We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best pubs in Hersonissos, highly recommended.”
Review of White Lion

White Lion
Ranked #18 of 226 Restaurants in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The first and only gastropub in Hersonissos serving fresh, tasty and original food at sensible prices. We also offer a fantastic selection of drinks including our very own signature cocktails, all your favourite beers both bottled and draught, freshly ground coffees and more! Newly refurbished in 2016 come and see for yourselves what we are all about.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the very best pubs in Hersonissos, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Went here the first time to watch a football game, as it has comfortable couches and several screens showing different games. We had cocktails and food which were both excellent, and priced very reasonably. The menu was possibly the best selection we saw in the town, traditional Greek and many other styles in one place. We sometimes struggle to find things we want to eat as we're all vegetarian, but they had lots of different options. We went back a second time and ate different things, and again the food was great. The staff were some of the nicest we encountered in our 10 day trip. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RxOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_hersonisosKostas_P, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for reviewing white lion,
Your comments are well appreciated!
We are glad you liked us and hoping
To get the chance to make it all over again!
Ps:white lion team sent you
The very best wishes for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    218
    72
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Stopped for a drink, returned for a meal”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

In need of a lunchtime drink, was very pleasntly suprised with the welcome, service and popularity so made a concious decision to return the following evening for dinner and we were not disappointed.

Every detail was thought of and catered for. You will not be disappointed and the prices are so reasonable.

Go early to get a table!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_hersonisosKostas_P, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your comments!
We are happy you enjoyed our
Drinks and food....
Hope we see you again!!
Ps:the white lion team sent you
The very best wishes for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We only went in for a coffee so can't comment on the food, but the place itself was clean, the staff helpful and friendly and most importantly the toilets were spotless! If I wanted to eat out then I would not have hesitated to go there as I haveno doubt the kitchen was as clean as the rest of the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dormers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_hersonisosKostas_P, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for
Reviewing white lion!
Your comments are
Well apreciated!
Hope to see you again!
Ps:the white lion team sent you
The very best wishes for 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good food and good prices”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Went here a few times. Had a cracking breakfast and wasnt overly dear either. Fresh food and theres sport on the big screens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_hersonisosKostas_P, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Stuart
Happy new year and all the best for 2014.
Thanks for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time.
We are glad you enjoyed our tasty breakfasts and hope to satisfy you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great quality with extremely friendly staff.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We ate here 3 times over the course of our holiday. Choice was excellent with both plain food and the more exotic. Beer was excellent and cold! Cleanliness 10/10 and the tolilets were exemplary. The staff were extremely attentive and willing to do whatever was required to ensure an enjoyable eating experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_hersonisosKostas_P, Owner at White Lion, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments!
We hope to see you again soon.
Happy New year and best wishes for 2014 from all the White Lion team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Lion also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing