We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traditional seaside tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Akrogiali

Akrogiali
Ranked #16 of 215 Restaurants in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“traditional seaside tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

nice seafood.very friendly service.reasonable price.sea front.What else do you need to enjoy your ouzo with fresh fish?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DIMIKOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    59
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Found this cafe on out first afternoon in Hersonissos. Before season started and not busy. We were nicely welcomed in, not anything remarkable about food or decor, but satisfied. Nice breeze blowing off water. Too windy and cool to have the plastic curtains up.
Food fare, price goes along w the setting I believe. (Ie. higher on the water, less in the hills such as Koutouloufari). 45€ I believe for 2 adults/2 kids - 1 beer. Lunch time.
Introduced to Raki here and yogurt w cherries- complements from the house. Nice intro to Hersonissos and the area.

Steps next to it lead down to a rocky beach, boys had a nice time playing for a good hour+.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nolenurse2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
“ΠΟΙΟΤΗΤΑ ΣΤΟ ΦΑΓΗΤΟ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The best restorant in creta
Very very good servis and people also very good
food is exelent and frech.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“How to Spend a Relaxing Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Enjoy the gentle breezes off the Sea while indulging in a beautiful Greek Salad. The staff here loved that we lingered over an extra glass of vino. Our friendly servers here also brought us a complimentary plate of fresh fruit and topped up our vino....nice

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Given dangerous advice....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Having been guided by previous reviews, my wife and I visited this taverna and opted for the mussels and a seafood pasta. Contrary to other peoples experience, ours was a disaster. The place was half full, so not so busy. Two waiters and a waitress should have had no problem. However, one guy spent most of his time talking to passing friends, whilst the other guy was happy to watch the girl doing most of it. When one couple complained they had been seated for 15 minutes without being spoken to, they were told ''you were the last ones in, you have to wait your turn''.
Waiting is not a problem for us, the food is more important, and here was the problem. The dish of mussels in tomato sauce arrived with at least a third of the mussel shells closed, and two or three shells open but empty. The seafood pasta consisted mostly of small prawns of the Youngs frozen variety, with a dressing of three fresh prawns and three mussels, two of which were still closed. I complained to the young girl who served us, but she didn't seem to understand, so the guy 'watching' came over. I pointed out the closed shells, and he offered to show me how to open them!! He said in Greece, the shells do not always open, but they are ok to eat as the smell will tell you if they are bad or not!! He refused to do anything regarding our complaint, saying his father, who owned the place, was a fisherman who knew about fish, and that there was nothing wrong here.
Mussels that are open before you cook them, should be discarded. Mussels that are still closed after you cook them, should be discarded. They should NEVER be eaten. They shouldn't even be on the plate. Other people seem to have had a different experience to us, fair enough. However, we certainly won't return. There are other places where we are more confident in the seafood being served. For those who do want to risk it, the prices seemed reasonable, the service is relaxed, and it's right by the sea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiwths, Ιδιοκτήτης at Akrogiali, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We got very sad from your criticism and we would like to reply to your article.

First of all, we are sorry for not achieving to satisfy your expectations about our services.
Moreover,we would like to ensure you that the advise about the mussels it was not just a theory or our personal opinion but its the result of sientific research by fisheries biologists (Nick Ruello)

pls check http://www.springbayseafoods.com.au/media/press-releases/Blue%20mussels%20-%20an%20open%20and%20shut%20case.pdf

Thank you for reading our reply
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akrogiali also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Akrogiali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing