We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Annabelle Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were at the AKS Annabelle for 10 nights in August and we all thought it was absolutely wonderful, one of the best hotels we have stayed at.
The hotel grounds slope down to the beach. The reception, main restaurant, huge lobby with inside and outside seating areas and upper pool with pool bar are at the top of the complex. There is also a small shop and a kids club. Many of the rooms lead of a central walkway running down to the lower pool / entertainment area which is very spacious with pool, bar area, outdoor theatre, games are and grassed area. There is also a snack bar (daytime) / restaurant (evenings) by the pool which runs table-service themed evenings (fish/Greek/Italian). The hotel is separated from the beach by glass (Perspex) windbreaks.
The grounds are a delight to walk through and never felt crowded. Two service roads run down the outside of the hotel and these are used to ferry luggage and supplies using golf-type buggies. This is just as well really because it has to be said there are a LOT of steps separating the two ends of the hotel (I counted over 60).
The main restaurant has a large open section with fantastic views over the sea. We thought the food was really good with plenty of choice and all dishes were kept stocked up right to the end of service. There is beer and wine on tap in the restaurant. The only drawback is that you can spend a bit of time hunting for a laid table – although the staff were very good at clearing tables once asked.
We found all the hotel staff to be really helpful and genuinely keen to make sure guests were happy. The hotel manager was often out talking to guests and at least one of the other managers was always on duty at mealtimes. I know there have been some comments about the speed of service at the bars but I didn’t really find this a problem considering most drinks are mixed. The girls serving at the lower pool bar each evening were unbelievably cheerful.
There was constant entertainment for those who wanted it and the Animation team worked really hard. Many activities seemed very popular – especially the pool exercise sessions / water polo / beach volleyball etc.
The nationality mix when we were there was mainly German (the majority), Russian, British and Italian.
Our transfer wasn’t until 7.45pm so we paid €40 to extend the room for the day which wasn’t bad considering this included AI all day including dinner for 4 people. Having said that we were lucky in that our room was available – this might not be the case at peak times.
We hired a car from Traffic to see a bit more of Crete. The hotel is a few Km from Hersonissos and there is nothing locally. However, a taxi into town only costs around €7-8. My advice for anyone hiring a car is avoid the coast road to Hersonissos as it’s SO narrow and windy. Also, make a note of landmarks when heading out. I pride myself on my sense of direction but we got hopelessly lost between the main road and the hotel.
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending the Annabelle to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    327
    106
    40
    10
See reviews for
505
253
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mablethorpe
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

just had a week in a family room with our two girls, along with a double for our parents. what a great stay. good rooms, fantastic gardens and brilliant food, probably the best food we have had in an all inclusive hotel. the staff are very friendly and willing to help and take time out to have a chat. the hotel and gardens were very, very clean all of the time without you noticing who was cleaning up. the daytime family entertainment was good but not so good in the evening. young children were catered for but not the older kids and adults.

the only negative was the sea and the beach. sunbathing on the beach was great but getting in and out of the sea is hard. this could be down to the power of the waves, which may just be down to the time of year we went.

one of my parents has a slight mobility issue and it was hard to encounter all the steps some days. we did have a ground floor room but to get to reception and dinner you do have to climb around 50 steps (it could be classed as good exercise)!.

the resort is close enough to the town of hersonisos (7 euros in taxi), and the old villages up in the hills are well worth a visit (10 euros in taxi).

overall a very good holiday and would go back.

Room Tip: the family room was a decent size, and you only have to ask if you want a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mablecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were very impressed with the standard and hygene of this resort. We had interconnecting rooms which were spotless and the pool areas were great. Having the beach on site was excellent and there were plenty of activities if you cose to participate. We were all inclusive and the food was plentiful and drinks were easily accesible. The only thing that was lacking was the evening entertainment as we have two teenagers who like us would of prefered a little more adult entertainment, such as tribute singers etc. That said we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hinksy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We are a family aged 38, 44, 16, 12 and stayed at the Annabelle from the 13th to 28th August.
We booked two rooms and at check in we were allocated adjoining rooms which were great.
This is a lot smaller than most other all inclusive hotels and this is what really makes the hotel. You can eat in the restaurant without it feeling like a school canteen! However, after a week the food does become a little samey so we did go out a couple of times in the fortnight.
The staff at the hotel were always friendly and smiling and always willing to help out, when booking taxis or lunch out etc. If you go on a day trip out the hotel will provide you with a packed lunch which is amazing and comes in a proper cool box!
As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is set in lovely grounds which are continuously being maintained.
The pool and the rooms were cleaned to a high standard.
Pool towels can be changed daily.
The holiday for us was made by the animation team, especially, Renato, Patryck, Oliviwa and Andrea. They all work incredibly hard to ensure that everyone has a great holiday - but they were not pushy and didn't force people to join in.
The only negatives are: Wi-fi - this is rubbish! Which didn't really bother me but if you do have teenagers then they want wi-fi. We paid 5 euros per week for the code but it was still pretty hit and miss.
Drinks: Despite what it says in the brochure and on your all inclusive information sheet on arrival, drinks are NOT self service at the athina bar or pool bars. The only place you can pour your own beer/wine/soft drinks is in the restaurant. We did find this a bit of a faff, especially around the lower pool as you had to queue for drinks around a cirular bar and it was always a bit hit and miss as to who would be served or how long you would be there. Also the lunch time athina taverna, again you had to queue for a drink which was also the same queue for food so not really very practicle.
Sunbeds...... the usualy really, you have to be up very early to get a good sunbed! We were up at 6.30am in order to get 4 together at the side of the pool, however, this again isn't really an issue for us as it is becoming standard procedure at most hotels these days!
Overall, this is a really nice hotel, set in beautiful grounds with nice staff.
The only thing that would put me off going again is that we had such a good time with the animation team and they will be different people there next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 111/113 are interconnecting rooms on ground floor in a quiet location yet near to the lower po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louby_lou1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is one of the best holidays I've ever experienced. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and on the beach. Management & staff were always available to assist and help if needed, and a high level of customer service was always evident. We spoke a couple of times to the general manager, his priority was to make sure his guests were happy and having a good time, nothing was too much trouble for any of his staff. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day, and we were lucky enough to have a sea view room, which boasted stunning views. The food was delicious. plenty of choice and all nationalities catered for. Would like to thank the GM & his hardworking, happy and conscientious team for making our holiday so special, we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic ten days at Annabelle. We went as a family of four, our children aged 13 and 10. The hotel was beautiful, clean at all times, food was amazing and probably the best we have ever had abroad, there was never the usual hustle and bustle you normally get from all inclusive, all restaurants were fully stocked at all times and very well air conditioned, which you need to enjoy your meal. They have a quiet and a loud pool which is nice, as we much preferred the quiet one, which also has the pool bar, which was a bonus. The only down side was we felt very crammed in on the beach, the beds are far too close to the next family, so we opted to sunbathe round the pool instead. This being the only negative made for a superb holiday, which we would def return and fully reccommend. Thanks to all at Annabelle, hope to see you agian soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent_ukSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The grounds are huge and you can be as involved or relaxed as you wish.The staff are always helpful. The only downside was that the WiFi is limited to a small area round reception, so was always full of "boys with their toys", girls as well. Overall there is plenty to do and just down the road is a road "train" that goes to Hersonnissos. Taxis to town are only 7 Euro, so you are not far from shops. The rooms are immaculately cleaned daily and the food was good if a little repetative. No problem with getting tables in the restaurant and we were there at the start of the school holidays. The site is abundant with flowers and trees and makes for a relaxed feel. Beware the steps though, there are quite a few. The side roads were the best route round the site. We did hear that some rooms were still awaiting conversion of the bathrooms and entry locks which are due to be done this Winter. Don't let that put you off, they are still clean. The beach is fine stone and sand but easy to walk on. The sea is a little rough some days and quite stony so not too good for poor swimmers. There are plenty of sea activities so you can be as daring as you wish. The hotel has an entertainment team that operates every day at the lower pool by the beach and whilst they ask if you want to be involved in any activity, they are not pushy and are very friendly. Even the bar staff get to know your tipple very quickly which is a good sign that they are interested and not going through the motions. I would definately return to this great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
1.4 mi away
Anissa Beach Hotel
Anissa Beach Hotel
#36 of 171 in Hersonissos
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Anissaras
965 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
652 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annabelle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annabelle Beach Resort

Property: Annabelle Beach Resort
Address: Anissaras beach, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Annabelle Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Annabelle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabelle Village Hotel Chersonisos
Annabelle Village Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Hotel Hersonissos
Annabelle Village Crete
Annabelle Beach Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing