We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value for money”
Review of Evelyn Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Evelyn Beach Hotel
Ranked #102 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“poor value for money”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

room clean and tidy,staff very friendly and helpful.
all inclusive big joke,food poor no choice and not much to eat ate out everyday
no pool no entertainment beach a joke full of rocks dangerous to swim

Room Tip: go elsewhere very disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank basser47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    47
    28
    34
    18
See reviews for
38
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We're do we start. Totally disappointed arrived at 1 40 am after long flight delays needed a drink only to be charged for bottle of water. No food available put in room like cell block h woke up for breakfast only to be disappointed by lack of selection we payed for all inclusive but had to eat out each day. Definitely not a 4 star maybe 2 star.had to pay for the sun loungers and parasols every day at a cost of 8 erous pool not next door but a good walk away also payable to obtain wi fi also charged 10 euros.if you are English this is not the place to stay as they cater mainly for german and Russian's food horrendous not signed to say what it was family run hotel on a shoestring will never go back here again this is an honest description of what I can only say is a awful hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

portsmouth
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This family run hotel is an absolute pleasure to stay at. The location is superb and only a stepping distance from the beach. The reception staff greet you with a huge smile and are brimming with information. Ask where they think you should go for the day and you'll get a 20 minute answer!
Our room was very clean and had sea views. The hotel was quiet and very well run. Free parking in the car park too, but then parking everywhere on the island seemed to be free if you could squeeze in somewhere.
The food really isn't that great. There is plenty of fruit but the cooked food lacks finesse. But please don't let this put you off. There are so many restaurants and bars around, you'll not want to stay at the hotel in the evenings anyway. Eat out!
One niggle - the hotel ask for 1 euro a day for towels (we kept ours) and there are further charges once you get to the beach for sun beds and a parasol. It would have been nice if the charges were included in the all-inclusive price.
There is a comfortable and familiar feel about this hotel. You don't wear wrist bands and the staff treat you like an old friend. You will enjoy it here. Fact.

Room Tip: Just ask to change if you're not happy. They're very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

At the start we were a little disappointed for the furniture of the rooms: our expectations were raised by the fact that we had booked a 4 Star hotel.
But then, going around Crete in the imminent couple of days, we realised that that is ok in comparison with the local standards.
The whole island is a decade or two back with style and service.
Overall the stay was pleasant: we had the All Inclusive option, and we enjoyed very much the rich breakfasts and dinners there, with plenty of choice to be spoiled for from the buffet.
The restaurant has also a large balcony with tables: we loved having breakfast under shaded shelter, but with a gorgeous view over the beach and sea right in front.
The Wi-Fi hasn't got a good range: one needs to go outside the room in the corridors near the rooter, or around the reception area, in order to have connection.
The Wi-Fi signal did not reach inside our room.
///// M.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MZ-M_Ciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samos, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

a mediun in size hotel and a very good choice when in Hersonisos ( Crete ) as the location is very good just 20 meters from seaside , in a quiet road and very friendly staf in reception and restaurant .
The only negative thing is that internet comes with a charge...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dimitris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

After reading some of these comments we were a little worried what to expect. It seems to me that some people just love to moan. You are not in England IT IS GREECE, The rooms were basic, but clean, and the linen was changed very regularly. There was plenty of choice of food, in fact the family ate the same food, and as it was at the end of the season ate at the same time.
They welcomed us, the staff were very friendly, especialy George the barman (Babes)!!!!! The view whilst eating your meal was to die for. The family and staff couldn't do enough for us. We would definitey come back again, loved i

Room Tip: It would be better to book a sea view, as our garden view overlooked another hotel, and one apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Babes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked this hotel via travel agency very last minute and judging by the reviews here, it was our very last option. Therefore, our expectations were very low.
I was a bit worried when I found out we have a garden view room. Truth is, there is no garden, however, the view (on the 1st floor) wasn't so bad. Yes, it was overlooking a parking lot, but you could still see the sea from the balcony. Not bad at all, on the other hand, I thought it must be better than sea view rooms over the bar, which could get loud at night. I would never recommend staying in room 123 which is simply facing a wall. The location of the hotel is quite nice, just as somebody already mentioned, you are not in the loud centre, but within walking distance (3 minutes) from it.
We went in low season (mid October), so the hotel was not really crowded, however, the small beach in front of the hotel was packed. I cannot imagine what it must be like in high season. It is worth walking along the coast either towards Malia or towards the port and find some bigger and emptier beaches. Or, if you don't mind, take a public bus to Kato Gouves (some 15 minutes ride) where the beaches are super nice and sandy (no rocks in the water).
Normally, we always go on travel holidays and never stay in one place for too long and it was my first experience with all inclusive. Salads were superb, but I can see how someone who is not too much into vegetables could get easily bored with the other choices. I was not really excited about the desserts (could be much better, the ice cream tasted too artificial, but then again, maybe it is one of those all inclusive things). We rented a car for three days and travelled around the island a bit - we did take the lunch packs, but just like someone already mentioned here, the sandwiches were not so good and we left the chicken for cats to eat (wouldn't really dare caring around pieces of chicken even though the weather wasn't too hot). It was OK enough to get water and fruits. Two times of three we got orange nectar with added sugar and it didn't taste nice at all.
Staff was very friendly, never faced any problems at all and they treated us nicely and with respect. Our room was cleaned very well every day, they didn't change sheets during the week (not that we mind), they did change our towels whenever we placed them on the floor (I don't see a reason for towels being changed every day). It is true that the rooms are a bit outdated, so was the bathroom. For a 4 star (even for Greece, I guess), it could use some re-modelling.
All in all, and given the fact that this was my first and probably last all inclusive holiday (it's just not my thing), from the reviews I expected much worse. I just don't see this hotel as an option for family or friends/couples, who want to enjoy holiday in one place which can offer them everything from beaches and pools to great all inclusive options. It would be OK as B&B or with half-board, but then the prices would need to be different (lower).

Room Tip: Never take room 123.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeeJay_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.4 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#120 of 171 in Hersonissos
368 reviews
24.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel
Alexander House Hotel
#18 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
142 reviews
6.6 mi away
Diogenis Blue Palace
Diogenis Blue Palace
#16 of 36 in Kato Gouves
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#28 of 33 in Amoudara
370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#59 of 171 in Hersonissos
497 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#60 of 171 in Hersonissos
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evelyn Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evelyn Beach Hotel

Property: Evelyn Beach Hotel
Address: A. Kanakaki & 25th Martiou | Limin Chersonisou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Evelyn Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Evelyn Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evelyn Beach Hersonissos
Hotel Evelyn Beach
Evelyn Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing