We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sosos - CLOSED

Sosos
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

One of our best meals on Crete, at very moderate prices, in a lovely place. All the best to Nikos, the owner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olga_from_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The real Greece!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Within 20 minutes of leaving Heraklion airport we got at Sosos and felt that we had truly arrived in Greece. The village itself is beautiful with overhanging trees and an old fountain in the centre. I had booked with Nikos as I knew we were arriving late. He was looking out for us even though the restaurant was full with a large party of locals, men and boys one side and ladies and girls on the other. We were made to feel very welcome and we shared their food which was faultless.Unfortunately we were moving on down to the south east for our holiday so called on the way back for a short time we would however truly return to Greece just to go back to Nikos restaurant! It is truly worth making the journey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly Owners and Fantastic Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family and I visited Sosos twice during our stay at Piskopiano. Both times were on the Greek Night, which is a Monday in the village, an evening not to be missed. We had a great time and were made to feel very welcome by the owner Nikos and his sister. Both times we ordered meze and were impressed by the portion size and the quality of the food. My two children 8 and 5 loved the food too and, the atmosphere of the village. Nikos took the time to chat to us at the end of the night and on our second visit he bought the children a toy. I would definitely recommend trying this place out. Thanks Niko for a lovely evening :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MSLJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Monday night - is Greek night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The food here is great value for money and tasty! I had the pork belly - which was large but not too fatty at all - 6 euros I think - plenty of free bread n dips - 5 euros for some nice wine. Total bill for 2 was under 30 euros and this includes 2 lots of wine and a cold beer.

Monday night is Greek night in the square (more like a circle). Hours of singing by a local small band. Greek dancers. Bit of plate smashing! Getting people to dance - if they want to - Greek style.

This Tavern is 5 star for value - good quality food at less then local prices. BUT you must go on a Monday - it's great fun on top. We had a great table for the whole evening.

Its a small place - have to look for the sosos name which is small in the wooden sign above the entrance to the inside of the tavern.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent, joyfull, tastefull Greek food if you taste it once you will come back everyday. Thanks Nikos

Helpful?
2 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sosos also viewed

Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Koutouloufari, Hersonissos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing