We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nana Beach - another great return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nana Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nana Beach - another great return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

That is 5 holidays for us in just 2 years at Nana Beach. So what makes it so special for us?

Location: set on beautifully tended grounds overlooking the sea, with its own beach, mini-harbour and water sports.

Animation: varied, energetic, fun and international.

Food: Plenty of everything for everyone, prepared and presented with pride.

Staff: Nana Beach service standards are friendly, helpful, and professional - this is reflected throughout all levels of staff.

Consistency: In our 5 visits so far to Nana Beach we have had plenty of opportunity to see the quality of the place from different perspectives. We are never, ever disappointed.

The success of our holidays there have now made it difficult for us to even consider holiday at any other hotel/resort. We know that if we book Nana Beach we will have a fabulous time and a vacation that gives us everything we want. So it looks like we will continue going there, as we reckon the chances of us finding a better place with better service are slim.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Archery/Fitness Centre seem to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Tony,

Thank you so much for your loyality and for returning again to our "Cretan village". We hope you had a save trip back to Cardiff, although it was hard to let you go.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback. Please allow us to add, that it's not only the service standards which we have and which make the difference - it's also and mainly the personality of each stafff member we have. Most of them are with us since many years and we are very glad about this.

Once again it was a big pleasure have you here in Nana Beach family and we can't wait to welcome you again in your second home!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    406
    155
    23
    13
See reviews for
792
468
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and myself have just returned from our second holiday at nana beach.
We arrived late on Thursday 8th and were welcomed by the wonderful reception staff. After dropping off our bags we returned to the main restaurant for a light supper, which was very much appreciated. The room it self was perfectly situated just a short walk from the pool and the beach. As we were returning guests they had left a fruit basket and wine in our room, just wonderful..
The weather was rather unsettled begin with but thankfully improved over our stay.
Just like our last holiday the staff couldn't do enough, especially when we had a slight problem with our shower, our wonderful chamber maid sorted it in an instant. Our apartment was cleaned daily and beautiful flowers were arranged to welcome us back.
Our favourite restaurant was the Italian, the staff made was feel so welcome and the food was amazing!!
As I already said we went in early May, which in fact was the perfect time of year not at all crowded and plenty of sunsets.
The whole holiday was in fact a success from start to finish and we are already planning next year's. Thank you Nana beach, see you all again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amelia_layton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Amelia,

Thank you very much for returning to Nana Beach and for leaving us your review at tripadvisor. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you appreciate our services and all the little details we do for the comfort of our guests. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to see you again and we are looking very forward to welcome you back next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Reviwing Nana Beach Hotel for last May. It was first trip abroad by flight. I chose Nana Beach down to its reviews and its facilities as they were far better than the other resorts advertised through Thomson holidays. The staff are pleasant and very friendly even the cleaners are polite by greeting you with "morning" in Greek. Me and boyfriend thoroughly loved the food in the main restaurant. Always had a variety of foods on display. Chef cooking off a special meat of the day on display I.e. chicken. Food was available until late. We only visited only one of the special restaurants ( Italian, Greek or seafood restaurants) which was the Greek however we personally preffered the food in the main restaurant. Desserts also amazing always ice cream avaible for the kids. Zorbas beer, house white and red wine on tap (bottles from the main restaurant free with meal ). For my first abroad vacation I highly reccomed Nana beach. The entertainment especially the Brazilian night was outstanding. The appartments were lovely, even though we had a garden view we could also see the sea and the chapel to the west. I would come here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for choosing Nana Beach. We hope you had a save trip home.

We are amazed to see, how much you enjoyed your first holidays abroad. Your kind words for the whole team of Nana Beach are a big motivation to continue giving just the best for our guests and to welcome them with our traditional Cretan hospitality.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I'm slightly confused, after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor I booked 1 week all inclusive at Nana Beach. Upon entering the Hotel grounds the Hotel is very big, the reception area does not strike you as being a 4 star hotel, and normally the reception areas are very nice as these form your first impressions. The Hotel is large and very varied, if you walk from one end to the other it ranges from a low 3 star upto 4 star- but never 5 as per the Hotels official rating in Greece. Its like the Hotel has accumulated mini hotels in a merger.

The beach especially where the children's play area is seems a little unloved, there were piles of beach parasols dumped and it is next to what appears to be wasteland. There is a shortage of rubbish bins hence some of the rubbish ends up in the sand.

The main restaurant seemed very good, after 2 days you begin to notice the constant use of Pork, fried, roasted and pork skewers formed all 3 meals in one day. A close second is Veal in various combinations. Whilst the quality of the food is good, is becomes very boring after a short while. The Italian restaurant is very good and the service too. The other buffet restaurant situated on the beach front is small and has no highchairs for children.

We stayed the week before half term and there were at times still queues for the pool/ beach bars, so with the sheer size of this hotel in the summer holidays I would anticipate even more queuing.

We stayed in a family apartment, they are situated close to the main children's pool but also next to the neighbouring hotel which plays very loud music until 11pm, the cleaning of the rooms is also lacking, it does seem like you get a quick sweep. The family apartments only have showers, the showers have a mesh mat permanently fitted, when I lifted this up there was alot of hair from previous occupants. The toilet roll holder fell off the wall, the sink did not hold water and the TV remained frozen on the English TV channels (of which there are 2 that alternate) for nearly a week.

It does appear that the areas that are scrutinised by the majority are maintained, we asked for a baby bath, it was delivered but missing the plug so could not hold water, 4 days later it had not arrived so we gave up chasing it and used our baby's inflatable boat. There was also a TV left outside the block of apartments for 4 days!

The photographs of the rooms on Thomsons and the Hotels website do not seem representative of the apartments we stayed in.

On a more positive note the children's entertainment is very good, more so if you are German or Dutch as the songs sung are not in English at all. The kids club is divided so the English children are separate to the German children etc which seemed a little divisive. The kids club is located in the main kids softplay/ indoor shaded area so parents and their children would also play in the same area as the children attending kids club. On a Wednesday the animation team have the day off, so only 1 staff member runs the kids club on a Wednesday and I observed at least 12 children in her care, I don't think this an acceptable ratio, there was also a gentleman who joined the kids club with his son whilst drinking beer. I think the entry to the kids club needs to be more secure as often parents just left the gate open. Also just to illustrate the poor maintenance- the gate bolt lever has snapped so a screw has been put in its place, its very weathered so been there a while and everytime you open/ close the gate you have a screw digging in your finger!

Snack bar at the main pool with the bridge has a good selection for lunch and self service drinks machines, ice creams available all day. Also beach towels can be changed daily which is an added bonus.

Sorry to be negative but I speak as I find! This hotel could be a good 4 star hotel if it was better maintained and staff acted quickly to resolve issues and communicated better with guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Danielle,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for choosing Nana Beach. We hope you had a save trip home.

We appreciate your open words, as they help us to improve. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and so we ensure, that we have already worked in your mentioned details ane we will keep on working working in them. Please accept or sincere apologies for not having met your personal expectations in all cases!

We would be happy to welome you again and hope to convince your from our ability in this occasion!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just come back from a 2 week holiday in this great hotel. I really can't fault it the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to help, the room was so much better than I had expected from the photo. It was very spacious for a family of 4 and had amazing views of the mountains the sea and one of the pools. The rooms were very clean and fresh towels and bed linen everyday. Throughout the hotel everything was immaculate even the gardens. The pool areas and pools were very clean too. The food was great with lots of variety and the Al a Carte restaurants were nice too, my favourite was the fish one. Men should remember to take trousers for evening meals as only the beach front buffet restaurant allows shorts in the evening. The kids had a great time aged 11yrs and 7yrs although it was during term time and there weren't that many secondary school age children my girls still had fun in the kids club and with the animation team. The animation team worked very hard and put on some great evening performances. I really cannot fault this place and would highly recommend to anyone and of course would like to return again someday. Thanks to all the hotel staff, kids club and animation team too for making our holiday a great one :o) Started the holiday blues now and have only been back home 8 hours :o(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

It is very nice to see, how much you and your family enjoyed your stay and how much you appreciate all the little details and touches we give with lots of pleasure to our guests. We are sorry to see, that your holiday blues already started, but we know something against this: Come back soon, we are waiting for you with open arms!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just returned from an 11night stay at the nana beach hotel with two children aged 6 and 4. We could not fault this hotel AT ALL!!!!! Our room was wonderful, a lovely balcony, so spacious and clean with comfy beds and a double sink in a huge bathroom! There is a main block of rooms but we stayed in the villa type of room, as you walked around you didn't feel like you were even in a hotel! Gardens and surroundings are just amazing!

The hotel facilities were brilliant! Great huge pools, an adult only pool and a kids pool, which was very shallow but had rubber on the surrounding floors so kids didn't slip! All the others pools were large and had loads of sunbeds and parasols available with sea views! The beach is brilliant, you can see the whole bay pretty much wherever you sit, pedalos and canoes available all free of charge.

Staff always happy and friendly and always made an effort to ensure you were having a great time!

There are places to eat everywhere, we could not fault the food in any way. Buffet is brilliant, there are two main restaurants, they were both great. Food always being refreshed and plates cleared from your table as soon as you are finished! Ice cream available all day, just help yourselves, same with the drinks! Wine in bottles and beer on tap!!! Snacks like hot dogs available all close range to wherever you are. If you were going out all day they would make you a lunch box to take with you! Good on site shop too! Bars all amazing, hot drinks as good as the cocktails, huge terraces to sit out on, or quiet rooms if you wanted to play cards too! Also it was good that they would serve drinks to the kids at the bar (non alcoholic of course!!) but never would be allowed in Britain!

The kids club was just second to none!! 10am-1:30pm then again at 3-5:30pm, everyday. The kids just loved it! The staff were brilliant, doing all activities you could imagine! Plus a lot in the shade so not worried about kids getting too hot! They took them to the beach, and walked around hotel doing activities, loads of arts and crafts and games really could not fault this at ALL! My girls always wanted yo go here twice a day, they take from 3yrs to 12yrs.

Evening entertainment really very good! Kids disco every night from 8-9ish, then a show of some sort at 9:30pm, always get a good view of the stage with the way the seating is laid out.

Ok.....I don't think I can big thus hotel ip any more than I have! Book it, you will NOT be disappointed!

We are looking to go back for sure, I can't recommend it enough!!

Room Tip: We had a garden room, this was on the ground floor, and pretty close to all amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 851Laura83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are very pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate our services and all the facilities that we offer. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best for all our guests.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we can't wait to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Nana beach for our honeymoon in May with our 2 year old. Staff there were very pleasant from the restaurant staff to housekeeping with all in between, they all work very hard! room was clean and never heard any noise through the night. Food was amazing, so much choice and was always lovely and freshly prepared. Pools (there were a few) were all clean and the kiddies pool was a dream for our daughter- had to drag her out everyday, hotel was convenient for getting around as bus stop right outside hotel entrance. Another bonus of the hotel was they had a doctor on site each day which came in handy as our daughter did get unwell while away. Would recommend 100% for families and couples. Only slight disappointment was that we were told to tell staff we were on honeymoon as they would offer special treats, my husband did mention it to a few members of staff but none seemed particularly interested, think my husband wanted it more for me to feel special. there was others getting champagne etc so was a bit of a shame. Also the resort has many steps around the place which was difficult with a toddler as wanted to play on them all the time, we did speak to other guests which had limited mobility and they said they managed fine tho as there is plenty of ramps about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Gayle,

Thank you so much for joining us for such a very special occasion! We hope you had a save trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved honeymoon and proud that you have chosen Nana Beach as place to stay.

For us, it was really a big honour and a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 177 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#5 of 177 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 177 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
49.7 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 177 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Property: Nana Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing