We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel made even better by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Ranked #16 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend spent a week here at the start of May, and had a very nice week. We were greeted warmly at reception when we eventually got there (it's situated above Hersonissos so you are the last drop off on the coach if you are going with Thomson). We were shown to our room, which was adequate with two beds, a bathroom and a small kitchen area. When we booked, we knew we were going out of season, and knowing that the sun isnt always shining, I'm amazed to see reviews on here criticising the warmth of the water. All of Greece and its islands use solar panels so if the sun isn't out and it rains, dont expect hot water! This is the same with all hotels on the islands and something which has never bothered me, but annoys me to see when people slate a hotel for not making their water warmer (like they have control over the weather on your holiday?!).

Moving onto the grounds; there are two swimming pools which are both ample sizes, a ping pong table, waterslides, tennis court and a pool table, all of which can be played whenever you feel like. The bar is well stocked, with Eric being an exceptionally nice guy who is more than accomdating should you have any questions regarding your holiday. The restuarant food is fine, though you may find the more local tavernas in the neighbouring villages are slightly better priced and have a much more traditional greek feel to them. The walk up to them is easy, but may require a torch if you come back after sunset due to a lack of streetlights.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our trip here and will be back if we ever decided to go to crete again.

Room Tip: Rooms close to bar are noisy and the sun comes through the curtains in the morning so attempt to ask...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MandAHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Bellos Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a 1 bed apartment in the first week of May which was adequate in terms of space, it was clean and comfortable for 2, with enough storage and basic equipment. Like others we found the hot water a bit random and the pillows hard but it wasn't a problem for us. No TV or sound system in the apartment although there was a radio above the bed, I took my tablet so was able to keep up with the news as there is wi-fi.
The owners and staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and the many shared areas were well kept.
We hired a car so were able so shop at Lidls which was a few miles away.

Good places to visit are Aqua World in Hersonissos where you can touch reptiles if you feel inclined! It's small but well run and is involved in animal rescue, unfortunately we saw many stray cats and dogs around but not at the resort.( I was disappointed to see several fur outlets around the area.) Also The Minoan Palace at Knossos although it was busy there, and Spinalonga - a small island with ruins and which once housed a leper colony.

The resort is probably more suitable for couples and families than young singles, although everyone seemed to be getting on well, there were several different nationalities, the English seemed to be in the minority when we were there.

Room Tip: Probably better to have a one bed apartment if you like space or there are more than 2.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carole89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The rooms are very small and standard basic greek style on the inside.But they are clean and only really used as a base to change and sleep so were adequate.
The grounds are lovely.Lots of space around the pool on grass.You collect your own sun beds from a stack of them in the morning and can put them where you choose.No having to get up early to reserve them.There is another pool with two slides,good for the kids where the sun beds do quickly get taken but it does not open until 10 am so again you do not have to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve.
The bar area is pleasant and we had a few good meals in the hotel restaurant .I used the small gym a few times but had to pay 6 euros each time.
The hotel is up a hill with a large spar supermarket at the bottom of the hill where we purchased all our supplies and got a taxi back to the hotel for 7 euros but things were a lot cheaper and far more choice than the shop next to the apartments . A walk further up the hill takes you to two villages Piscopiano and Koultoukafari (not sure of the spelling!) Here are a selection of bars and tavernas. Some with lovely views down to Hersonnisos.Old Hersonnisos is worth a visit for the greek night which was on Monday when we were there.I advise a taxi tho as it is a very long walk.
We prefered to eat in the villages rather than in Hersonnisos which was noisy and busy along the main road with all the traffic.
Hersonnisos itself does not have much of a beach but the local bus stop is near the spar at the bottom of the hill (10-15 min walk) A bus to the lovely beach at Stalis the next resort is 1 euro 60 each and takes around 10-15 mins to get there.
THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GO IF YOU WILL BE PUSHING A BUGGY,WHEELCHAIR OR ARE NOT GOOD ON YOUR FEET.OTHERWISE IT IS FINE.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here in June 13,had a one bed apartment for three, no room for clothes it was very small no storage, but we were only here for a week. The resort is very pretty and was clean with room to lie on sun beds not feel too squashed, owners and staff were friendly .Very steep entrance from road to reception felt unsafe walking down it , if u have mobility problems it may be a problem. Had a weekly BBQ with plenty of food this was enjoyable

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here last year..yeah I know it taken a year 2 write review...only just become aware of tripadvisor lol...fantastic stay...we were the last people 2 be there b4 end of the season. Mr bellos and Eric made us feel like family. Mr bellos made a marvelous spread 4 us one evening and we sat and shared a meal with himself, Eric and close friends of Mr bellos. The effort that was put into our stay was outstanding. My youngest at the time who was 6 still goes on about Eric and wants 2 go back 2 see him. This was the best holiday we have had...we have even been to Disneyland orlando but this holiday was the best by far myself and my family have been on. If a cosy family orientated holiday is what u are looking for I would say this is the ideal one. Thank you for such an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday here , I must say we had a fantastic time , the staff all nice pools good an my son loved the slides, food was nice but not much choice in morning an afternoon upstairs in the eve had more choice. If you don't like walking its not for you it's a 10-15min walk up or down hill to village an town. All public areas were really nice an kept clean, what lets this hotel down is the very tired apartments , we had a broken chair,broken lights an the kitchen was not really big enough to use I managed to do a breakfast , the balcony was tiny but worst was the bathroom the bath was half the size of a bath even to small to stand an shower in (when it worked) an the bath was very rough an old with nasty black all round the taps an tiles an after speaking to others there's were the same . I would definitely return if the rooms were updated .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank voncallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

bit of a shock on arrival £105 to pay for the safe and air con, would like to have known about that be for. never was able to get a hot shower. however a family run apart hotel, friendly staff, and clean apartment. the cooker did blow up, but was fixed straight away.

Room Tip: dont go down on the ground floor, you can hear everyone above you
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.7 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#34 of 171 in Hersonissos
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#12 of 171 in Hersonissos
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellos Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellos Hotel Apartments

Address: Limenas Hersonisou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#16 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £14 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bellos Hotel Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellos Hotel & Apartments is located in a prime position in Hersonissos Village of Crete. This 3 Star Hotel makes a great base for everyone with 72 rooms in two different types split between five blocks for all your needs. The resort operates more than 25 years in the Greek touristic industry. Bellos Hotel has the main advantage of its reputation for incomparable hospitality and warm, friendly service to all its guests. The hotel stands successfully compatible to meet all guests’ satisfaction, to create a promising, ideal and impeccable environment, a hospitable, attentive service and a relaxed, memorable holiday. From the first moment in the hotel, it is proven that it is the perfect choice for holidays in Crete. Just a 15-minute walk from Hersonissos Beach and 10-minute walk from Hersonissos center, Bellos Hotel offers many facilities such as water slides, football and tennis court. The hotel is only a 10-minute walk from scenic Piskopiano village that has taverns and shops with local products. The Resort is reserved to integrate into the town’s natural environment and combines the relaxation offered by the lush vegetation that is surrounded by, the unique sea and mountain view and in addition, the excitement to cruise along the numerous shops and bars, the glittering night life and the beaches. On the top floor of the main building, Bellos Hotel has its Restaurant with Cretan and Mediterranean cuisine for a delightful gastronomic journey. In addition, operates in Self-Catering, Bed & Breakfast and Half Board (Breakfast & Dinner) base. Breakfast with delicacies is served daily. Guests can enjoy drinks, cocktails and snacks from the pool bar around the two swimming pools and the sun terrace. An on-site shop stocks a good selection of everyday products and gifts. One unique experience in Bellos Hotel is the Barbeque night which occurs once every week with Greek music, Greek dancers and plenty food choices. To complete the fun, many other events also happen in the hotel every week such as Karaoke night, Quiz night and Cocktail night. Guests at Bellos Hotel have many wellness options such as a well-equipped gym, a sauna and a steam bath. A playground and two children’s pools are available for younger guests. The resort has also billiards, darts, board games and table tennis. Free Wi-Fi access is offered in public areas and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellos Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellos Apartments Hersonissos
Bellos Apartments Hotel
Bellos Hotel Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing