We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid standard hotel”
Review of Semiramis Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Semiramis Village
Ranked #121 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A solid standard hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Before our trip, we were terrified by the bad reviews for this hotel. When we arrived we discovered a clean room, pleasant staff, a large variety of food. computers for guests use, a pool, a bar and in our room air conditioning and an refrigerator, as well as a stunning view of the sea.

The hotel quite suited us considering the purpose of our vacation, which did not include relaxing in the hotel or using any of its facilities. If you are looking for any of those, this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is located quite far away (by foot: 30-45 mins to, about 1hr back) from downtown Hersonissos (where all the restaurants, shops, bars and clubs are) but close enough to the Star Beach complex (that includes a waterpark, pools, beach, fast food shops, souvenir shops and open-air parties).

Overall we didn't spend much time in the hotel, but the needs we did have -- a clean room to sleep in and food, were fulfilled and even exceeded, but not by much.

We were lucky to get a room on the second floor - as the hotel has 7 floors and no elevator after the first floor!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor, don't expect a luxury hotel even thou it's supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megaroydizzytron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    92
    93
    70
    87
See reviews for
83
182
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

booked 4*+ allocation on arrival, half board basis. We ended up here !!! a 99% all inclusive hotel. No way is this 4*+ - more like a 3*
The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill - see photos - cardiac hill !
Food was terrible !!! survived on boiled eggs and bread every day for brekkie. Dinner was just as bad. We suffered the embarrassment of being asked to pay for water at the dinner table - we thought it was free - it was but only to the all inclusive guests - hence the poor relations title - thats what we felt like !!!!
Wasn't a warm welcome. You have to pay for your air conditioning - in a 4* ??????
You have to pay for your refridgerator in your room !!!!
Won't be visiting here again!

Room Tip: basic but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LillianGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

moddin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

are actually under this link right here
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g503710-d497734-Reviews-Semiramis_Village_Hotel-Hersonissos_Crete.html
and have actually about 111 reviews (nice number huh ? )

sorry cant really put a review myself but i hope i helped to solve a bit of confution there.

have fun and continue your good work trip advisor guys and reviewers.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank amotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I just got back from a week in Crete yesterday, and stayed at the Semiramas with my boyfriend.

First of all, people need to realise that the facilities in Greece ARE basic.. This is in every hotel, villa, apartment etc. It is even considered a LUXURY to have a shower curtain! (Which the Semiramas had)

I have to admit before we left I read some of the reviews on here and I was worried, especially as it was my first holiday without my parents but when we arrived at the hotel I instantly thought 'What were those people complaining about?!' The hotel reception is lovely and cool, very modern. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. We were shown our room, and it was very clean and had all the basic requirements needed. We had a wonderful sea view with a balcony, double bed, TV, bathroom with a shower sink and toilet. Our rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels and clean sheets.

The food was lovely as well, I dont understand why people on here were saying that the hotel was only catering for the German guests, when actually the catered for EVERYONE. There was so much choice! For breakfast they did -
Beans, Fried Eggs, Bacon, Sausages, Omelettes, Pancakes, Waffles, Boiled Eggs, Fresh fruit salad, Bread & butter, Different cereals, Spreads for your bread and so much more!
For Lunch they did -
Pasta, Quiches, a wide variety of salad, Bread etc
For Dinner they did -
Pasta, Potatoes, Lasagne, Chips, Mash Potatoes, Rice, Salad, Bread, pork, beef, turkey etc.

The location was excellent, to the left you have Hersonissos, a 15 minute walk and your into the town with plenty of shops and restaurants. To the right you have Stallis, a 20 minute walk and you are at the beach with loads of water sports and tavernas (I recommend the Romantic Corner) and loads of shops. Also at the bottom of the hotel there are 2 supermarkets which offer all your essentials.

I noticed that a lot of people on here were complaining about the hill to the hotel, it really is not as bad as they said, unless you have walking difficulties. You could also hire quadbikes, mopeds and cars if you felt that would be easier than walking.

Also, people were complaining about having to pay for the air conditioning and fridge... Well if you looked in the Olympic book it does say they are payable locally. When we went on our excursions and spoke to other couples from other hotels they said they also had to pay for the air con and fridge... It was only 8 euro a day for the air con and 6 for the fridge so its not a big deal!

I would defiantly recommend this hotel, the staff were lovely, the rooms were clean, the food was excellent, the location was great. Please make your own opinion of the hotel, if I had gone by all the bad reviews I probably wouldnt have gone or I would've cancelled.

Room Tip: request a room on the first floor or second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank seeingxsoundsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The first thing that is unforgivable is the fact that the dining room and the lobby aren't airconditioned, or at least weren't so when i was there. the food is very basic and isn't compatable to the mideteranian palate (I'm from israel).
The air conditioner in the rooms is also weak (we switched two rooms and was so in both, and other guests said that the have the same problem).
The hotel is definitly not 4 star hotel more like two, there is no gym sauna or any other thing except the pool, which is the only nice thing there.
Not worth more than 30 euros for a night, the same as taking an air conditioned apartment.

Room Tip: Depends if you can climp steps. the rooms are scattered on a hill across the sea. the best rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

It's not a 4 star hotel, maybe 2,5 /3.
Hotel stuff are friendly,rooms are clean but with very old utilities.
Small pool, far away from the beach .
Foods are avarage, deffinetaly we wouldn't stay again...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reservian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We just came back from 5 amazing days in Crete! I must say that the hotel was just ok.

Plus sides:
The service at the front desk is wonderful
The first look at the internior is very nice
The pool is great but there's barely any coverage

The fallbacks:
The rooms - we had ants and an ancient TV with only a couple of foreign channels - I don't usually require TV but I traveled with my kids this time. Also the beds were awful.
Extras services all come at a charge, even drinks during meals for those who don't order the all inclusive deal
The food was mediocre at best - luckily they had pasta every night which suited the kids very well but the selection for adults was poor

Having said that, it is a decent motel (not hotel) to stay in if you plan to travel around the island all day every day, which we did and had a great time doing so!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.0 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#39 of 58 in Heraklion
402 reviews
18.5 mi away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#67 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#77 of 171 in Hersonissos
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#64 of 171 in Hersonissos
536 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#23 of 52 in Stalis
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiramis Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiramis Village

Property: Semiramis Village
Address: Drapano, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Semiramis Village 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Semiramis Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village Hersonissos
Semiramis Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing