We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Semiramis Village
Nearby Hotels
Sergios Hotel(Hersonissos)
US$80
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Central Hersonissos Hotel(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harma Boutique Hotel(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marni Village(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astra Village Apartments(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Creta Maris Beach Resort(Hersonissos)
US$148
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Asterias Village Resort(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Heights Golf Resort(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
49
100
99
76
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
100
99
76
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoft drinkssalt water poolnight lifelobby areathe hotel is cleanhotel is situatedstalidaemanuelminoanelectricity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I just arrived back from a stay at Semiramis Village Hotel, where I spent a week on a relaxing holiday with a friend. Initially I was faced with disappointment as the holiday website from which we booked this trip listed the address of the hotel as being in Koutolofari, a beautiful small village up the mountainside away from the larger resorts. Turns out Koutolofari was at least 45-50 minutes walk away from the hotel. The hotel is actually based in between Hersonissos and Stalis, it's a 10 minute walk from Stalis and 30 minute walk from Hersonissos - but Stalis is still a nice resort, prettier than Hersonissos and with a much nicer beach. The bus stops are also very close, just on the right as you come out of the entrance of the hotel, and from here you can get to Malia, Agios Nikaloas, or the other way Hersonissos, Cretaquarium, Heraklion etc.

The slope up to the hotel is in no way daunting for anyone of reasonable fitness, it takes 2 minutes to walk up, but I would not recommend it for any person with walking difficulties unless you hire a car.

The hotel itself is pleasant, clean and presentable. In Greece the standards of hotel class are lower than in other countries, so expect more of a 3* British standard than 4*. However I cannot fault the hotel on much - the room was basic, cleaned daily and towels changed 3 times per week. You have the option of air conditioning at 6E per day but we decided that it wasn't necessary. You can also have a fridge in your room for 10E per week, however we discovered our fridge worked fine without the payment - not sure whether this was a one-off in our case! There was a TV with BBC world news, the only english channel but this wasn't a problem for us. The pool was lovely and clean, however the fact that it was salt water was a slight disappointment. There was always plenty of sun beds and umbrellas to go around, and a large mix of nationalities present which was nice.

We stayed on a half board basis, which was fine for us as we ventured out of the hotel for lunch to try local restaurants. The breakfast was very good, there was a daily selection of cooked breakfast items - always baked beans, boiled eggs, tomatoes etc. There was also continental selection, bread, a toaster, jams and chocolate spread, and various muesli with different dried fruits, as well as a daily selection of fresh fruit. The evening meal was always good too, with various meat dishes available every night and also vegetarian options, and often traditional Greek dishes. There was a different soup every night, and also pasta with two sauces - always one vegetarian. There was a very good salad bar every night too. Greeks aren't too fussed about desserts, but there was always a few options and ice cream every night, as well as more fresh fruit.

There was a Cretan night on Monday night which was well worth a visit, traditional Cretan musicians and dancers, they were keen for guests to join in too and even played an encore when requested...good fun and no payment required, except your cocktails at the bar!

As for the local area, as I mentioned Stalis is close by, Hersonissos is walkable but you can also hop on one of the buses (actually the local buses are coaches, look out for green ones with "Minoan Lines" written on). Hersonissos is worth a look, but it's quite tacky - similar to Malia, which is the next resort down from Stalis. My recommendation would be to visit the villages; Koutolofari, Piscopiano and Old Hersonissos. A taxi would cost roughly 7-10E and the shops are beautiful, and there are plenty of authentic restaurants and creperies - such as Vinnie's Garden, which has a lovely terrace, a vast cocktail and crepe menu and also does huge ice creams!

Overall I didn't find it the most inspiring place, I think if you go definitely plan on doing trips which enable you to see more of Crete than just this small area. However a nice place for a relaxing week in the sun!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samgiraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

just sent my daughter and friends to have a week of fun on HB basis
this is what they came with:
it is 5 stars hotel but actualy not more than low grade 4 stars
the pool looks huge on the hotels internet site but it is rather salty water mid size pool.
The food is far away from 5 stars, basic, poor variety and not tasty to our middle eastern expectations.
The room is very average, kingsize beds are narrow and so is the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shpirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We spent a week in Semiramis, together with our 3 teenage kids. Firstly I want to comment on the exact location on the hotel, which is 35°18'7.34"N and 25°25'1.46"E . We booked two rooms : one double room for ourselves, and a family room for the kids. Both rooms were next to each other in the 2nd floor. Both were large (above average) and had nice balconies with excellent view of the hotel pool and the gulf of Malia, a truly excellent place to relax early in the evening or late at night. The hotel has a very modern reception/lobby area, but most other facilities are just average though nothing is missing. It has a main building (reception-restaurant-pool-sports + some rooms) and then 2 other room buildings (with 3 floors each), check with Google Earth for exact details. Main building is the only with a lift, so you have to walk all the way for the rest which might be a long way (we were lucky on this). Also the hotel is on a small hill (50m) and you have to walk up the private hotel road (from main street) for about 200m. It is really an easy walk, but if you have already walked for 2 km from Malia/Stalida in 35C then yes it would be hard to get the extra 200m up the hill. I had a normal booking (room with breakfast only) so A/C and fridge was available and already included in the price. The staff was very friendly, rooms were cleaned daily and I have no complaints. Breakfast was ok, with variety from day-to-day. Guests were mostly 18-30 years of age (two thirds of guests), plus some families with kids or teenagers, plus a few older couples. Italians were the largest (and most noisy) group, with also many Israeli, Russian, German and other west/east Europeans. Greeks (like me) were a small minority! Most (at least half) guests were on an all-inclusive package. The hotel is just 1-2 km away from the busy areas of Hersonissos and 1-3 km from Stalida and Malia. Both these places are excellent for 18-30 year old people, with many restaurants, shops and clubs, everything a young person needs to have a happy and entertaining holiday. That is, the hotel is off the busy places (=it’s quiet and relaxing) but still easy to go there, even by just walking (most just did this). On the other hand the hotel pool was large and nice and we used it daily. We had once an evening entertainment (free) in the hotel with live greek folk music, and everybody seemed to have an excellent time. The Semiramis is next to another hotel which has a small amphitheater with live animation every evening, mainly for kids. Since the theater is just below the Semiramis pool and our view is excellent, we noticed most evenings many guests were attending the animation next door! There are also super markets and reasonably priced shops with practically everything close to the hotel. Also there is a car rental firm just next to the hotel. One thing I disliked in Crete is the abundant rental of all kind of bikes (2 or 4 wheels + buggy) which are noisy, quite dangerous, and available to everybody wishing to book one (even not competent to drive it). In brief it was a nice stay in a convenient hotel, in a nice area, in a very beautiful island with so many things to see and enjoy!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for easy access and best view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ArgirisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Before our trip, we were terrified by the bad reviews for this hotel. When we arrived we discovered a clean room, pleasant staff, a large variety of food. computers for guests use, a pool, a bar and in our room air conditioning and an refrigerator, as well as a stunning view of the sea.

The hotel quite suited us considering the purpose of our vacation, which did not include relaxing in the hotel or using any of its facilities. If you are looking for any of those, this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is located quite far away (by foot: 30-45 mins to, about 1hr back) from downtown Hersonissos (where all the restaurants, shops, bars and clubs are) but close enough to the Star Beach complex (that includes a waterpark, pools, beach, fast food shops, souvenir shops and open-air parties).

Overall we didn't spend much time in the hotel, but the needs we did have -- a clean room to sleep in and food, were fulfilled and even exceeded, but not by much.

We were lucky to get a room on the second floor - as the hotel has 7 floors and no elevator after the first floor!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor, don't expect a luxury hotel even thou it's supposed to be 4*
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank megaroydizzytron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

booked 4*+ allocation on arrival, half board basis. We ended up here !!! a 99% all inclusive hotel. No way is this 4*+ - more like a 3*
The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill - see photos - cardiac hill !
Food was terrible !!! survived on boiled eggs and bread every day for brekkie. Dinner was just as bad. We suffered the embarrassment of being asked to pay for water at the dinner table - we thought it was free - it was but only to the all inclusive guests - hence the poor relations title - thats what we felt like !!!!
Wasn't a warm welcome. You have to pay for your air conditioning - in a 4* ??????
You have to pay for your refridgerator in your room !!!!
Won't be visiting here again!

Room Tip: basic but clean
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LillianGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews