We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Minos Palace Hotel
Ranked #55 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extraordinary place”
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Hello! My name is Gabrielle and I am from Romania. We choose this hotel for our honeymoon. We believe that it was the best choice. The price that we pay was ok, not much for what we found there. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and welcoming. They know how to make their guests feel comfortable. We are planning to go again to King Minos next years :)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabrielle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    116
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
86
179
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Picked this hotel after reading reviews and was not disappointed.Travelled with four friends (we are all retired ladies) and I was a bit concerned about some comments regarding climb up to hotel from both shops and beach, but we managed with no problems. However, it would not be suitable for anyone with walking problems. Reception staff were always helpful and also the maids - nothing too much trouble. As we were an odd number, presumed one would be in a single room so had asked for rooms together if possilbe. However, we ended up with one twin bungalow room (on a lower level to hotel) and one bungalow with two twin rooms - excellent, and all with wonderful sea views. The view from the restaurant was wonderful both over the Med and at night over the illunminated town. The choice of food, both at breakfast and dinner, was superb and the staff were great, especially Athina. All tastes were catered for , including veggies and diabetics, and because we arrived too late for dinner on the first night we had a complimentary lunch on the last day - at the pool bar. We also had the use of a shower room before we left the hotel - had to be out of our rooms at 12 noon.
Only one criticism, as mentioned by another reviewer,were the toilet seats - they tended to move with you, however hard you tried to sit centrally. Made for a bit of fun though!
Other points - visit the rural museum which is beside the beach road below the hotel - small and interesting, the three villages above the resort are well worth a visit, walk to the harbour and climb up to archaeological site above, the Thomsons trip to Spinalonga with a lunch barbecue was good. All in all an excellent hotel, although not sure that I would like the resort inthe height of the season with lots of youngsters around but great at this time of year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanePowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I have only good things to say abaout King Minos Hotel. The hotel is 15 minutes away from hersonossos center, in a quiet area. It has a lovely garden, a nice big swimming pool and excelent staff.
Our room was at the ground floor, it had a litlle nice terrace, free fridge and safe ( 18 euros for 1 week).The rooms have a good size and the bed are veru conforable. The only drawback was the size of the TV and the limited nomerg of chanels in english or italian. But there are so many beautiful things to see in Crete that you won't have too much time for TV.
The hotel organizes something every evening at the pool bar: Karaoke night, Quizz night, Magic Shows, BBQ Night- which costs 12 euro/pers, if I remember corectly - with food coked in front of you, live music and greek dances. We had a great time that evening.
The food at the hotel is great. The restaurant has a nice terrace with sea view, but you have to be there early to get a table.
We visited Vai- the palm beech, Chania( wonderful city, with narrow streets and a beautifulharbor., we went in a Jeep Safari at the Lasithi Plateau - great expirience if you like to see also the wild part of Crete.
One evening we went to Old Hersonissos - great place if you want peace and tranquillity.
We had a great time in Crete and the fact that we stayed at King Minos Palace made this holiday perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana_Constantinescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I spent a week at King Minos in mid September and it truly is a very good hotel. It's a very cozy place with a beautiful garden and it's located at about a five minute walk from a bus station.

I didn't spend a lot of time indoors because Crete is such an amazing island and I've tried to see as much as I could in such a short vacation, but I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet place to stay in Hersonissos.

I didn't like the resort much, there are a lot of nicer choices in Crete, perhaps Rethymno for many, but I'd choose Chania.

Still this hotel is truly a four star. It was without a doubt the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. The food is very good, I think I ate the tastiest tomatoes ever :)). Only one small problem - dinner. Nothing to blow your mind, they need a Chef to bring some creativity to evening meals.

By far the best thing about this hotel is its staff. Everyone friendly, warm, always glad to help you - starting with the cleaning staff and ending with those working at the reception.

My favorite is Michaelis, the waiter at the pool bar. He's got the best sense of humor and he just might be the most down to earth guy I've ever met.

I know that over the next years I won't be able to stay away from Crete and I'd choose King Minos Palace again. It is a very good four star hotel which still has some work to do in order to get to the level of its five star staff.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex13c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This hotel is very good choice for families and couples. The food was very good and the pool area was also great. A large pool, which was lovely and warm in August, when we went. All the staff were friendly in the hotel and the service was good.The rooms were large for 2 adults and a child. The coast line is quite rugged and the hotel is on quite a steep incline about 5 min walk to beach across the road. The beach was small but nice, though sometimes quite rough for swimming. I think you can catch local buses to other towns or there were lots of quads bikes for hire to get around. There is a land train which takes you into the main town or can catch a taxi, Its about 20 minute walk. On Monday night at the village square they have Greek dancing, thats probably only in high season though, we caught a taxi there and back which was 10 euros each way, well worth it though a lots people have a meal and watch the dancing. We had an enjoyable holiday staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daffBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly receptionist and our bags were carried into the hotel and to our room for us. Impressed with the room, particularly the great view and the free fridge. Quickly found the local supermarket just at the end of the road so we were able to stock the fridge with lunches and drinks. Although we did enjoy eaing and drinking at the pool bar- especially with the friendly service and joking from the waiters.

Pool huge and very deep, ideal for swimming and lazing about on li-los. Never any problem getting a free sun lounger and parasol. Wonderfully relaxing to lie by the pool listening to the chirruping of the cicadas- total holiday sound!

Beach lovely and sandy, with sea that is shallow for a long way out so ideal for swimming and snorkelling- although tide was turning part way through our stay so it got a little rough for a few days. The rest of the time it was totally flat and clear. On one of the rough days we visited Lychnostatis http://www.lychnostatis.gr/english.html well worth a trip.

Star beach perfect place for those braver and livelier than us! Bungey jumping not our thing- but didn't impact on us, nor did any of the club nights- all club goers seemed very well behavedf and our room, as well as being a reasonable distance away, was totally sound proof. Air-con in room also very effective for those boiling nights!

We loved Koutouloufari in particular and the other villages up the hill- we always walked but may be a bit of a trek for anyone who has difficulty walking. It was nice to have the alternatives to the villages in the form of the livelier Harbour and Hersonissos town for a different kind of night out.

Staff inthe hotel we wonderful, they could not have been friendlier and always made us smile at breakfast and dinner. Food was super with a huge range of options from starter to dessert; we particularly enjoyed the theme nights which included italian, chinese, traditional greek and the barbecue night.

We did not see a cloud for the whole two weeks, weather was hot, hot, hot- perfect for us; but possibly a need for caution for some. We saw lots of sore looking burns! A little time considering a plan for skincare should solve any worries though- we were just very careful initially.

All in all a wonderful, relaxing holiday made all the better by the friendly Cretan people!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaiteR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke hants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Just got back from staying at this hotel and it is absolutely fab. The rooms were clean and the bathroom although shower wasn't the best. The pool was lovely and all the staff were fantastic. Janetta the animation girl was so friendly and didn't pressurize you into joining in the activities if you didn't want to. My son who is 17 and daughter 16 next month, loved her. She was full of fun and even went out with a bunch of them in the evenings which made you feel safe. Plenty of food and variety. Waiter at the pool bar Michael was hilarious and very friendly, remembered what drinks you had ordered from previous nights. If I had to say anything negative it would be breakfast was to early, finished at 9.30am and they started packing away then. As Crete is two hours ahead that made it a bit early and we only just made it! We like to travel the world and go to different places but we will definitely be returning. Our kids are even planning a stay with their friends. Don't know how anyone can complain. Enjoy your stay here

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daclarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#58 of 171 in Hersonissos
589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
990 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#38 of 171 in Hersonissos
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Minos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Minos Palace Hotel

Property: King Minos Palace Hotel
Address: L Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#46 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King Minos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your King Minos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Minos Palace
King Minos Palace Hersonissos
Hersonissos Palace Crete
King Minos Palace Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing