We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family favourite”
Review of Nana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nana Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We went to Nana Beach in 2008 and promised our sons that we would return one day.

5 years later we kept to our promise and had another wonderful time with our 3 children.

Food - excellent choices in the Athina Restaurant for all meals, and plenty of staff on hand to guide you to a clean table as soon as you enter.

Pools - plenty to choose from, a fantastic toddler fun pool, other bigger pools including one that had steps down to the beach. Each pool also had its own food & drinks bar.

Rooms - basic but clean and a good size. My only request would be to have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. Nana Beach do have family rooms that sleep 5 but unfortunately you cannot book these through Thomson and thats a real shame. We had to book 2 rooms, but were very happy to discover that they were interconnecting when we arrived.

Entertainment - Great staff providing the evening entertainment, and plenty of activities to do if you want during the day.

We would love to return again and again, absolutely love Nana Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PottyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Potty,

Thank you very much for returning to Nana Beach after all these years and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving all the best to our guests.

We also understand, that you would like to have a kettle in the room. Unfortunately for safety reasons we are not allowed to provide them, not even on request. We ask you kindly for your comprension.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you again in our "Cretan village" and we hope to see you again, whenever you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    420
    161
    24
    13
See reviews for
832
483
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from a fantastic family holiday at Nana Beach resort Hersonissos in Crete. I travelled with my wife and 2 young children, my brother and his wife and my Mum and Dad. Having not stayed all inclusive anywhere before it was a new experience but an immensely enjoyable one. After a 30 min transfer from the airport we were greeted by a friendly porter who took our bags from us while we checked in. We were then informed by the lady on reception that we had been upgraded to the new Waterside Apartments. The room was modern clean and ideal for us with a Double bed, single bed for our eldest and a cot for our youngest. It had fantastic sea views and a large balcony which was great for sitting out in the evening with a bottle of wine. We had to be moved later in our holiday to a different room in the same apartments after the reservation manager admitted to making an error with our booking. This was not a problem though as they had been kind enough to upgrade us in the first place. We were complimented with a basket of fruit and bottle of wine which I thought was a lovely touch.
The restaurants had plenty of variety, but we found it difficult to satisfy our children. This is not a black mark against the hotel in any way as our children are very picky eaters!!
Several pools on site depending on how relaxed an atmosphere you want, including a kids pool with slide and water park. You have to be up early to get a sunbed however. Despite signs around the pool not to reserve them, this was obviously just ignored as walking to breakfast at 8.30am on the 1st day, and there were none left!! There is also a private beach where watersports run from. My wife and I tried the jet skiing which is ran from the beach at Stalis but a speedboat takes you there from the hotel.
The reps did a good job especially with the kids. Our children loved the little dance they all do at 10 o clock in the morning round the pool.
In short a fantastic holiday in a spotless hotel where nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were always polite and friendly. Would highly recommend and would definitely consider a return visit.

Thank you to all at Nana Beach!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Waterside Apartments which were modern, spotlessly clean with great sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michris2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate the small surprise we gave you upon arrival. Your kind words for the whole team of Nana Beach are a high motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever your come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We all had a brilliant holiday at nana beach! The hotel is beautiful with lots of lovely scenery!
The staff are great and will do anything for you!
Lots of activities to take part in with the animation staff, they also do shows at night the best shoes are definitely when they do the comedy ones and get the guests up on stage- they should do more of them as they are the best!
The food was great lots of variety and a number of restaurants you can cook in also
Would definitly return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holiday17579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you appreciate especially our services, the food and the entertainment. With pleasure we will forward your kind words as an additional motivation to our team.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

if you have been to turkey this is not 5 star - it is a mixed bag. the positives the rooms are nice and beds v comfy but bathroom was tired and bath not clean. water pressure for a shower very poor. also you had to specifically ask for shampoo/shower gel refills etc. food was generally pretty good and with fewer russians than we encountered in Turkey the buffets were more relaxed and pleasant atmosphere. the staff in general were very nice - especially Thomas in the Thalassa beach front restaurant and his team, Maria, Dimitris, Vaso there. the panorama bar is excellent nice views and atmosphere. the climate is very pleasant we had 35-40 degrees for 2 weeks but a pleasant breeze to keep things under control.it is comfortable to sit out in light long trousers in the evening. the grounds and sea front terraces are excellent for sunbathing/relaxing. main pool a bit manic and seawater was the least attractive for us.
negatives - main gripe was water polo and football was only over 18 - not mentioned in brochures and on german noticeboards was from 16. meant my youngest at 2 months shy of 16 could not play with the rest of us - very frustrating and unfair especially since he had played first 3 days when they needed the numbers. the hotel suggested teen club but that was all young teen german girls doing face and body painting run by a girl speaking just german. some of the reception staff and the sous chef at the main restaurant were less than helpful or polite. just a couple on reception but every request such as for a taxi or to fix a dripping aircon unit seemed too much trouble for them. one woman i was speaking to at reception actually picked up the phone in the middle of our conversation and dealt with that for the next 7 minutes. despite emailing ahead the sous chef wasnt really interested in my sons serious food allergy - yet Thomas was exceptionally helpful.
the late night dancing bar is an overexaggeration. populated mostly by the animation team who have to be there, it shuts at midnight when they can go and there is little disco atmosphere.
we visited a small village called koutouloufari - a 7 euro taxi ride - with some nice little shops and plenty of attractive tavernas.
we had a good time but the 5 star rating is not quite justified.

Room Tip: either down by the adult pool 800-900s or where we were overlooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrnormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and appreciate especially the friendlyness of our team. Your kind words are a high motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

Also the weaker points of your review found our attention and with pleasure we will work on them. Thank you very much for letting us know!

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First impression of the hotel was pleasing. I found the receptionist not the most happiest of people and room 216 disappointing and I wasn't aware sea view meant if you can turn your head to the right and see the sea that was enough. I now know it's called sea front.
The room was bland in colour ,the fridge broken but repaired very quickly, air con didn't rotate but we just put up with it. Shower pressure poor at busy times,and once just enough water to trickle out.We didn't complain as its not our way. We had single beds pushed together but at least they was comfortable.
The food was good, plenty of choice but very busy at times. We preferred to eat later as it wasn't as manic. Pool area looked lovely but towels as usual had been placed to save the beds. The best part for us was the beach area, the sea was fab, you could snorkel safely or float away on your lilo.
You could always find a quiet spot with sunbeds available at any time along the sea front. The massage on the beach at 10e for 10 mins by maria or eirini was heavenly and the spa area was lovely.
The hotel is in a good location, to the left of the hotel after a 20 min walk is the village stalis. To the right you can walk along the road to hernoniss around 30-40 mins or walk along the sea edge.
For us the holiday was good and we met some fantastic people who worked there but if you are used to the touches that greco hotels give this hotel may not be for you. I like to dress up in the evening as its part of my holiday, I did feel over dressed at times.
The wifi wasn't free but this didn't bother me as it was still cheaper to buy and facetime back home than use the phone. The ala carte Italian meal was lovely, our daughter celebrated her 13th birthday there and was treated fabulously by the brilliant warm and friendly staff ioanna, efi and amalia.
I'd say this hotel is more for families, we took a chance of going to a hotel based on reviews instead of going for what we're used to. Overall a good holiday but missed the extra touches.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaycee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Jaycee,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays in our family friendly "Cretan village" and that you appreciate the small surprise we arranged with pleasure for the birthday of your daughter. We are also very thankful for your remarks, as they help us to improve.

We would have appreciated if you would have informed us already during your stay about the details of your room. We would not have seen this as a "complaint" - it's more about giving us the chance to fix things and giving yourself the chance for a perfect holiday. Please be sure that we will recheck your room, because the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. So if one day you decide to come back to Nana Beach and there is anything what we can do for you - please don't hesitate to let us know and with pleasure we will do whatever we can.

Please allow ud to add, that many guests like Nana Beach especially because of its size, the village style and the many facilities we offer for all needs. But of course we also accept your opinion.

Dear Jaycee, for us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we would really be happy to see you again, whenever you come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Nana Beach this July. Traveled with my husband and 9 year old daughter for 2 weeks. Food was good but after 2 weeks anything can get a bit repetitive but a good variety and the themed restaurants were worth a try. I wasnt too keen on the fish one but the greek and italian were nice and made a change from the buffet restaurants.

We took a nice walk into stalis on a few occasions, nice to get a change of scenery. Wasnt too keen on the evening entertainment although there were a couple of nights that we really enjoyed. Hard working animation team, in particular Vicki, who we had a few chats with and was really nice and very helpful with my husbands ice bucket challenge, not everyone will know what that is.

We found all the nana beach staff to be very polite and helpful, especially when my daughter left her treasured toy in the hotel and they found it for us and helped get it back to us in the UK, we were very grateful.

Absolutely loved the fact that you got taken to your room by a lovely man in a very large golf cart and were also picked up when we were going home so there is no lugging your cases up and down the resort at all hours looking for your room.

the resort itself is huge and very well kept. everything was clean and just beautiful. Our room was a sea view room, not directly on the front, it was facing the sea around the varanda pool. The only complaint about the room was that there was no tea or coffee making facilities but we managed ok with all the bars and restaurants, you could usually get a coffee at most times of the day or night and that maybe it would be nice if the fridges were restocked with bottled water during your stay, we just kept refilling ours from the water machines in the restaurant and cafe.

Free wi-fi would have been a bonus, even if it was only in certain areas.

Not much else to say, didnt go on the beach much as we made so many friends that we stayed around the pool with the swim up bar most of the time. We had a lovely holiday and will definitely be returning to Nana Beach, perfect holiday and i wish we were still there now!

Room Tip: we were in room 353, sea view near the varanda pool. i requested a refurbished room and it looked li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacbob102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Nana Beach from 27th July to 5th August, as a group of 3 adults. It's a lovely hotel and we had a relaxing holiday.

Rooms
We had a lovely sea view. Room was spacious with a double bed, single bed and camp bed; loads of wardrobe space and a large bathroom. Fridge with water on arrival. Hair dryer in bathroom. Our room was spotlessly clean throughout our stay and with new furniture and a modern television although we didn't even switch it on.
Our room was second floor in a block of 6 up two flights of steps - definitely request ground floor if you have mobility issues. Even though we were on the noisier side of the complex and right next to the children's pool it was very quiet in the room.

Pools/beach
Wow what a choice! You could choose a different pool every day of the holiday! We loved the sunbathing terraces right by the sea and the pool by the veranda bar. There really is no need to reserve sunbeds at this hotel although people do. Pool towels are provided and can be changed at the pool bars. The beach was ok, not great, just ok. The adult only pool was quiet for a relaxing swim.

Food
We only ate at the buffet restaurants so I can't comment on the a la cartes. Great choice - there was a vegan in our group who always found plenty to eat. You can help yourself to a bottle of wine from the fridge. We ate breakfast everyday at the Thalassa restaurant right by the beach - beautiful. You can get omelettes and crepes made for you. Lunch at main pool or main restaurant and evening at the main restaurant. The staff are so friendly and helpful and work so hard in all of the restaurants.

Entertainment
The animation team work hard all day and the children love them. The evening entertainment was not to my taste at all - if you like to see people mining to shows and films you"ll love it! Great fireworks though! After the show the animation team run the disco in the Dionyssis bar.

Spa
During our stay we had several treatments and these were great. Would definitely recommend!

Hersonissos
7 euros by taxi. Lots of shops, restaurants, bars, small harbour. We only visited one evening and it was very busy and lively.

On two evenings we visited the lovely villages up the hill from the resort - Koutouloufari and Piskipiano - beautiful villages with tavernas with twinkly roof terraces and interesting shops.

It's hard to criticise Nana Beach it really does have something for everyone and your holiday can be as lively or quiet as you like. The only (very minor) downsides for us were the adult only pool which we thought was disappointing as it seemed neglected compared to the rest of the complex. Secondly, there is certainly no shortage of bars for a cooling drink during the day but they are all in the same place! There is only one bar serving the whole of the right hand side of the hotel ie none at the adult pool or serving the sunbathing terraces by the sea. One of the things that struck us was the rudeness and impoliteness of other guests - but that's not the hotel's fault.

All hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would return. Thanks for a great holiday!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank polly246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NanaBeach H, Manager at Nana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Nana Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We highly appreciate your detailled review, as it describes our "Cretan village" in a very helpful way for everybody, who does not know our hotel yet. It is really nice to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and how much you appreciate our services and all the different facilities we have. Thank you also very much for your kind suggestions, which with pleasure we will follow up, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

It was a very big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Nana Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,745 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
620 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
44.3 mi away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nana Beach Hotel

Property: Nana Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 20, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nana Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive hotel and bungalow complex, built in a magnificent spot of Crete, ideal for those seeking both, the ultimate pleasures of an all inclusive resort and the tranquility of an unforgettable walk through its extensive landscaped gardens, where the word “garden” meets it’s true meaning!!!The hotel is built in a traditional architectural style of the island, consisting of low level buildings, with superb views of the Cretan sea.Nana Beach Hotel is perfectly situated directly on the sea on the northern coast of Crete, 25 km from Heraklion international airport, between the lively towns of Chersonissos (in 1.5 km), Stalis (in 1 km) and Malia (in 5 km). Some of the most famous attractions of the island are within a short distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Nana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nana Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Nana Beach
Nana Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing