We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP NICE”
Review of Sunshine Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Village
Ranked #54 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We just stayed 11 days in Sunshine Village, and it was the best holliday ever :-) Last year we went to Mallorca - also all inclusive, it was not at all as good as Sunshine Village. The food was very good, and every day diffenrent things to eat...and the view from the restaurent....wauw.... That staff was friendly, and helpfull. We were there duing the taxi-strike, and the hotel did everything they could to help us when we needed to drive to another place. The pool was super, and a special star to the Hotel entertainer Monica - a hard working woman, who does everything she can to make your holiday joyfull and nice. She played with the children duing the day, and in the night, she took good care of everybody wiht karaoke, salsa, greek dance and so on. Amazed by her talent and her commitment to the job. The appartments were so noce - vere big and light, and every day a very good cleaning. The view from the appartment is stunning....the best we ever seen, mountains, see and Herssonisos city. Near by the hotel there is a lit nice things to do. I wnt there with my boyfriend and our children (2 and 10) and I would wery much like to go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tinakarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We visited at the end of the season, so things were winding down.
However, we thought the food was decent enough, the rooms were clean and the view was lovely.
The hill is quite steep, but there is a courtesy couch to take you up if you are too tired!
Nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZhanMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Of course we read other reviews and comments and were a bit anxious about the accomodations, however we were not disappointed at all. My husband and I and our two kids stayed at a family room, which is more like an apartment with a bedroom and a livingroom with two comfortable beds. Nothing extravagant, and the kitchenette included no plates, glasses nor silverware, but with all inclusive - who needs it? We used the kitchen cabinets for the kids clothes, and the spacious closet between the tub-bathroom and bedroom for our own clothes. We payed to have the option of aircondition when we were in the apartment (central door key needed for all electrial units).

The resort is white little squares, built together, forming a really cozy village environment, lemon trees and hibiscus growing between the buildings that are placed terracelike on the hill. The view is absolutely amazing - looking out over the ocean, but with only a 15-20 minute walk down to STAR BEACH, which during daytime is a marvelous place for enjoying the complimentary pools, ranging from kiddy pools to large pools with slides etc. On the other side of the boardwalk, the little beaches are available. You can't bring food and beverages, but there are plenty of restaurants and bars, also for amusements at night - open to the wee hours of the morning (we were told). As we are quite lazy in warm weather, we only went one day, and stayed at the resort, enjoying the pool the rest of the week; shallow at one end, and 3 metres deep at the other end, the pool was never crowded.

The atmosphere is very cozy and the staff are nice and helpful, from house-cleaning to reception and restaurant area, I have only praise for the people working to make our stay as good as possible. We were picked up at the airport and dropped again a week later for a small amount of money, but that service was just another little thing that made our stay better.

The entertainment for the kids (and adults as well) was excellent, and nothing at all like the large-scale "kindergardens" you see at bigger places.Wateraerobics everday, waterpolo, drawing, playing with beads, decorating photoframes were all part of the entertainment program, and included in the price.

Food and drinks were not as versatile and extraordinary as in other places we have been to, but we all agreed that no one went to bed hungry, and no one was in need for a cool beer or soft drink ever.

In short; we had a great vacation and enjoyed the pool, the food, the heat, the sun, the view of the water and would definetely consider going back for another week of sheer relaxation enjoying each others company in this welcoming resort!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gm3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

When my couple and I made the decision of staying in this hotel, we were full of hesitation and afraid due to some commentaries posted in this site. When we came we realized that those were really far from the truth. The hotel is GOOD ENOUGH. I mean for a low-medium budget, this hotel is perfect. Good service, acceptable food, friendly staff, spacious rooms, nice lobby , but overall a really nice view. In conclusion the hotel is neither the best nor the worst one . So if you want more then pay more. but as I mentioned above for this budget HOTEL SUNSHINE VILLAGE IS INDEED A GOOD CHOICE.
Disadvantages: Drinks are drinkable but could be better; Extra services, such as air conditioning, internet are expensive and mattresses (at least ours) were not so comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vextropk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

It was a great holiday. The view was to be enjoyed. You had a nice view over the city and the sea, especially at night, then you see a beautiful sunset and the city is beautifully lit.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is good, there is plenty of choice and everything is warm. Also, the food varied.
The animation was done by Mónika. She is very spontaneous and fun. Her commitment to make it fun for everyone is phenomenal. The activities are nice to participate.
Also nearby there is plenty to do. There are many bars and restaurants. And everything looks neat. I recommend this holiday for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mirandakoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The staff were more than helpful, they couldn't do enough for us. Nicolas was extremely helpful. Monika was great with her programme of activities. There was plenty of choice of food every day. We wanted to spend this holiday chilling out and relaxing and that is exactly what we did. Cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BurnhamGel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We went in a big family group of 10 and all had a great time the Hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly and good fun, we ranged from a 2 year old to a couple in there 60`s and all ages in between and the Hotel and location suited us all in different ways. The swimming pool was a good size and nice and deep, the views from the Hotel and reastraunt were stunning. Everyone on here moans about the hill climb, its not that bad!!! We done it twice a day down to the beach takes your breath a bit by the time you get to the top, but it is only a 10 min walk! Food was good, we even liked certain foods and requested them again which they were more than happy to do! There was always a range of pasta chips a very good salad bar and meat of some kind ie chicken beef or pork dishes. The night life down at Star Beach was very good they do brilliant Beach parties and Malia is only a 5 minute bus trip away which was a wicked night out. I thoroughly enjoyed my Holiday and would go back here and know i would have a great time, the rooms are also very spacious, some bad reviews on here, these people are just over fussy and finding things to moan about. If you are jetting off here then Enjoy!! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kerri2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
23.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,026 reviews
31.1 mi away
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
45.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
130 reviews
18.0 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
225 reviews
19.1 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#19 of 32 in Amoudara
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Village

Address: Seferi Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £70 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Village 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunshine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunshine Village Hotel Chersonisos
Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village And Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing