way I was hoping for. The room was very basic to say the least. Apparently some of the hotel rooms have been refurbished....guess ours wasnt ! We were at the "quiet end" of the hotel but sorry I can't remember my room number.Small room with 2 single beds, one at each side of the room with an adjoining door to next doors room ? Vision of a prison cell came to mind. Tiny tv....no flat screen tv as in other reviews? I upgraded my room on booking the holiday and paid for a sea view. Because I upgraded I assumed the room would also be better . There was a FABULOUS sea view if you were stood up (beautiful ) but if sat on the balcony, no chance as the balcony had a solid concrete wall running across it and not railings. There were railings down each side of it though so you could always see your neighbours on each side! Bathroom very much in need of TLC. Shower hilarious. However, everything was lovely and clean. Sheets, so white and crisp.We just didnt spend any time loitering in the room. We were up and out and never sat down in it at all.( in all fairness, when i asked to change rooms they did offer us 2 rooms to look at but 1 was in the "noisey" area ( hotel is split between quiet area and activity area ) and the other wasnt available for 2 days so we just stayed put and grew to love our room because of the fabulous view. The grounds are fabulous, soo pretty. Vast. Booked the hotel because of the amount of pools but never went in one! The sunbathing area that runs the full length of the hotel along the cliff side is so unique, we went there every day. Lots of "shelves" cut away in the rocks, each with 2 sunbeds on them and an umbrella so you had your own little private space....100's of them so no matter what time of the day you went there you could always get a spot. Liked all the food/restaurants....definitely couldn't complain. Fridges in both restaurants filled with bottles of wine that you could just help yourself too.As many as you liked...it was very strange as there wasnt any bottled water to help yourself to, you had to buy that from the supermarket ? There were water machines to get a glass of water. In a couple of the snack bars there were beer and wine pubs so you could just help yourself which was very handy. In all the holidays I have had, I have NEVER experienced such lovely staff. Everyone, regardless of their role. The management must be very proud of them. They made me smile everyday and nothing was a problem, ever. I would visit this hotel again but ensure I asked for a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for Quiet area is thats your thing but ensure its a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank n44sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

First of all we want to thank you very much for your very kind words concerning our staff. Indeed, we are very happy and also proud to have so wonderful people here and that most of our employees are working in Nana Beach since many years. Your kind words for the whole "Nana Beach Family" are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

Concerning your room, we want to express again our sincere apologise. We are happy to inform, that currently we are renovating the remaining rooms and of course also the room where you have been, so next summer there will be no difference anymore between "renovated" and "not renovated" rooms.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again in 2014!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,990 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,240 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#25 of 171 in Hersonissos
729 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
44.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Property: Nana Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing