We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #60 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Golden Beach was proposed by friends who visited Crete last year.They described the type of hotel and the provided services and we decided to go there.This is a relatively small hotel in very central location.The service is the strong point of this hotel.The staff is always helpful and kind,absolutely adorable.Especially the front desk staff,the ladies and the night auditor.
Our room was fine with street view , bit noisy though.the location of the hotel is very good as it is located very close to the main road of the city,close to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gab1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    164
    100
    66
    17
See reviews for
95
339
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent hotel could not fault it, very modern, clean, we spent 2 weeks, food was varied and excellent quality. The staff were brilliant, helpfull all the time, the manager was at the hotel all the time and very approachable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Could not fault this hotel, very well presented with excellent facilities, a head turner for all passers bye. We spent two weeks at this hotel with four friends, the food was varied and excellent quality. The staff could not have been any friendlier or helpful. The manager was always available and approachable at any time.

Room Tip: Side rooms have both a sea and mountain view very good. Front rooms could have a lot of noise in hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel as a group of traveling singles. The hotel had some nice perks including a decent free breakfast with fantastic ocean views, a nice location close to restaurants, generic shopping, and bus routes, and comfortable rooms. The initial staff member we encountered, Mary, was very helpful and very nice - she gave us as much information as she could about surrounding attractions. Some of the other staff (well, just one lady really), however, seemed more bothered by our questions and it was pretty off-putting.

It was right on the beach, which was a huge plus. The room was functional, spacious, and comfortable. All in all, I was pleased with my stay at the hotel and I might even stay here again given the location and included meal.

Room Tip: "sea view" rooms may just mean that, standing in the corner of your balcony and looking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lhockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have chosen this hotel as it was proposed by a friend.
Absolutely great choice.The hotel met all our expectations.Very good service,central location,nice small beach in front of the hotel.Our room was located on the top floor , very nice decorated with new furniture an d equipement.This is a city hotel meaning that it is only one building with rooms and common areas.Absolutely proposed to people searching for a good value for money in a city hotel in grat location centrally located in the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie_simon152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have selected Golden Beach Hotel for its great reviews and for the fact that it had 4* rating and after a week of travelling around southern Crete we wanted an all inclusive, lazy week. It's a nice looking hotel with a modern look and it's easy to find on the main strip. On arrival we were told the hotel was overbooked and we were transferred to the neighbouring hotel Aquis Silva Beach which was only 20m away. The move was not surprising because we read that other reviewers had the same problem. I am not going to review Silva Beach Hotel here, but we were happy to come back to Golden Beach after one night.
As an apology for the inconvenience the reception manager offered us free use of room safe for the whole stay which was a nice gesture. The room wasn't very big but it was clean (barring the fridge) and comfortable. It was cleaned daily and towels and bedding were changed regularly. We had a balcony with a side sea view.
We spent most of our time by the pool on the hotel roof. It is a great relaxing spot with splendid views. It was so nice that we didn't want to go to the crowded beaches at all. On the terrace you can lay on comfortable sunbeds and look at gorgeous mountains on one side and the sea on the other. The pool is small and deep with fresh water and it's perfect for cooling down. It needs a bit of a facelift though. There are no showers on the poolside. A lot of people criticised the size of the roof terrace but we never had a problem finding empty sun beds. In contrast, on the tiny hotel beach one could hardly walk between the sun loungers let alone find a place to lay down. Overall the hotel beach was not nice, we went there only for two hours on one day.
The 'All inclusive' bar in the Lobby is the only one and it is opened from 10am to 10pm. You can get a 'cocktail', beer or any local spirit and local wine - free of charge. I didn't like the spirits, apart from Ouzo. They made decent espresso coffee. It is not a true that you can have just one drink per order. I have always asked for two drinks and waiters were happy to serve me. There were some annoying Russian guests who would order six shots each and try to get drunk before 10pm. Some of them treated the young waitresses like their servants and it was appalling.
The only downside were the loud talking guests in the corridors in the middle of the night keeping us awake.
We'd consider staying in this hotel again on our future trip to Crete.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from Crete. I cannot express in words how impressed we were starting with the resort, the hotel, the staff and ending, of course, with the magnificent beaches from Crissi Island and also from the Balos Lagoon.
We took off at 7 o'clock from Otopeni Airport and after a one and a half hour, we arrived to Heraklion, the capital of Crete. We took our luggage and went to take the bus for the transfer to the Hersonissos resort. We reached the hotel quite fast, as Golden Beach Hotel was the 4th stop of the bus.
The resort is quite crowded and energetic, there are many foreign tourists and few Romanian tourists. There are lots of restaurants/terraces near the beach and also on the main boulevard. As we visited, we could see that there are also many nightclubs, where young people from the entire Europe party all night long.
Golden Beach is a nice hotel, placed in the center of the Hersonissos resort, at a 25 km distance from the airport and very close to the beach (about 50m). The hotel has a supermarket at the ground level. We could give an 11+ to the staff from the hotel, especially for the one handling the reception desk. There were some Romanian girls that worked as waitresses. We were very nicely treated, whenever we needed something, we were attended with a smile on their faces. We chose a double room, with a street view, with breakfast and dinner plus included, as well. The room was spacious enough, with a minibar, LCD TV, air conditioning, balcony and free WiFi in the rooms. The bed was also quite comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but it was okay, because you do not spend that much time in there. The room was cleaned every day, and the towels are changed daily, as well and The bedsheets are changed twice during the stay.
The food is very good; in the morning there is a great range of options from which you can customize your breakfast: many types of salami and baloney, eggs, jam, bacon, sausages, pastries, juices and coffee. In the evening there are appetizers, cooked food, salads, and for deserts, there is a range of cakes and fruits. So no one can be disappointed about this aspect, even the most pretentious tourist will be satisfied with the meals of this hotel.
For those who may leave before breakfast, there is a special option. They can tell the staff from the reception desk one evening before and in the morning they can have a quick breakfast, which consists of a coffee, a juice and a cake. If maybe you cannot get on time for dinner, you can have the food delivered in your room after dinner, or you can choose to have lunch instead, on other day. (We did choose to have lunch the following day.).
The first two days, we went to the hotel's beach. A sunbed costs 3 euros, as well as the sun umbrella. The beach is small, with sand, but in the water there are rocks, so I would recommend water footwear. The water is clean and in the nearby there are many little bays, where you can take beautiful photos.
For the following three days, we had planned to rent car and go to visit the main tourist attractions from our point of view: Heraklion and the Knossos Palace, Chania with the Balos Lagoon, the Chrissi Island and Elafonissi, the famous pink sanded beach. So, we rented a Hyundai i10, with which we drove 800km (95 euros with a full insurance for three days).
On the first day, we visited Heraklion, the capital of the island. There, we visited the Knossos Palace, the Archeology Museum, the center of the city and the harbor.
The second day, we got up very early and we left on the highway to the west. We made a stop in Chania and visited the Maritime Museum and also the harbor. We enjoyed very much our visit at this museum, it was very interesting, and in my opinion, it is a tourist attraction that must not be missed. Afterwards, we left for the Balos Lagoon and decided to drive to the top of the mountain. It proved to be a very good choice, because in contrast to the boat trip, we could admire the magnificent landscapes from a great altitude. The road is not made of asphalt; you have to drive with a very low speed because of the rocks, but it is worth it about 101%. We parked the car and we walked until we reached the lagoon. We bathed in the turquoise water..and indeed, the Balos Lagoon seems to be taken out of a fairytale! We took a lot of wonderful pictures there and at about 4 o'clock, we went to the well-known pink sanded beach, Elafonissi. After one hour of driving and approximately 50km of serpentines and a narrow road, we finally arrived at the Elafonissi beach. We were smitten with the wonderful landscapes and we were surprised to see that indeed, there were parts of the beach, were the sand was light pink and in some parts, in the water too. It was like a dream to us, we could not leave that magnificent beach until the sunset. Only then, we left for the hotel and we arrived at the hotel at 1am.
On the third day, we woke up at 7 o'clock, dreaming about Chrissi Island again and again. At about 9 o'clock we were at the harbor, in Ierapetra. We got tickets from the harbor, with 10 euros per person. We left with the first boat at 10:30 and it took almost an hour of sailing to reach the island. Getting near and near Chrissi island, the waves were very beautiful colored. Indigo and turquoise were defining the clear water so wonderful because in that area, the Mediterranean Sea combines with the Libya Sea.
Reaching the island, we went to the Golden Beach. The view was splendid; we stayed about three hours to enjoy the sunny day at the beach, tanning and bathing in the sea, and afterwards, we went to the side of Libya and in the mean time, we lost our boat! :)) But there were not any problems because we took off with the last boat, at 5 o'clock instead of 4.
On our way back, we stopped and had dinner at Ierapetra, at one of the many restaurants and then, we made another stop in Agios Nikolaus, where we visited the harbor. We also went there for a stroll and for some souvenir shopping.
In the next days we remained in Hersonissos and we idled at the Star Beach, a very nice beach, with a soft golden sand and a clear turquoise water. The beach is situated at about 5 minutes from the Golden Beach Hotel. For us, the days went flying too fast and we wished we could have stayed more.
Talking about Crete, we only have good things to say. We are happy to have chosen this location for our summer holiday because we had some many places to visit, we were so thrilled to see so many magnificent landscapes. We decided to return to Crete maybe in a few years because there are still many great places to see.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sir_Ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#59 of 171 in Hersonissos
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#74 of 171 in Hersonissos
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#54 of 171 in Hersonissos
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glaros Beach Hotel
Glaros Beach Hotel
#76 of 171 in Hersonissos
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Beach Hotel
Address: 191 Eleftheriou Venizelou Street | Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous holiday resort of Crete, Hersonissos, just few steps from a sandy beach.Golden Beach has recently undergone a change of appearance achieving a beautiful balance of comfort and style, featuring 162 rooms, many of them enjoying blue views.Our outstanding friendly service and carefully crafted design that our guests enjoy are elements that achieve a relaxing stay in Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hersonissos
Golden Beach Creta
Hotel Golden Beach
Golden Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing