We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a right price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmera Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palmera Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a right price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel is located at the end of the boulevard. The entrance, lounge and balconies have had a makeover and now looks beautiful and pleasant.
Rooms are clean and fresh and clean. Breakfast and dinner is buffet style. Breakfast is oa from yoghurt, fruit, cereals, boiled eggs, salad buffet, sandwiches, cheese, sausage. There are also oa. fried eggs, sausages, crepes and waffles. Coffee or tea and various juices. At Dinner you can choose from fish and meat, potatoes, French fries, pasta various vegetables and oven preparations. Also, there is a large salad buffet, soup and a dessert buffet and ice cream. As you can read, the choice is huge. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. Hotel also offers a good base for nice walks or by bus to another place to go. Nearby are shops and cosy bars and restaurants if you want to eat outside the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    125
    47
    12
    12
See reviews for
94
208
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suceava, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I and my wife stayed in this hotel at the end of June 2014. Good hotel and a great location!
Staff: pleasant, familiar and stylish. I really appreciated the cleaning from hotel and varied menu served in the restaurant.
Goog food!
We visited many places (by rent a car) and this location in middle of Creta is ideal and let us to travel in any direction.
Do not lose: VAI, BALOS and MATALA beach, then Lassithi plateau with Zeus cave and more others! There are a lot to visit in Crete and 7 days are to little.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satu Mare, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Before booking, I emailed to ask if this proporty is suitable for a family with a small child, I asked if I can have a quiet room. G Sfakianakis hotel manager replied -we will do the best for you and for your room.
the first night I slept in a room on the first floor of the new building. nigtmare!
Ukrainian neighbors all night moved furniture, doors were slammed, killed mosquitoes and outside could be heard very loud mopeds. the next day I got a room in the old building, overlooking the garden. no longer heard mopeds outside. Instead, the noise was coming from inside. the hotel is occupied 99% of tourists from Ukraine and Russia. uneducated people without manners, slam doors non-stop, screaming, laughing loudly, listening to loud music at midnight. my son slept very bad.
baby cot mattress had broken. when I press the reception, they said they would fix the problem. have put two blankets over the mattress. what a joke!
room was very clean, warm water non-stop.
poor quality food.
I asked for a seat in the restaurant for the child, and Nicu brought a chair very dirty. it was cleaned after I said it was dirty. One day I looked in the room babys chin and I asked Nicu a napkin, and he gave me one dirty, dirty napkins in basket. to be ashamed, Nicu!
I preferred to eat at the taverns Mythos and The Alchemist. excellent food!
Front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, as well as bar girls.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianabzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmera S, General Manager at Palmera Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear dianabzs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments regarding the room cleanliness and the friendliness of our staff.

We would like to express our sincere apologies that your experience with us was not what you expected, we hope to have the chance to change your opinion in the near future.

As you state in your detailed message, I personally assured you of the quiet room, which was appointed to you at your arrival.

Please note that you asked right away for a room change (without having stayed in the room). After we showed to you a few different choices, you chose another room (not so quiet, as you were informed by our team-members)

The next day you expressed the desire to return to your previous / first room, mentioning that we were right about the 'not so quiet room'.

Kindly notice that it would be preferable if you had informed me or our 24h reception staff that there was noise coming from your neighbors.

This way we would have found together a solution on the spot and you could have enjoyed more your stay with us.

In regards to the baby cot mattress problem, after checking the log books personally, I can assure you that after your report to the evening shift, the staff put an additional mattress and afterwards covered it with the blanket you mention.

We are sorry that our food did not appeal to you. Kindly note that our hotel daily receives very good reviews for our hotel, our services, our staff and our food. This is also clearly appearing in the TripAdvisor site and the guests' messages.

However I would like to assure you that all your comments have been noted, and we will make sure that extra attention is paid in all the areas that you mention in your message.

We would like to express our apologies again and hope to have the chance of offering you a memorable stay in the future.

Your Sincerely,

George Sfakianakis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just got back from this hotel. We were very happy with it overall. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the receptionists and the very hardworking waiters. Mike was quiet and sweet and Niko was always smiling and attentive. The food was pretty good for a hotel, although it was not particularly Greek and it is good to go to a restaurant occasionally. The only downsides as far as we were concerned was the fact that although there was a gymnasium it cost extra. In Europe and all over the world we have always found hotel gymnasium to be free to hotel guests, so perhaps it is just a Greek thing. Also, we were unlucky enough to have a room at the front which overlooked the sea, but also the pathway which was very noisy because of a restaurant just below which played loud music til nearly midnight and the young revellers who returned from partying at 3 or 4 in the morning. I had to take sleeping pills or sleep would have been impossible. The rooms were clean and towels seem to be changed every day. However, the bed bases had wooden corners and we ended up with several bruises. We would stay there again but only if we had a side or back facing room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

this was our 4th year of staying what we now call home from home. thanks to all the staff at the palmera ,from Themis,Giorgios and all. You could not wish to stay in a better,friendlier, or cleaner hotel in Chersonossos. My wife and i are counting the days till we go back again this year 2014.The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, the whole of the hotel is spotless. The food is excellent and cooked to your liking and the staff could not be more helpful and can tell about everything on the menu, plus all the food is cooked fresh seeyou soon from ian & barbara Merseyside

Room Tip: if this is your firs time to Crete this is the hotel to stay at .The sea view rooms are superb to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Please go and try their food!! We ate their twice in our ten day stay and I wish we had eaten their every night. Very large portions and very tasty. As a family of chefs we would recommend this to anyone. The staff was fantastic and couldn't do more for us. Even when we was asking 20 questions about each dish we had!! To which our waiter (sugar man) knew everything about. If the chef phoned in sick they wouldn't be stuck for backup lol. Plus the shop on the side where you could their products. I hope to be back in September and we will be straight back.

We would like to thank staff for a great couple nights! Some great memories.
Thank you from Yorkshire x

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We only used the restaurant on the beach road, late one night in May. Food was very good value, I tried the T-bone, my wife had the salmon. Enormous portions and very tasty. We were the last to arrive and the last to leave, but they were in no hurry to close.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 14 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#14 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silva Beach
Silva Beach
#21 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmera Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmera Beach Hotel

Property: Palmera Beach Hotel
Address: 15 25Is Martiou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#3 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#25 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmera Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to announce that in early 2015, the renovation of the second building was completed. In addition, our main restaurant & buffet area was refurbished and expanded. It is our goal to constantly upgrade our infrastructure and services and offer our guests memorable and comfortable holidays! Palmera Beach Hotel, in Hersonissos offers warm, friendly and pleasant holidays to those who want to relax and enjoy the Cretan hospitality in the beautiful scenery of Crete, where guests easily become friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Palmera Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palmera Beach
Palmera Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing