We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very bad hotel”
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nana Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Well as we booked the h hollydays we were very hapy with the features seen on internet but as soon as arrived this magic was all gone, first unfriendly personal, if you get a smile wile you stay ther then you are very lucky, secondly we reserved a so called bungalow, well great disappointment as this is only a normal hotel room with someone on every side of this bungalow... The food at best I will say it's like a canteen not better never for a 5 star hotel as they announce it on internet, the drinks well if you only know low cost drinks full of chemistry then it's ok, never sow a fresh pressed juice, you will actually only get 2 bottles of water if you want more then you have to pay for in the small market incide, the animation team was ok but not outstanding, in resume if want great hollydays then just don't go ther.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank JDRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for visiting Nana Beach. We hope you had a save trip home.

We are very sorry to see that we did not hit your personal expectations and ask you kindly for apologise. We would have appreciated your direct feedback during your stay in order to see, what we can do for you.

Frankly said we are quite surprised about your review, as the friendlyness of our staff is praised by many guests, as you can see as well in the reviews. Kindly note, that according to the hotel description it cannot be expected to get the fridge in the room filled. As a small attention for the new arriving guests with pleasure we provide some free bottles of water.

We would be happy to welcome you again and hope to be able ton convince you from our ability in this occadion.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the hotel and as previous review stated they have a repeaters scheme in way of a thank you. We had a bottle of sparkling wine in our room on arrival and we were invited to a Gala evening. We also had a complementary late check out room which we were going to book because we were not leaving until 18 40 so this was very welcome. The staff at this hotel go out of their way to make your holiday perfect. The room was kept clean with sheets and towels changed daily. I also found the food salty but my husband found it acceptable, this is not a problem because the choice of food is good and there is a grill were the chefs cook fresh food to order. I cant add much more than already has been said. We thank the staff for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: we were in low 700 room which was good but the rooms in the 800's are excellent and this is wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for coming back to Nana Beach and for leaving us your review at Tripadvisor. We hope you had a save trip home.

We are delighted to see how much you deserved your stay. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best for our guests!

It was a pleasure to see you again and we hope that you return next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked 3 rooms for 6 Adults for 4-11th May 2014. Was lovely and quiet, until we were told it holds up to 1800 people and it had only opened for season 4 days prior to our arrival. The hotel itself is lovely and i did enjoy myself, regardless of my below comments.
There are not many places to sit down inside the bars, given the amount of persons.
Lots of stray cats and dogs...
Food and Drink
The Thalassa Restuarant(Beach) is less chaotic than the Athina restaurant (Main)
The coffee's are not the same, (cappuccino has whipped cream instead of milk).
The Orange Juice is strong cordial, Not fresh, but you can buy it from the shop or for an extra €2 per glass at breakfast.
The sausages are frankfurters, not pork.
The eggs and bacon are in high demand and there may be a very long queue.
The Chicken nuggets do not taste like chicken.
Everything! is extremely salty.
As a standard in Greece, all toilet paper goes in a bin and never in a toilet, so as you can imagine, it can get a bit smelly in public toilets, but Nana Beach do their best to keep all the rooms fresh.
The staff in the hotel Mini Market are like flies, always hoovering over your every move and very off putting. Especially the larger checkout female who apparently will offer you 20% off....but will also offer everyone else that.
The Adult "Relax" pool still has children in it regardless of what the sign says.
By the end of the holiday they did start enforcing the no "shorts" rule in the dining area's for men.
The Dolphin Pool bar opened after 2 days, but still did not seem fully stocked.
If your room isn't close to a pool, good luck finding it, our late check out family room was miles away tucked amongst corridors and hidden stairs.
Wifi is very expensive.
Locker in room is €2 per day.
You must reserve your seats for the 3 al'a carte resturants ASAP (italian, fish, greek), Italian is the most popular, however in view the poorest quality. personally the greek won for me.
Entertainment
The performances are good, the variety show was brilliant, however did repeat itself slightly by the animation team.
The pools outside are "freezing" - be prepared!
The zumba is good, but not really zumba.
Aquafit is chilly, but very good fun.
The scubadiving is deceiving, i booked in for the free session in the morning, only to be told 30 mins before (as i returned to ask what to wear) that they had signed me up for the paid course not the freebie trial, which in return was for 10 mins in the pool.
The Windsurfing you can only do if you are licensed, otherwise its a €100 for 3 day course.
All motorised water sports are extra and not free.
The Rooms are great for the money, you get 2 free 500ml bottles of chilled water in the room fridge, then they are 6 for €1.80 in the shop.
Beware, not all the Tv channels work.
Inhouse cleaning do a great job and sweep and dust, no horror stories hear. my room was lovely.
Not only do you have your allocated towels in the room, but you get a card (which you must return or face €20 fine), but this card gets you a beach towel which you can get changed every day so you dont need to mix you salty, suntanned towel with your fresh room ones.
If you want to play tennis, book in the morning is best as the 3 courts do get used a lot. For Snooker and table tennis, they require a returnable €20 deposit, as and when tables are free. (usually 1hr slots).
The luggage room isnt locked, so take vaulables with you on your last day.
If you arrive late night, they will prepares you a cold meat/salad plate.
The coaches to Heraklion aka Iraklion are €3.20 one way (very crowded, we had to stand) make sure you buy the tickets from the bus station before you board the bus on the way back. Taxis are around €35-40 one way.
In Heraklion, beware of the singing children, they will try your bags.
Lastly...
If booking through Thompson, beware of the Go Greek night.
Its €50 and they cram over 400 persons into an old barn so they you cant move (there is less than an inch between seats, next to and behind you) so not for the claustrophobic. The food is exactly the same that you get at the hotel, the wine tasting is a shot glass as you go through a room, likewise for the feta tasting (which you get at dinner, which is immensely salty)
Personally i wouldn't waste your money on the greek night, you can do just as well if not better in the hotel.
All in all, i actually did have fun, wouldn't go for more than a week though, unless you are travelling about as there is a limit to what you can get up to.

Hope this helps

Room Tip: Garden view are close to the main pool, corner rooms are larger, family apartments are quite noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mi33y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Thank you also very much for your suggestions, which we will follow up in order to improve, because the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is our second time at this Hotel, everything about this hotel complex is perfect. Our room was cleaned every day, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they work very hard to ensure your holiday needs are catered for. The food was very varied and they have a microwave that guests can use which was handy if you wanted your meal piping hot. The Returners Club was a great suprise as we recieved a complementary late check out room! Would def recommend this holiday to anyone wanting a relaxing break. Ps A visit to the Crete Aquarium is a must.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool bar although music does stop at 12am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew43492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for returning to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving nothing less than the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you back again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Returned to hotel for A I family holidays (family with 5 years old daughter) in June 2013. Been there year earlier and enjoyed it a lot, so booked again. And liked it even more! As repeaters (booked through First Choice, but emailed hotel and spoke to them about us coming back) we had several very nice perks, including choice of room - good one with sea view, opposite swimming pool, bar and close to beach, just perfect!. there was bottle of wine and fruit basket when we arrived just after midnight, also use of sauna was free. Nana Beach is a self contained resort, with sandy, secure beach, many swimming pools with whirlpools, many bars, food all day long and very good quality. also, free pedalos and cayaking plus other watersports (charge). many activites and great animation team, lovely entertainment at 21.00 and children disco before that. nearby few shops and car rental (cheaper than hotel one), not far from Hersonissos town.Kids club kept our daughter entertained ( few English speaking children though, more German and Russian). good food, good drinks (inlc branded) - all inclusive. And Very, Very friendly and professional staff, helpful on many occasions. Also, on day trip to Vaio Beach and west crete, we got very decent packed lunch. We would be returning this year , but prices a bit high so will be booking holidays in Spain (daughter not so happy about it..). But certain we will be in Nana Beach again, hopefully next year!

Room Tip: A La Carte restaurants are not necessary as good as buffet dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Konrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Konrad,

Thank you very much for coming back to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your second stay even more than the first one. Each year we are doing improvements, because each year we want to give new surprises to our guests.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and whenever you decide to come back, we will be waiting for you with our arms wide open!

Best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with lovely rooms !!
Loads to do for the kids.
The food was great with lots if variety and the staff were friendly.
Could have done with more entertainment for adults in the evening as bar shut at 11pm and that was it.
Would defo stay here again !!

Stayed: August 2013
8  Thank Moom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for leaving us this great review!

It is really nice to see, in which nice way your remember your well deserved holidays and how much you liked especially your room, the whole big hotel area, the facilities for children and our food. We are also very thankful for your suggestion and will see, what we can do this summer.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Came here for the first time 8 years ago for our honeymoon loved it. Finally got round to.coming back with our 5 year old. Beautiful grounds, great food, super bar staff. kids club ans animation were goor. Really loved it as did our daughter. Came home and booked for 2 weeks next summer.
my only criticism is free WiFi is a must to.bring it online with other such star rated hotels.
See you at the end of July 2014

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisr2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for returning to Nana Beach and for leaving us your review on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to see, that now, travelling with your own family and your daughter you enjoyed your stay as much as your honeymoon years ago. Your praise for the whole team is a big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests.

We are already looking very forward to see you again this summer and are waiting for you with open arms!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,225 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#24 of 174 in Hersonissos
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#26 of 174 in Hersonissos
788 reviews
1.1 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#41 of 174 in Hersonissos
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £120 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing