We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel set in nice gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Minos Palace Hotel
Ranked #55 of 173 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks from 6/10/2013 and had an enjoyable stay. Room comfortable , ( had no problem with cleaners , always polite and smiling). Restaurant area excellent with good service . Food , very good with a wide selection to suit most tastes ( really good salads , pasta dishes , fish and most meats , nice veg , not forgetting the extremely good desserts) , it is true that there is a Greek theme to the food , but hey what else would you expect , you are in Crete after all. Public areas were tidy and clean. We loved the pool , swam most days and never failed to find unoccupied loungers around the pool to just chill out. Pool bar was okay , had the occasional coffee and cake oe cariff of wine ( reds the best). Hotel entertainment .......in the day it was fine , played the odd game of football , table tennis and enjoyed playing volley ball most days.
The hotel is well situated just a few mins outside town , and although it has been mentioned that it's a steep walk down to the town/beach , we had no problem and found it quite easy ( maybe people just don.t walk anymore). You can catch a bus to either Heraklion , Ag Nik or other towns from the bus stop 5-10 mins from the hotel. You can also walk to the smaller quainter villages above Hersonissis and have a beer or wine in one of the many tavernas found there. Our friends are 69 and 74 and they had no problem walking to all three villages of Kou. Pisko .Old Her.All in all an ideal base for exploring that part of Crete. Oh and by the way there were quite a number of Germans in the hotel , with many of them going back year after year so they were on first name terms with many of the staff , but we never ever felt that they were given preferential treatment , we were treated very courteously by the staff and made to feel welcome and at home. We found that just by being friendly and relaxed we all got on like one big family ( played games with many Germans and had some great laughs).
Can truly reccomend this Hotel.
PS For a really good couple of hours ( with wine , goodies and dance with a dose of old Crete try the Lychnostatis museum just 10 mins away , we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redimondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

My boyfriend and I are in our early 20s. We stayed here at the start of October and the weather to start with was quite cold, but by the end of our holiday, it was so warm we couldn't leave the hotel. The hotel itself was great. Lovely staff. However it's more catered towards Germans. There were a few bad points to the hotel such as, the cleaner was a nightmare. She'd barge her way into our room in the morning and demand that she'd clean, so we had to leave the room. She'd move all our belongings and at one point threw a towel out we wanted to keep.. odd. The next point is the fact it's catered the Germans. There was ONE channel on the TV in English, that was the world news. Our holiday obviously doesn't revolve around television but in the evening we do watch telly and we couldn't. Another problem is there is no WIFI unless you pay for it and you have to sit in the entrance to use it. The final problem is the food. It's great, although very Greek styled. It has salad, pasta and chips that are mainly english and everything else is more greek meat styled. The problem we had was every tuesday they have a BBQ which you have to pay 18 euros PER PERSON. We walked down the road, (A 5 minute walk) and had a great dinner in a lovely restaurant for half that price. The walk to the beach is down a steep hill but it's not a long walk at all! The shops are a bit of a distance away about a 10-20 minute walk but it's a great walk so it wasn't a problem. It actually took us 3 days to realise there was a street of shops near the waterfront also and a mcdonalds so there is lots of places to go. We highly recommend that if you go with Thomson to go on the Sunshine cruise. It is an amazing trip, really relaxing with lots of swimming and fish! The hotel was simple enough to stay and comfy enough for our stay. We didn't use the pool and everyone just sits round it and stares at you when you swim so we didn't bother. Rosie our Travel Advisor was lovely and if you go with Thomson they make sure you're okay.

Room Tip: Sea view is definitely worth it - room 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A very late review, as we stayed for a week in May 2012. Me and my partner both of us in our 20's, enjoyed our holiday here. It was late may so was just at the beggining of the summer season. Weather was good, warm but not overly hot so we both enjoyed the early summer weather. The hotel pool was great but chilly, but really nice way to keep refreshed from sunbathing. Bar staff were very hospitital and friendly, reception staff were just the typical 'reception staff' , however the resturant manager and his team were FAB! so sad we had to leave as the resturant manager was very friendly and we made our holiday as he welcomed us in every evening and morning, making a conversation every time.
We stayed in a sea view villa, so we had a small garden to ourselves aswell which was so nice. The minor downside to our stay was bed was hard, air condiioning didnt work and bathroom was dated HOWEVER none of this mattered as we had a great base and the room did everything we wanted it to even tho it was dated. We are a couple that making a complaint would have actually runied our holiday so nothing was too bad so left it go and enjoyed just being on holiday :)

The hotel is 5/10 minute walk away from the town, which includes bar/clubs but also small shops and a minimarket which we brought bread ect to make sandwhiches for our days out as we were half board.
Even tho its a short walk away from the town and the next town over is Malia, we never heard any loud music or interrupting drunks. You would never know the next town over is the hot spot for young people to party,party and party!

Great place to stay, beaches not far from this hotel, although we went on a few boat trips to more scenic and small beaches without the crowds.

Room Tip: Sea view Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have recently just come back from a weeks holiday at the King Minos Palace. Overall the hotel is lovely! I would recommend it if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday. The positives of this hotel far out weigh the few negative aspects.

I will begin with the positives; the rooms were very clean and well kept (beds were relatively comfortable). The rooms were cleaned everyday included new bedding and towels each day. The pool area was clean and a relaxing atmosphere to be around. The pool bar serves drinks and food throughout the day - a good choice and excellent staff (George in particular). Breakfast had plenty of choice (contential, cooked & pastries etc). Dinner was a good selection of Greek food (perhaps not child friendly but this didn't affect our party) the staff in the restaurant area are very polite and attentive in particular (Stella). The staff on reception are very friendly and were able to answer any questions we had.

The negatives to this hotel; the plumbing in the bathroom was odd. There was a drain in the middle of the bathroom floor, whilst showering this additional drain foamed up and made the floor wet and dangerous. The only other downside to the King Palace Minos is the entertainment programme. There are a married couple who reside at the hotel called 'Animation'. Both members of staff are a huge disappointment to the hotel and bring the overall feel of the hotel down. The day to day activies were the same each day and the eveing entertainment was not to standard for a 4 star hotel. The Animation team often looked bored and un-interested to the extent where they were yawing during the evening entertainment and looking at their watches for when it was due to end! Such a disapointment.

Overall this hotel was fantastic and I would definetly stay again! (Just be careful if you have mobility problems as the hotel is on a hill with large steps to the entrance - this can be overcome though!)

Room Tip: Room 227 & 228 are on the roof of the hotel and are near no other rooms and provide the biggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahH725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have recently returned from a very relaxing two weeks at the King Minos Palace hotel. The hotel was very good and not too big and the staff could not do enough to help. We had a lovely sea view room (409) which was nice and quiet at night. The main resort is a good 20 minutes walk away which suited us as we do not like it very busy, which the main resort was. We were on a half board basis and found the food good, and could always find something nice to eat out of the large choices available (Mark and Stella in the restaurant were great). We ventured up to the 'villages' where we were recommended to go and had a superb meal on a rooftop terrace restaurant and would recommend taking a taxi there at night (7 euros) and walking through the lovely traditional streets and maybe a nice stroll back!

Not many children there when we were there and not sure this hotel is really geared for them either.

The pool was very good and kept nice and clean as was all of the hotel. I cannot comment on the evening entertainment as we did not bother with this or the pool games during the day.

I would recommend this hotel if you like a smaller, quieter hotel and are looking for a peaceful relaxing time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

AGAIN a FANTASTIC HOLIDAY!
The staff were absolutely marvelous. We arrived at nearly midnight on the 15th Aug where we were greeted by the night reception gent who delivered our cases to our room whist we slaked our thirst at the pool bar. Greeted like old friends and immediately made to feel very welcome by all the staff who worked extremely hard and very long hours but treated us with respect, courtesy and an easy, unforced friendliness which would be hard to find anywhere else in the world (especially in the hotels and shops of modern Britain). The food was delicious and immaculately presented. Any spillage from messy guests cleaned up immediately. Multi Lingual and multi cultural guests a bonus in our opinion and a great opportunity to practice German, French, Italian and sign language. Cleanliness was perfect due to the herculean effort made by the cleaning personnel. Animation team of Marina and Lucky were also excellent and worked very hard at keeping us all occupied without being at all pushy. The staff that we had most dealings with and now feel like old friends are Stella, Mark, Athina, Yannis, Dimitri, Manolis and George. Nikos, on a very hot afternoon, kindly took our cases down on our departure which was the only sad time during the holiday. Fantastic atmosphere and we chatted happily with many European neighbours with whom we had a good laugh at the pool activities and in the bar at the evening shows and games..
Minor constructive criticisms; Room drainage could be be improved for grey water and any towels left on the pool beds for hours by selfish guests intending to use them later should be removed and left in a purpose made shame area!
We definitely recommend the best hotel in Crete to all visitors and thank the King Minos Palace staff for everything they did to make a "hard worked for holiday" become a reality.

King Minos Palace: The best place to stay in Crete and we will definitely go back to see our friends

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cymropur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from the King Minos after a fabulous 2 week holiday. We arrived at the hotel shortly after 2100hrs + were greeted by a lovely man who carried our cases up the stairs to reception. The receptionist checked us in + told us that they had kept the restaurant open as they were expecting us - we thought this was really kind as we were the only arrivals that evening! After we had eaten we were shown to our room - we had emailed the hotel a week before to request a bungalow room. It was lovely - so clean + the air con was fine - we had a remote control so we could control the temperature ourselves. We were tired after a long day + slept really well. The next morning we woke up to the most gorgeous view - we had a garden view but could still see the sea. Mealtimes were great - breakfast had everything you could want - toast/cooked breakfast/cereal/fruit/continental/Cretan dishes + in the evening there was plenty of choice also. I laughed out loud at one of the previous reviews where someone said they struggled to find something nice to eat + just ate chips - how ridiculous!!! The food was fresh + plentiful + I have no idea why anyone would complain! The general manager (Michael Kokolakis) was present quite a lot but it's his hotel so why not!!! He obviously has extremely high standards + the staff adhere to them - they were fantastic! Especially Stella, Mark, Yiannis, Athina, Nelly, Maria + Dimitris in the restaurant, George + Manolis at the pool + Maria on reception! Also the cleaners + the gardener/handyman who always took time out to say Kalispera to my little boy! They really are some of the loveliest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. My little boy celebrated his 3rd birthday out there + he got a cake on his birthday - the staff made such a fuss of him all the way through the holiday that it was like beimg away with a celebrity! He is still asking for Stella + Mark!!! I also celebrated my birthday + got a cake which was lovely!
We arrived on the bbq night + caught the end of it + it looked fun. We were there for the Greek night which was great - I got up to do Zorba's Dance!!! The animation team Lucky + Marina were really nice people - everyone was welcome to join in with the activities but there was no pressure which was good!!!
The beach is just over the road or under the underpass - by some of the reviews I was expecting a mile long death trap tunnel but it was literally just a couple of metres! Star Beach is good for children - we couldn't get my little boy off the slides!
The pool are was lovely - there was only one day we never got a sunbed but we just put our towels on the grass + it was no problem!
I read in some of the reviews that Germans got preferential treatment over the English - we NEVER witnessed any of that at all. Also I read in one review that they should have been told there wasn't many British at the hotel!!! I don't know why some people go abroad if all they want to do is eat English food + speak to English people! All the other guests were lovely - French, Austrian, Russian, German + Dutch - it was nice to mingle + chat with different people.
Yes there are a few steps at the hotel but I was glad of them as I didn't feel as guilty eating all the delicious desserts!!! The walk down to Hersonissos only takes a few minutes - it's quite touristy - lively but not rowdy! The port area has a lovely atmosphere. The hotel is perfectly positioned - it is close enough to walk into the centre but far away enough to have a bit of peace! We could hear the music from Star Beach but it didn't bother us at all as it went off quite early + the room was so soundproofed!
We explored the area ourselves - we went to Heraklion for the day + to Aghios Nikolaos - we just jumped on the bus which leaves from the Belveder Hotel at the bottom of the hill. We walked into Koutoulafari + Piskopiano which were gorgeous little villages. We also hired a car - at first we hired from Zygos but the child car seat was wrecked + falling to pieces so we went with Europcar (just a tip for anyone travelling with kids who need a car seat) - they were much better. We drove to lots of beautiful little villages + foumd a great little local taverna before driving to Ierapetra on the South of the island. I would highly recommend this.
There is a supermarket at the bottom of the hill but we found that the Spar at the end of the strip on the left hand side was better as it was much cheaper!!! It takes about half an hour to walk there.
We booked with Monarch holidays + the rep was as miserable as sin - clearly didn't like her job + there was no introduction on the coach transfer. We didn't have a welcome meeting as there wasn't enough Monarch customers in the hotel to warrant one - luckily the hotel made us feel valued!!! We were given a welcome pack off the rep but the 24 hour emergency number was left blank! The rep never visited the hotel once!!! On the way back to the airport the only thing she said was "The Manchester flight is checking in as normal at desk 11" We got to the airport + it was chaos - not even organised chaos!!! We found out we had a 2 hour delay by looking at the boarding card!!! I thought it would have been common courtesy for the rep to have let us know!
As she never visited the hotel, we asked the Thomson rep Rosie about car hire + she was FANTASTIC - an asset to Thomson - she helped us out even though we weren't even with Thomson. We have used Thomson the past couple of years + they were great - needless to say we will be booking with them next year! Rosie was really helpful + pleasant - she always had time for a chat even when she was off home - she is a real ambassador for Thomson + I cannot speak highly enough of her.
We had the most fantastic holiday + I wouldn't hesitate to come back to the KMP - I can see why people return year after year. I would recommend this to anyone of all ages! It was fabulous + I wish were still there!!! Kalispera!!!

Room Tip: We had room 709 - bungalow room - it was lovely - great views + perfectly located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#43 of 173 in Hersonissos
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 173 in Hersonissos
2,458 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#15 of 173 in Hersonissos
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#44 of 173 in Hersonissos
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Minos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Minos Palace Hotel

Address: L Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#46 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £54 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King Minos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Minos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Minos Palace
King Minos Palace Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Crete
King Minos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing