We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper holiday......”
Review of Minas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minas Apartments
Ranked #39 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We return here as often as possible for the same reasons as many others. If you haven't been before, you may be disappointed by the lack of sink plugs, having to buy your own toilet paper, the balcony light that doesn't work, electric sockets in the most inconvenient places, bathroom floors that get wet everytime you shower, lots of stairs, no lifts, noise from the street, temperamental kettles and utility furniture. If this kind of stuff bothers you, then you shouldn't bother to come. This place is 'all inclusive' in the best sense. The welcome, the hospitality, the silly jokes, the sarcasm and insults,the local information, the kindness, the company, knowledge and holiday friendships of returning guests is all included. The barbecue and raki run is a little optional extra. This is an old fashioned style holiday where you can just relax and enjoy yourself. It's the people that make it special for us. Even Thomas Cook has given up trying to flog you overpriced and overrated trips. Never saw a rep the entire time we were there. Once again we are indebted to the other guests and family at Minas apartments for a great holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mrbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have to say what a fantastic Holiday we had at the MInas Apartments, nothing is too much trouble for Jenny, Maria, Minas and Stefan, You feel like you are going home to family rather than going on holiday to a hotel.
On arriving at the hotel the early hours of the morning Jenny and Maria met us and put our cases in our room before making sure we had a drink after are long day of travelling you would not get that service at some hotels.
We spent 2 weeks relaxing at the hotel and on an evening all the family sit with you and chat all together, you dont really need to go anywhere else it is such a laugh and playing dominos with Maria was such fun.
We will certainly be back next year to see you all again,
This is a little jewel in Crete that I can happily say we will be going back to year after year.
It has all the facilites for any family to have a great holiday it has the best location for all the resort amenities including Valentinos bakery at the top of the path so you have to walk past every day and smell the fresh baked bread.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you are looking for a great holiday look no further from the minute you arrive you are made to feel welcome.these family run apartments are basic but adequate and clean there is agood sized pool and bar and excellent food cooked as required a really friendly atmosphere and only a couple of minutes from the beach and many tavernas and restaurents thanks again to the family Minas Maria and special thanks to Jenny wishing a speedy recovery to Stefan.we have already booked for next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billnasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Thank you for yet another great holiday loved the BBQ meet some great friends .thank you jenny miria minas for a lovely time and get well soon to Stephan xxx. For 3 star apartments I would give it 5 star for the service would highly recommend the Mina's apartment xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfhhgfdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

this is the second visit to minas this year.We agree with other contributors that as soon as you walk down the alley you feel at home. the accommodation is basic but clean, the food good value for money & the location excellent..The secret is the family &the regular guests that have become friends. we made our on arrangements for the first time & will continue to do so in the future..easyjet from manchester where excellent & far better than thomas cook.
There are numerous good restuarants close by . Our favourites are mythos just around the corner,alex & christines meze at koutolovfrari& the little OAEH at the side of the kiosk in the square at old hersonisos.
went to the aquarium ( near the spar) for the first time .well worth a visit
best wishes to all our friends & we hope stefan is well by our next visit

Room Tip: rooms away from the bar are quiter so take earplugs just in case.this is a very social holiday venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Every year my wife and I say we will have to try somewhere different. When we get to Crete and walk up to the entrance of the apartments we know we're home and could never go anywhere else. The rooms are basic and have just what you need for a self catering holiday. Situated near the sea front surrounded by cafes restaurants and shops you won't need to travel far. The family who run the apartments will help to make your holiday a memorable one. Don't be shy ask them were the best place to eat is be it English, Greek even Chinese. Most of the guests staying there will have been a few times before so ask them as well. Be warned the accommodation is basic and to some a bit of a shock. I read that somebody didn't like having to put their toilet paper in the bin you have to whether your in a five star or three star hotel. Don't forget you booked a self-catering holiday you don't get free soap and shampoo. The rooms are clean and tidy.

Room Tip: If your nosy like me and my wife and like to people watch and don't mind a bit of noise ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bogrollpest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from another brilliant 2 weeks at the Minas. Thanks to Minas, Maria, Stephan and especially Jenny we had a fantastic time.
The whole family makes you feel welcome and your stay most enjoyable.
It is nice to meet up with other guest and friends.
We would recommend the Minas apartments if you want a great time with lovely people. Thank you to you all once again and see you next year. Love you all.
Keith Kath and Margaret.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0 mi away
Acropolis Apartments
Acropolis Apartments
#62 of 172 in Hersonissos
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kassavetis Center
Kassavetis Center
#133 of 172 in Hersonissos
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Plazza
Porto Plazza
#85 of 172 in Hersonissos
55 reviews
45.7 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#4 of 8 in Sfakaki
66 reviews
1 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minas Apartments

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#5 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £20 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minas Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Minas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minas Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Minas Apartments Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing