We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Beach Hotel”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #66 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for one week in May & found this hotel excellent value for money. For the better rooms pay a little more & get a side sea view. The food on all inclusive basis was very acceptable.The hotel manager & staff could not do enough for us to make our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I can see why people might nit pick at this hotel re the small bathrooms, small pool etc so if you're planning on spending all of your time in the hotel maybe this isn't the place for you.

However, my partner and I loved our stay here. We arrived quite late at night and were dropped off on the opposite side of the road by a skip and a karaoke bar which was a tad concerning at the time but in the daylight it looked far less foreboding. Don't let it put you off! We were given a family room that had a street view. We had heard that the sea view rooms were well worth the upgrade so the following morning we asked if we could possibly change rooms. The manager showed us 2 available rooms and for an extra €85 for the week we took the one on the top floor with a side sea view. Fortunately it was the start of season so we could do this. I don't know if it would be possible mid summer but well worth a try.

We spent the majority of the week at star beach rather than the hotel pool and on a few cloudy days we went to Knossos and did a boat excursion to Spinalonga.

We were half board so had the buffet breakfast (admittedly not the best but enough choice to get you through to lunch) and the option of dinner. Fussy eaters might want to just consider b&b. We ate out all but one night.

I would describe the hotel as a sort of city hotel rather than your standard resort hotel but it is in a great location and offers everything else you might need. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Great holiday. Hotel clean and in a great location. Staff very friendly. Slight downside was the room size but it didn't effect us as we spent most our time out of the hotel.

As previously mentioned this hotel is in a great location, surrounded by lots of bars and restaurants. Just down the road is star beach which has many swimming pools beach and water activities, bars, restaurants and a couple of water slides. At night it turns into a out door night club. We spent all our time here. It is great for all ages families or couples.

The trip to santorini is recommended

Overall a great holiday and a great location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Debbie-lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was a great choice of vacation and i am really happy for that...We spent one week at this wonderful island and our hotel met all of our expectations.Small city hotel very centrally located,very clean with delicious breakfast. The staff was over helpful especially the reception staff. Weather was not so fine as in May it is a bit cold in Crete so we did not swim, beaches seemed very nice though.I recommend this hotel and particularly because of its location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chrisadd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent at Golden Beach two weeks at the beggining of September.We loved everything about this hotel.The staff was extremely helpful,the location was perfect , just a few steps from the beach and the centre of the city and the design of the hotel very modern with nice refreshing colours.Free wifi inernet was also provided.The breakfast was quite good and the service at the main restaurant amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank talex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have travelled with my wife last year in June to this hotel based on the good rating on tripadvisor.com and also looking at the hotel website. But when you arrive at the hotel you realize that this is not what you have expected. I want to say from the beginning that this is really not a 4 star hotel. We have changed two times our room: first one because there was an awful smell in the room coming from the toilet + furniture was in a very bad shape... and the second one because it was very uncomfortable (hard bed to sleep, very small room, very small shower, no outside view, no fresh air). Finally we have upgraded to a sea side view room which was much better that the ones we got before: more space, better furniture, better bed and also bigger, sea side view and more fresh air so we did not use the air conditioned very often. Of course all this for an extra cost. But the shower was still to small even for me which I am a short and skinny guy.

Now about the food: It was simply tasteless. I can say that it was the worst food I have eaten in my whole life. I do not understand how some people can say the food was excellent. Maybe because they have never been in a 4 or 5 star hotel before. The taste of some foods is really awful so we often choose to eat outside. My tip is if you really want to book this hotel YOU SHOULD DEFINITELY NOT BUY ALL-INCLUSIVE as it is a waste of money.

The beach of the hotel is very small and overcrowded and not to mention that you have to pay 8 Euros for a set of sunbeds. We used it in the first day but then we walked every day to the beautiful beach of Star Beach hotel which is a different world. So it worth to make a 10 min walk to this beach. We were also lucky and pay no money there for the sunbeds as there were plenty unused and the beach was really quiet. We did not use the hotel pool because if I go to the sea I want to swim in the sea and not in the pool.

I would never come back to this hotel and also I will not recommend it to my friends.

My overall tips if you want to travel to this hotel are:
- Do not book all inclusive
- Book a superior side sea view room
- Do not use the hotel beach, the closest nice beach is the one from Star Beach hotel (10 min walk)
- If you do not drink alcohol and you want to drink healthy do not use the drinks you get in the hotel. They are really cheap chemicals. Close to the hotel there is a small shop from where you can buy fresh orange juice for 2 Euros per litre (they have a maschine so you can do your own fresh juice).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chuckkie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to apologize for all those reasons for which you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our team is working hard in order to satisfy all of our clients.
I would like to thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at Golden Beach Hotel.
Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

For anyone looking to go on holiday around this area, book here! I'm late with my review having been last July for a week. I went with a group of friends (6 of us girls in total) and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. A very warm welcome by all the staff and that continued through out our stay which made the hotels environment so friendly.

The Room - Quite spacious with comfy beds and practical place to keep items, a safe in the wardrobe allowing you to keep all your valuables well hidden. Clean and tidy each time we returned from the day out, the maids did a great job.

The Food - We opted for half board and the food was absolutely delicious - could not fault any parts. It was so lovely to experience the Greek cuisine. From reading reviews before we went we were pleasantly surprised with the amount they had to offer. They even have lovely Rose on tap.. Perfect! I don't think i ever saw the waiters/waitresses without a smile.

The surroundings/activities - Beautiful place and views - The beaches are lovely and clean! Some pretty shops to buy souvenirs and little bits to take back home. We visited a couple of near by villages which were equally as stunning and had lovely places to eat for lunch. If we didn't go out we went to the little supermarket a few shops down which had everything we needed. We went on the 'glass bottom boat' which was SOOO much fun, a great few hours spent viewing more of the beautiful coastlines Greece has to offer. Stopping off at Sissi for dinner and hoping back on for a fast and adrenaline filled journey back to Hersonissos. Some of us went to the local water park and had a lot of fun also!

The Nightlife - We were looking forward to a party holiday in Malia. Unforgettable, amazing nights out. Only 15 euros in a taxi and they ring them from reception for you and pick you up from the hotel.- So practical. Hersonnisos itself had a great nightlife also and that was a quick walk to the center of the clubs there. Taking either the quiet coastal route along the sea or the busy walk through the town. 'Star beach' was great fun too!

Hotel facilities - Roof top pool was lovely, the views being spectacular. The pool itself was lovely to cool down in after relaxing on the sun loungers that were available. We didn't use the hotel bar however it looked nice. They have a private beach which was a little small and you did have to pay for those sun loungers however it was pretty and we spent a lot of time there. We had a problem with our balcony door when we arrived and someone came straight away to fix it. The hotel was lovely to look at also with its minimal design making it look modern and sleek.

Absolutely brilliant place to stay, needed a lot longer!! We were a group of friends but there were family holidays there also. I'd recommend staying here to anyone. GO! :D

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, General Manager at Golden Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Beach !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.9 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#13 of 184 in Hersonissos
1,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
Infinity Blue Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Sergios Hotel
Sergios Hotel
#1 of 2 in Limenas Chersonisou
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alia Beach Hotel
Alia Beach Hotel
#78 of 184 in Hersonissos
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glaros Beach Hotel
Glaros Beach Hotel
#73 of 184 in Hersonissos
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Address: 191 Eleftheriou Venizelou Street | Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £45 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous holiday resort of Crete, Hersonissos, just few steps from a sandy beach.Golden Beach has recently undergone a change of appearance achieving a beautiful balance of comfort and style, featuring 162 rooms, many of them enjoying blue views.Our outstanding friendly service and carefully crafted design that our guests enjoy are elements that achieve a relaxing stay in Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hersonissos
Golden Beach Creta
Hotel Golden Beach
Golden Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing