We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geek on Greek!!”
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nana Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Amazing!! that just sums it up.....go and see for yourself. Tell it how it is that's my motto can't be doing with pages of waffle.

Food - great, Rooms - great, staff - great, location - amazing. Especially the Greek and Italian a la carte!! Dmitri you're mad.

A real all rounder with plenty to do at the hotel (try the parasailing - fantastic!) and the bus stop right outside if you want to go and explore further a field.

Just wish we'd stayed longer. As Arnie would say "we'll be back!"

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J00ls9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,685 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Apologies long review! We have just returned on Sunday from this fabulous hotel. To say we were excited about going was an understatement, we actually met on the island working as reps 9yrs ago and decided to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary out there. This hotel exceeded all expectations but the first choice staff and cabin crew would benefit from a customer service course.

As the title says wow wow wow this hotel is FAB, i simply can not praise every single staff member enough for the outstanding work they do, from reception to maids to gardners and waiter and waitresses. Gold star to all of you. We stayed in room 361 which was a refurb room, i did email the hotel,prior asking for this and as anniversary guests we also got a bottle of fizz and fruit in our room,the room was spotless throughout, our maid did a grand job, thank you.
The food in all the restaurants was superb, as a fussy eater I can be picky but no not here, found ourselves having 2&3 courses at brekkie and dinner, lunch was a trip to the beach bar or manolis bar for amazing pizza. Drinks were free flowing for 10 days and it's true you help yourselves to wine from the fridges and the mojitos on tap were delightful, slush drinks are from the beach bar only. We ate in all the restaurants except the fish a la carte and I think the Greek was our fave.
The pools and beach were spotless, we mainly used the lively main pool in front of disco Dionysus although kids club activities also visit here in the afternoon but hey it's a lively pool, pool towels can be changed every day at manolis bar, we never struggled for a sunbed.

The location is spot on, you can walk into stalis if you turn left out of the hotel or hersonissos turn right, both about 20-25 mins depending on heat! We also used the local buses, bus stop right outside and only 1.60€ each.
Big shout out to Vicky, Chris, pia, robin, Charlotte Liza and amir on the animation team you guys rock. We had such fun with these guys and I'm already missing my twice daily aqua gym and yassou nana dance. They work their socks off day and night to ensure you have a fab holiday and honestly do not fail. Their shows are wicked and they are always their to have a boogie in disco Dionissos after, mama Mia was my fave.

All in all one if the best holidays we have had, nana beach certainly has it all, quiet, lively, amazing food, drink and entertainment to suit everyone.

Thank you nana beach, you were just the tonic we needed and can't wait to come back, keep up the excellent work And hope to see you real soon.
Yassou nana
Lucie and mark xx

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank LandMBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Kalimera dear Lucie,
kalimera dear Marc,

Thank you so much for choosing Nana Beach for your anniversary and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are absolutely delighted to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that we even exceeded your expectations. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and really nice to see, that you also felt this. Your big praise for the whole team of Nana Beach is a very high motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

For us, it was a great pleasure to welcome you and we can't wait to see you again!

With sunny regards and all our best wishes,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We've just returned from Nana Beach & I have to say it's been very, very, good.
The positives - well laid out so you are never too far from a pool if that's your scene. Plenty of sun beds. They have made good use of the space available so you can always get a sun bed at any time of the day (apart from the pool areas). You could get a sun bed on the beach as late as 9.30am. The 'harbour' walls ensure you have placid sea to swim in at all times and if you like snorkelling it's like being in an aquarium. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It's an easy 20 minute stroll into Stallis if you fancy shopping or a change of scene.
The negatives? The buffet is a bit dull. We found some nights to be very good but others dull as plain rice. This is highly subjective but we found there was very little change night to night.
The quiet area are rooms 600 to 900 and I recommend you ask for one of these and specify an upstairs i.e. 1st floor room as the pipe work from upstairs rooms goes past the ground floor rooms quite noisily and will wake you up if you are not heavy sleepers.
Whilst 43% of the bed space is allegedly reserved for Brits, this feels like a German/Russian hotel so if you like to meet & greet other Brits it may not be the place for you. That said, it is the only place I've visited in the med where I've thought 'I could see myself coming back here'. I would definitely recommend it if you have a young family.
Lastly, a really nice little touch - if you do have a young family you can take a bottle of wine back to your room while the kiddies go to sleep. Not seen that before from an all inclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DevonThunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Devon,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a nice trip home.

We are very pleased to see, how much you appreciate our services and the shape of our hotel, which is like a "Cretan village", but with more pools. Indeed we have plenty of sunchairs everywhere, so luckywise there is never a fight for it and reservation is not needed. Thank you also very much for your small remark, which we will follow with pleasure, as the satisfacion of our guests is our highest aim.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you decide to come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have just returned from two weeks with my three children aged 13 and 11. Everything was excellent with one exception. You have to pay for wifi, and although I could have lived without it, my daughters would be committing social suicide if they were unable to access social networks for two weeks. Wifi was expensive and so slow that a carrier pigeon would probably have been just as effective. I think it's unacceptable not to provide free wifi and to make guests pay through the nose for it - at least Dick Turpin had the good grace to wear a mask.

That's the only reason I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoShow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Concerning the WiFi please allow us to add, that in no hotel drescription of the tour operators it's mentioned, that it's for free. Also on our website we clearly inform, that WiFi is against charge. So nothing else can be expected. If you like to come to Nana Beach again, we recommend to check international internet packages with your mobile provider in advance in order to save money.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you decide to return to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I returned from a two-week stay at Nana Beach in late June, early July. This was our first time at an all-inclusive hotel in Greece and we found that it compares favourably with some of the very best all-inclusives in Turkey.

We arrived, together with about 10 other couples and families, around 1am after our flight from Manchester was delayed two hours by the French Air Traffic Controllers' one-day strike. As a result, check-in took longer than expected as there was only one receptionist on duty. There was no proper food or drink available at that late hour, but staff had prepared a plate of bread, cheese, ham and salad, and there were soft drinks and beer on tap to tide us over until morning. We were allocated a room near the main bar and gym, which was very convenient. The room itself was clean and well furbished, with a very comfortable bed and excellent shower room. The air conditioning was quiet and efficient, coping well with the very high temperatures on our first few days.

The layout of the resort is attractive and resembles a Greek village. Most of the rooms are in relatively small, two-storey buildings. This was a very welcome change from the multi-storey residential complexes that are typical of many hotels. The clientele at that time of year were mainly couples and those with small children. The majority seemed to be English, though there were also sizeable numbers of Dutch, Germans and Russians.

The pools are nice enough but rather small, and quite busy. The main pool also suffers (for us) from the loud music being played there much of the time. The main sandy beach is a reasonable size, relatively quiet and not too crowded. However, we very soon discovered the tranquil delight of the individual raised platforms further along the shore. These were spacious, with excellent loungers and shades, and were ideal for those who prefer a quiet time reading or taking in the view. It was just a few steps down to the rocks and sea for a swim in the crystal clear water (perfect for snorkelling). We spent most of our days there. Thankfully (and surprisingly) people were generally very good about heeding the notices to refrain from reserving sun loungers, and we were always able to find a good free spot without difficulty.

Perhaps the best thing about the hotel for us was the fantastic range and quality of food in the main restaurant (particularly at dinner). The vegetarian options were simply outstanding and absolutely the best veggie food we have ever found at a holiday hotel anywhere. In fact the main restaurant was so good that we did not bother with the a la carte restaurants (though we were tempted by the Italian one).

The staff throughout the hotel were very polite, friendly and efficient, but we found it best to help ourselves to beer or wine in the restaurant, and to queue at the bars for drinks in the evenings (never for very long). The range and quality of drinks, including spirits and cocktails, was excellent.

We had just a very few niggles about Nana Beach. Packed lunches can be ordered when going out for the day, but these are very basic. Wifi is available (and worked in our room) but is not free (e.g., 10 Euros for 200 minutes). Also the Wifi service is rather poor, especially in the evening when it can be very difficult to establish a connection. The rooms have safes, but you have to pay for a key (3 Euros per day I think). We also found it disappointing that bottled water is not freely available around the site as it is in many other all-inclusives. Bottles of water can be bought from the hotel's mini market, but this means carrying cash around, which is not always convenient.

We went on three excursions during our stay. The visit to Knossos and Heraklion was brilliant, despite the extraordinary temperatures on the day. Heraklion Archaeological Museum is simply fantastic. We were totally blown away - so much so that we made a special trip into Heraklion later in our stay to visit the museum again! Our second excurson was a day-trip by fast catamaran to Santorini - an absolutely amazing place, but a one-day excursion is just not long enough and it was all a bit rushed. We have resolved to return there for a holiday one year. Our final excursion was a walk of the Samaria Gorge in the west of Crete. This involved catching the coach at 05.10, followed by a four-hour drive to the gorge. The walk itself took us nearly six hours. After being ferried by boat back to the coach (about 45 mins), we then had the four-hour return drive to the hotel, arriving back just before midnight. Not something I'd want to repeat but Samaria Gorge is absolutely stunning and well worth the effort.

Overall, we loved Nana Beach (and Crete), would highly recommend it, and would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank you very much for making Nana Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a nice flight home.

We are very pleased to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Your detailled review describes our "Cretan village " quiet well and your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

Thank you also for informing us about your "niggles" and be sure, that we will follow them up. Please allow us to add, that on our website and also in the hotel description of the touroperators it's mentioned, that WiFi and safe deposit box are against charge and that in our rooms we have fridges. The fridges can be stocked from the guests (even with the free wine bottles from the main restaurant), but they are no minibars. Upon arrival, of course and with pleasure we provide water as an addional service.

It was a bis pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again, if one day you decide to come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We took our 12 year old grand daughter to the Nana Beach and cannot praise it enough.
our room, with a large double bed and a proper single bed was lovely, with views from the balcony towards the swimming pool, sea and gardens. Lovely and clean, maintained well throughout our stay. The food at the Hotel in the main restaurant was always hot, very fresh and a wonderful choice, for all meals. We went to the Greek and Italian Restaurants which were also excellent. I have to praise all the staff at the Hotel, but I think the animation team deserve a big thank you, they work so hard to make sure everybody are happy.
We have taken our grand daughter away for four years now, and have to say this is the best Hotel we have taken her to. She thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, with choice of pools or sea side. My only gripe would be having to pay for WiFi, but hey, that is a small quibble and did not deter us having a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: We had room 975, in the quieter area of the Hotel. The rooms are spread around a very large area, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloria1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Gloria,

Thank you very much for choosing Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate you room, the cleanliness, the food, our services and the efforts of our animation team. Your praise for the whole team is a high motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests!

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you decide to return to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Instead of repeating all the positive features already mentioned several times in the other reviews, I would like to point out a couple of minor issues that could be improved to make the resort even better.

Even though the hotel informs each guest that reserving sun-beds is not allowed, there is still a lot of guests that does this. I saw one guy coming to the pool at 6.30 in the morning to reserve 14 beds! There are a lot of beds/chairs available, but in the afternoon there will be times when all chairs around the pools are taken. The hotel could do something to enforce that this rule they have is actually followed! For example, they could remove the towels from chairs that are clearly not being used.

We travelled with our son that is highly allergy to eggs and nuts. There are a bunch of safe options available at the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But for some dishes it's not clear if they might contain traces of eggs/nuts. This is especially for the deserts. To help guests that have allergies it would be great if the restaurants would have a folder that would have allergy information for each dish they have. For example if they contain milk, gluten eggs, nuts, soy etc.

We had a wonderful week at Nana Beach, and we would love to come back one day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jan,

Thank you very much for choosing Nana Beach and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Also your suggestions found our full attention and we are really thankful for them.

In Nana Beach, we have far more sunbeds than beds in our rooms, so we are never short in sunbeds and shades. Reservation absolutely is not needed. Until now, our guests did not make us collect towels and private items from the sunbeds and we hope it remains like this. Anyhow we will have an eye on it.

We pay a special attention for guests with food allergies, meanwhile we are informed about it. Our maitre and the kitchen chief with pleasure explain the buffet items to our guests with allergies, diabetes, etc. and are always willing to assist in case of doubts or questions. As our dishes in the restaurants change very often, an information folder in our opinion would not be enough. If you come next time, please let us know and with pleasure our team will help you to find safe food for your son or even prepare something especially for him!

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Arminda Hotel and SPA
#23 of 172 in Hersonissos
540 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#26 of 172 in Hersonissos
786 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £115 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing