We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre stingy hotel in a tourist trap little town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Ranked #37 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mediocre stingy hotel in a tourist trap little town”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hersonissos (Hersonissou) is located 22-25 kilometers (14-15 miles) east of Iraklion airport along the northern sea shore. There are probably more than 100 hotels in this tourist trap little town. This particular hotel is located about half a mile north of the town, about 10 minute of easy walking.

Unfortunately, I have never stayed yet west of the airport, but after reading about Crete's attractions and touring some of them, it seems that the less crowded and more interesting locations are found in the center and western part of the island. By now one should be aware that it is quite recommended to rent a car in order to tour the island. As everywhere in Europe, gas prices are high, about 6.6 Euros (9 USD) per a US gallon of unleaded gas, however the tiny rental cars are very economic.

My personal recommendation is to avoid Hersonissos if one is bound to stay in this tourist trap little town, one should avoid Hersonissos Maris hotel (please don't confuse with nearby Creta Maris hotel).

The rooms are wide and their entrance is under the sky (a single metal key is provided). Mattresses are stiff (hard) and double beds are consisting of two twin beds. Floor is made of ceramic tiles and often ants can be found. A 22 inch TV in each room with several local channels, no English speaking channels (but no one came to Crete for TV watching).

Lighting is insufficient for reading (efficient CFL bulbs but very extremely low Watts). Two inch coin like soap bars are provided for the entire stay (however I assume that one may ask for additional soap). Each room is equipped with a small refrigerator. No coffee maker in the room (we brought our small traveling set).

Crete electricity voltage is 220-230 Volts. Nowadays power supply adaptors (for cell phones and portable PC) are provided to operate at both 110-220 Volt, so one has only to bring over its plug adaptor.

There is ample variety of food at breakfast and dinner (the 2 meals were included in our prepaid reservation). Bread and cheese were excellent. Coffee, juice and water are provided at breakfast.

No drink is provided at dinner. One has to pay even for drinking water (however a quart of water costs only 3 USD). Unless you brought your own coffee traveling set, coffee is available only in the bar, as well as a coin operated desktop (you better use your own device).

WiFi is available (for free) only around the lobby and the bar, however often the service is broken and one has to ask the receptionist to reset it.

We have not tried the Spa (for a fee) and it was too cold for the open air free swimming pool.

Room Tip: Stay out of this tourist trap little town, pick a location west of Irklion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathon308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    208
    71
    21
    18
See reviews for
115
247
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has a lovely setting. Our pretty room overlooked the pool and the Aegean. The huge lobby/lounge was welcoming and comfortable. However, there were some drawbacks. First of all, we were charged for our room safe, wifi in the room, and water with dinner. The breakfast and dinner buffets were plentiful, but a dinner buffet somehow engenders a cafeteria atmosphere. Transportation issues arose as we realized how isolated this resort was. We needed to walk into the little town to catch a bus to Heraklion to catch another bus to get to Knossos for instance.

This hotel is perfect for a leisurely getaway if an all-inclusive, stay-in-one place experience is what you desire.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank jnp48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hersonissos Maris for three nights. We knew it included breakfast but didn't know that dinner was included too. The room was nice as was the bathroom. We weren't thrilled about the amount of cats that were hanging around the restaurant and sleeping on the furniture in the lobby. The beach was small but served the purpose. There was a nice beachside cafe that we had lunch at. All in all it was a pleasant stay

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mbk21348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ge'alya, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My girlfriend and I just came back from a week in Hersonissos Maris (6.10.13-13.10.13) and i got to say- Incredible!
We booked this hotel through a pretty cheap vacation package so i didnt expect for a fancy hotel, but let me tell it is an amazing one.

ROOM:
first of all the rooms are great, we got a room with a porch looking at the whole bay with no additional price, just standard. the bed wasnt double but it really didnt matter. a great room with enough space, bathroom was good and clean, a small fridge and also a TV.

FOOD:
Then there is the food, AMAZING our package inclouded dinner and breakfast and both were amazing. an open buffet with tons of different meats, salads, fish and great deserts in dinner. and breakfast was also great with many fresh fruit and a verity of bread and eggs.

THE STAFF:
now i dont know if it is a manegment demand or not but all the staff speaks more then 2 langouges, the lady at the front desk told us she speaks 6!! all the staff was really great. always smiling and kind. my GF and I had tons of questions and everyday we came to the front desk and they were always glad to help us.

THE LOCATION:
the hotel itself is not downtown, it's pretty much outside hersonissos, but it's only about 10 minutes walk to town where all the action is going on. i think it's great because you can go to the town anytime you want but the hotel is quiet and not in a middle of a busy town. also right across the road (10 meters, 30 feet) from the lobby there is the sea. so there are many beaches near the hotel which are much more relaxed and empty then those in Hesonissos. also from the hotel you can sign up to many activities in the area like the water park and stufff that require transportation.

ALL AND ALL
so to sum it up- a great place with great value for your money an even more. had an amazing time in crete and the Hersonissos Maris made it so amazing. finding a good hotel was my most important goal and i couldnt choose any better than this. the food and the facilities were great but I think that most of the credit goes to the amazing staff- THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!! room 104!

Room Tip: the rooms in the main building have view to the sea- 101-110 i think. they are standard rooms but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuval B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week at the end of May 2012 for the duration of a conference. The hotel was very well priced for the whole week which included breakfast and dinner. I arrived at the hotel at around 2am in the morning and found a plate with some food prepared, which was very welcoming. The rooms were normally decorated but were very clean. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful when required. Location is excellent, and next to a lovely beach and some touristy shops. The hotel was also not far from Hersonissos - around a 10 minute walk.The only downside was the the WiFi couldn't be accessible from my room, so I had to go down to the lobby.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room where the WiFi is reachable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livermagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Pros: Friendly staff, good food, 2 swimming pools, re decorated rooms and showers.
Cons: 1 key per room (a real key, not a card. Only 1 is given so it's a problem if you're not alone). Room has a safe but it costs 7.5EURO/3Days - and again - a big key you have to hide or carry with you.
Shower was new and clean but there was almost no pressure in on either cold or hot water.
Wifi: available only in the lobby, and limited to ~8 users - NOT COOL.
No drinking water in breakfast or dinner - you can buy a bottle.
Jacuzzi is 15EURO for 40 minutes. outrages.

Nice and beautiful hotel, but not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: We saw that there are some rooms with private pools. Worth checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What can I say except hotel lovely. Hotel lovely. Food lovely. People staff /lovely.location lovely
I travelled solo to this resort & felt very safe Met some great new friends & staff cant do enough for you

Room Tip: I was at the back of hotel. View was great & no noise from other bars etc. The poolside was love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiestacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#50 of 171 in Hersonissos
356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#58 of 171 in Hersonissos
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Infinity Blue Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#16 of 171 in Hersonissos
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites

Property: Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
Address: Limin Hersonissos, P.O. Box 38, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#38 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hersonissos Maris Hotel Chersonisos
Maris Hotel Hersonissos
Hersonissos Maris Hotel And Suites Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing