We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Holiday”
Review of Minas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minas Apartments
Ranked #37 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is the sort of hotel where you can just go down to the bar and have a good time with whoever is there. Everyone we met there was friendly and accommodating, Especially the owners, Minas, Jenny, Maria and Stefan, as well as any other family members that popped up to help from time to time. It is them that made this holiday that much better, and looked after us when we were too drunk to look after ourselves.
Also, this place is a short walk from the strip with countless bars, clubs and restaurants (only a handful we managed to try) but still far enough away to be quiet on a night time.
In short, I would definitely visit again. Thanks!!

Tom

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

lovely place run by great owners local restaurants and bars also football available nearby close to the mainstreet and waterfront i loved my stay a good pool and food served at the bar so i couldnt doubt coming again all 3 of us lovedour stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Well it's been 2 years since our last visit, and we had as fabulous time as before. Minas, Jenny and Maria couldn't be more accommodating, and the guests were all really friendly, including everyone sitting at the bar into their conversations. The weekly barbecue was the best value for money anywhere, for 10 euros we were treated to all the usual BBQ food, bottle of wine per couple, lashings and lashings of Raki, which I really think was lighter fuel :). Then the festivities! Minas dancing on the pool table with a bevvy of beauties all suitably adorned with fancy hats. The apartments are basic, this is Greece after all, but what they lack in luxury, the family more than make up for with their hospitality We were there the 2nd last week of the season so Maria had a "cook off" of all the stock left in her freezer and fed the remaining guests free one night, pizza, chips, sausage, burgers, meatballs, not many hoteliers would do this! All good wishes for Stephan to make a speedy recovery, the son of the family, we missed his wit behind the bar this year, but look forward to seeing him fully fit next time we are there. The best way to book this is flight direct and then book direct with the Apartment as Thomas Cook don't seem to be able to find that it exists. I believe Easyjet holidays will be using it next year, but alas they don't fly to Heraklion from Glasgow.

Room Tip: Not having seen all the rooms I can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We return here as often as possible for the same reasons as many others. If you haven't been before, you may be disappointed by the lack of sink plugs, having to buy your own toilet paper, the balcony light that doesn't work, electric sockets in the most inconvenient places, bathroom floors that get wet everytime you shower, lots of stairs, no lifts, noise from the street, temperamental kettles and utility furniture. If this kind of stuff bothers you, then you shouldn't bother to come. This place is 'all inclusive' in the best sense. The welcome, the hospitality, the silly jokes, the sarcasm and insults,the local information, the kindness, the company, knowledge and holiday friendships of returning guests is all included. The barbecue and raki run is a little optional extra. This is an old fashioned style holiday where you can just relax and enjoy yourself. It's the people that make it special for us. Even Thomas Cook has given up trying to flog you overpriced and overrated trips. Never saw a rep the entire time we were there. Once again we are indebted to the other guests and family at Minas apartments for a great holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mrbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have to say what a fantastic Holiday we had at the MInas Apartments, nothing is too much trouble for Jenny, Maria, Minas and Stefan, You feel like you are going home to family rather than going on holiday to a hotel.
On arriving at the hotel the early hours of the morning Jenny and Maria met us and put our cases in our room before making sure we had a drink after are long day of travelling you would not get that service at some hotels.
We spent 2 weeks relaxing at the hotel and on an evening all the family sit with you and chat all together, you dont really need to go anywhere else it is such a laugh and playing dominos with Maria was such fun.
We will certainly be back next year to see you all again,
This is a little jewel in Crete that I can happily say we will be going back to year after year.
It has all the facilites for any family to have a great holiday it has the best location for all the resort amenities including Valentinos bakery at the top of the path so you have to walk past every day and smell the fresh baked bread.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you are looking for a great holiday look no further from the minute you arrive you are made to feel welcome.these family run apartments are basic but adequate and clean there is agood sized pool and bar and excellent food cooked as required a really friendly atmosphere and only a couple of minutes from the beach and many tavernas and restaurents thanks again to the family Minas Maria and special thanks to Jenny wishing a speedy recovery to Stefan.we have already booked for next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billnasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Thank you for yet another great holiday loved the BBQ meet some great friends .thank you jenny miria minas for a lovely time and get well soon to Stephan xxx. For 3 star apartments I would give it 5 star for the service would highly recommend the Mina's apartment xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfhhgfdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Mastorakis Hotel
Mastorakis Hotel
#83 of 184 in Hersonissos
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#18 of 184 in Hersonissos
431 reviews
0 mi away
Acropolis Apartments
Acropolis Apartments
#64 of 184 in Hersonissos
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Velissarios Hotel
Velissarios Hotel
#92 of 184 in Hersonissos
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Melpo
Hotel Melpo
#51 of 184 in Hersonissos
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kassavetis Center
Kassavetis Center
#139 of 184 in Hersonissos
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minas Apartments

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#4 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £11 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minas Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Minas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minas Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Minas Apartments Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Hotel Hersonissos
Minas Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing