We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday but some important flaws” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heronissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heronissos Hotel
Ranked #109 of 177 Hotels in Hersonissos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great holiday but some important flaws”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Overall our stay was comfortable. It certainly isn't a four star but from previous reviews this was not expected.

The good:
Cleaning staff excellent
Restaurant manager very friendly
Receptionists and shop manager helpful
Decent poolside and plentiful sunbeds

The bad:
Booked main hotel but was put in annexe apartment over the road. We had to pay 40 euros to move into the hotel we had booked! (Look out for 'promo' room on your booking!)

Bar staff could be incredibly sullen and rude most times. They made it seem like you were putting them out that they were getting you a drink!

90% of people that stay here are Russian. Without sounding xenophobic, they really are rude and miserable.

I would not stay here again because the atmosphere just wasn't up to what it should be.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    78
    74
    64
    47
See reviews for
62
127
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

As previous reviewers this hotel is more a 3star than 4 in an overall rating.The good points are :-

Rooms we're clean,serviced daily by friendly helpful staff
Air conditioning and fridge in rooms + balcony
Large main pool and small second pool
Food was reasonable- good quality plenty to choose from although deserts were repetitive
Service issues were dealt with immediately with no arguments

Negative issues were:-

Room furniture was dated
Showers were very small and difficult to get in or out of if you have a fuller figure
All inclusive very limited ie - full board + limited bar menu- no snacks,ice cream or vodka included

We did hear tales of rooms allocated some distance from hotel of very poor quality and would recommend confirming room location on booking

Location ideal for beach and main bar ,club and restaurant area

Overall the holiday was excellent. We would visit Crete again and be more aware of Greek star ratings which seem to be very generous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

By the title of our review you've already worked out we love it. To be impartial the hotel is more 3* than 4* as advertised. Although all inclusive no snacks or ice cream are available outside mealtimes, the food generally good with a fairy wide choice but does become repetitive on a 2 week holiday. The pool bar open from 10am-11pm serves hot & cold drinks with a strict policy one one drink at a time per person. Good pool with plenty of tables, chairs and sunbeds, a private beach with sunbeds and broolys available at small fee. The rooms are very clean although a bit dated with fresh towels daily and bedding changed every few days. The hotel location is great very near to the 'strip' where there are lots of restaurants bars and clubs. The main shopping street a little further but easily managed. The staff at the hotel are exceptionally good with attention to detail and being most helpful easilly5* service. Beware if booking a promo or round-of-house room you may be accommodated in a near apartment or other hotel, all devices by main hotel. We spoke to several guests this happened to and most were happy with this arrangement. In conclusion although sold as 4* it is priced as 3* and is great value for money. We find a good benchmark is to look how much the hotel portion of your holiday costs. Don'texpect 5* when paying3* prices. To ffinalize we hope to return next year. Mike & Freda, Birmingham

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is good has a very large pool & a small pool over the road the staff are friendly the food is ok & last orders for drinks is 1am & if you want to go to the shops it's only five minutes away the cleaners come everyday to clean rooms the beds are comfy & you can get a bus to the market every ten minutes & if you don't want to eat in there's loads of restaurants on the seafront great place not to be missed I would give it a try

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomdixon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and and l have just returned from our weeks holiday at the Heronissos hotel,we did have a small problem when we first arrived at the hotel but managment had it sorted out for us the next day,we were giving 2 lovly rooms next door to each other,my friend and l enjoyed our week stayat the hotel and the only thing we were dissapointed with and many other guests was lack of night time entertainment,restaurant was nice and clean staff lovly could have ad a bit more choice of food on the dessert side same every night,our room MAID always had our rooms nice and clean added her own personal little touches to it which was nice.from Mrs A Bain & Mrs V Crossley

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I saved all year for this trip for myself and my 9 year old son. We arrived early hours of the morning to be taken to a place across the road. It was like a hostel. No air con, no locks on windows. My son was too frightened to sleep. I went back to the reception and they said that they would find another room, later we were taken to another building with a single UNMADE bed in it. We were then told a bus would pick us up and take us to another hotel and we waited and waited and were then told it wasnt coming. Cut a very long story we were given a room 5 hours after arriving. The food was dreadful unless you like leftovers in various different ways.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent two weeks at the Heronissos in late September and early October, we were very disappointed. The hotel itself was reasonably clean, although the corridors could have done with a good mopping. The rooms were very dated and to state that we had a balcony was a bit pretentious, you could just about fit one chair on it and then had to sit sideways! We were lucky we overlooked the pool and could see the sea! The hotel has obviously tried to go all inclusive but would have been better to have stayed as a bed and breakfast, the food was very boring rarely hot and not very appetizing. The only bar was by the pool with what I can only describe as a lean-to to sit under, probably in July or August it was sufficient but at this time of the year it acted like a wind tunnel! We sat on several evenings with thick jumpers on and were still cold, we were`nt the only ones complaining and when we asked about the bar upstairs in the lounge we were told they did not have beer for it! Even if they had had a free vend coffee machine and a supply of beer up there it would have been better than what we had. We actually went out for meals on several evenings to avoid having to sit out in the cold. The entertainment was a guy playing a keyboard on three evenings, his programme was the same each time and we had Greek dance night which was excellent! There was a barbeque at the sister hotel one evening but we were supposed to extra for this! We certainly would not go back!!!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the pool as many of the other rooms overlook a flat roof and the doors to other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chrsl428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.1 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#74 of 177 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.0 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#127 of 177 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#53 of 177 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#72 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.5 mi away
Evelyn Beach Hotel
Evelyn Beach Hotel
#100 of 177 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#43 of 57 in Heraklion
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heronissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heronissos Hotel

Property: Heronissos Hotel
Address: 14 Filonidou Zotou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heronissos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Heronissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heronissos Hotel Hersonissos
Heronissos Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing