We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good well located budget accommodation”
Review of Adams Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adams Apartments
Ranked #94 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good well located budget accommodation”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Adams Apartments are basic 3-star apartments which are clean, reasonably comfortable and well located in the resort town of Hersonissos - perfect for those on a budget who want to get value for money but stay in a reasonable place.

We stayed in cottages behind the main building (2 bedroom, 5 beds). These cottages have a kitchenette (but we didn't use the electrical hotplates) and fridge which is great for washing up kids things, keeping breakfast milk & yoghurt and having somewhere to make tea. The cottages have air-conditioning available (EUR6 per day), tiled floors and reasonably comfortable beds (we slept ok although we were pretty tired after active days). The cottages can be noisy if you have a noisy neighbour but as previous review has mentioned they also have a lovely patio area to sit out and have breakfast. No flyscreens so mosquitoes are a problem (bring plug-ins and repellent). The bathrooms are not modern so were abit shabby and basic but the rest of the cottage was fine. We bought toilet rolls, dishwashing liquid, gloves and scourers from the shops to keep the place clean (but that is just me).

The pool area was well looked after and attractive with lots of sunbeds and very inviting on a hot day. Good bar area for drinks and snacks, internet available (pay for use) and there is a BBQ one night (but not great value if you don't eat lots of meat).

It is well located at the far end of Hersonissos (if you are driving from Iraklion) near a large supermarket. Up the hill, the hill towns of Koutoulafari, Piskapiano and Old Hersonissos (our favourite and don't miss the live Greek music on Monday nights - the restaurant on the right-hand corner as you enter town from the Piskapiano end with a wood-fire pizza oven was the best) were a must and we ate there every night. The kids loved Star Beach just down the hill and it was a great place to chill in the afternoon after doing some sightseeing or exploring.

The managers of the hotel were hospitable, friendly and warm and we loved our time in Greece. By staying at Adams, we could afford to hire a bigger family car for a week and eat out every day at nice restaurants - our first trip to Greece and we weren't disappointed; we loved our trip to Crete.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sim92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    29
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We were a group of four so were allocated a small bungalow apartment behind the main block. Unfortunately the interior of the apartment was very drab and dark. It looked like the decor hadnt been changed for years. Knobs were falling off the wardrobes and the kettle wouldnt work. There was a grotty odd collection of cutlery and chipped crockery. On the first night we got bitten alive by mosquitoes and these remained a real problem for the week. The gardens around the apartments were neglected and looked sad. Despite having said "maid service 5 times a week" we received very little cleaning and the bathroom was in quite a state by the end of the week.

Despite this the pool and bar area was most agreeable and probably the best asset of the place. Plenty of sunbeds and we often had the pool to ourselves.

The village of koutouloufari 10 minutes walk up the hill was absolutely lovely and we visited every evening for drinks, dinner and coffees. This really made the holiday and we have decided we would like to return to perhaps stay in the village next time.

We only walked into the resort of Hersonisis once and decided not to go there again as it is big and brash and not at all attractive.

Overall we had a good week as the weather was great. We were all just disappointed with the apartments themselves.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinesimonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Having read the mixed reviews for Adams Apartments, I really didn't know what to expect. What I found was really good budget accommodation, of a higher standard than many similarly priced places elsewhere in Greece.
Having spoken to my fellow guests, it seems that the most critical were those with little or no experience of Greece. They had previously holidayed mostly in Spain, and found some evidence of 'laissez faire' regarding upkeep and maintenance.
By this I mean such things as the shower curtain being too short, a bit of mould on the shower sealant, floor not mopped every day, not enough spare toilet rolls left in the room, odd bulbs in the lamps, basic cutlery and dishes etc. (Not all in the same apartment!)
If any of these factors would ruin your budget holiday, I would suggest Spain is a better option.
For me, such things are incidental given the kindness, charm and honesty of the people of Greece.
Unlike Spain, the price is the price in Greece, and that is what you will pay. You won't be mugged or have your valuables stolen from the beach, and you will be treated as a valued customer and friend.
I found the apartment entirely satisfactory, and Adam's has a beautiful, crystal clear pool with plenty of beds and sunshades. The pool is served by an attractive bar with reasonably priced drinks and snacks. There is a weekly barbeque and a karaoke night for residents.
Adam's is well placed for Star Beach and the gorgeous beach front walk into Hersonissos, or a visit to Koutoulafari - a very pretty village a short walk uphill.
Accommodation is either in the main building (studios with balcony) or in (2 roomed + shower) cabins with a patio, dotted around beautiful mature gardens.
Manos, behind the bar, will keep an accurate tab, greet you like an old friend, and do anything he can to make your stay easy.
Now, two slight drawbacks. Mosquitos love Hersonissos too. Make sure you bring plug- ins and Jungle Formula (for adults only). If I could suggest one (probably costly) improvement to Adam's, it would be to add fly screens to the windows. You can, of course, pay for aircon.
The other is, the sound insulation isn't great. If you were unlucky enough to get inconsiderate noisy neighbours, it might be a problem - although ours were all lovely.
All in all, Adam's is perfect for a week dozing and lazing around the pool, or a more energetic swimming, snorkelling and walking holiday. Or you could have a sociable, wining, dining and shopping holiday - whatever, you are bound to enjoy it if you go prepared.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mouldylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

we are in our 50's and found the staff to be really helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and basic with a good view of the sea from the balcony, but in need of a good clean and touch up. Llocal beach entertainment catered for 18 -30s with loud music and late night partying, but this did not effect us too much. We did find a nice beach near the museum about a 10 minute walk away with a couple of taverna's for a light lunch. Situation of apartments is good for shopping and tavernas in the old village, and main resort, but is on a slight incline so not good for anyone with mobility problems. Food and weather was really good especially local taverna tarantella a typical greek restaurant with excellent menu / food at a good price. Pool was good and the bar b q on saturday nights is excellent value for money with karaoke afterwards, if this is your type of entertainment.
Might go back to crete but would prefer some where more traditional with a good beach close by. Ideal apartments for a young group of friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrinadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen64
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We arrived at 11.30pm to a friendly welcome from Manos. Room was basic but lovely & clean. Bed was really comfy. Pool area was also very clean and never had to rush for a sunbed. We took advice from other reviews and found the villages at the top of the hill. Gorgeous. Needless to say, we never bothered with the more busy strip which was also just 10/15 mins walk away. Manos was brilliant, he even made some sandwiches for us when we left for the airport What a lovely gesture. Beaches were lovely and sandy. Supermarkets with the most gorgeous fresh orange juice just down the road. Would recomend these apartments to anyone and have told all our friend to go. Congratulations to Manos, who is waiting for the arrival of his first baby. Hope everything goes well and Good luck.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Booked this holiday on Saturday for 4 nights; flew out Tuesday - last minute deal at £345 for the 2 of us and an absolute bargain.
Near to all shops, bars, the beach etc
Room was spacious, clean and had a small kitchenette area. There was even a t.v. in the bedroom!
The staff were really friendly - they carried my case to my room and when we had a problem with the bathroom they came out straight away and sorted it. You could get a drink/something to eat any time of day there and there were 2 supermarkets just minutes away.
I would certainly go back there.
Was very surprised to read the negative comments!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberose1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We arrive at the apartments to join our friends who had already been there a week and had, therefore, done all the hard work for us.
The apartments were spacious, clean but basic - this is Greece after all! The rooms were cleaned every day and I have never had so many changes of bed linen. The staff were friendly and helpful.
It was very much a resort of two halves - we turned left during the day for the beaches - our favourite was Aleko's Garden which was to the right of Star Beach. Star Beach itself had a fab water park area for children which was free to enter. You could stay there for the day - the sunbeds here were 4 Euros per day I think, or do what we did and call in for a beer on the way back from the beach so the children could have a play. Fabulous!
At night we turned right out of the apartments and walked up the hill to the beautiful village of Koutouloufari where you will find everything you expect from a Greek holiday. There are tavernas and restaurants aplenty and you need never eat in the same place twice. If you walk a little bit further to the next village, there are a couple of particularly nice bars and restaurants.
The pool area at the Adams Apartments was clean and not at all crowded - no getting up at silly o'clock to put your towel down here!!! There was a particularly friendly atmosphere around the pool whilst we were there - we had met up with our dear friends as I said, but we also met some more great people. Barbecue night was particularly good and was a great way of meeting the other guests.
All in all we had a fantastic time and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadamMythos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.0 mi away
Cosmi Apartments
Cosmi Apartments
#27 of 36 in Kato Gouves
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Despina
Hotel Despina
#136 of 171 in Hersonissos
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Despina Apartments
Despina Apartments
#18 of 36 in Kato Gouves
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevini Apartments
Sevini Apartments
#17 of 30 in Kato Gouves
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dimitra Apartments
Dimitra Apartments
#2 of 5 in Kato Gouves
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adams Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adams Apartments

Property: Adams Apartments
Address: 20 Ag Konstantinou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adams Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Adams Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adams Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Adams Apartments Hersonissos
Adams Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Adams Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing