We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great holiday!”
Review of Sunshine Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Village
Ranked #57 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Recently returned from a relaxing holiday at Sunshine Village (20th-26th July). Helpful staff, and a lovely setting. We were welcomed off the coach by friendly reception staff (despite it being 4am!) who showed us to our apartment, which was nice, clean and spacious. The food was great- plenty of variety, enough to cater to even the fussiest appetites; gorgeous Greek food, but also chips, burgers and pizza. Big thank you to enthusiastic Monika and Mojca for the excellent and varied entertainment at the hotel, from Aqua-Aerobics to badminton to Greek dancing, we really enjoyed taking part in it all! Many thanks once again! Ps. Don't believe the hype about the hill, it was a breeze ;)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HannahJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Such a great location, not too far from the beach but not too busy, lovely clean rooms. Food was ok for adults but not too much variety for children. Activities were top class! Monica and Mojca made sure whatever the activity was everyone joined in and had fun! So friendly and the staff were also very nice! I will definitely return in the future :)

Room Tip: further away from the bar the quieter :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ColinJones99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We just stayed 11 days in Sunshine Village, and it was the best holliday ever :-) Last year we went to Mallorca - also all inclusive, it was not at all as good as Sunshine Village. The food was very good, and every day diffenrent things to eat...and the view from the restaurent....wauw.... That staff was friendly, and helpfull. We were there duing the taxi-strike, and the hotel did everything they could to help us when we needed to drive to another place. The pool was super, and a special star to the Hotel entertainer Monica - a hard working woman, who does everything she can to make your holiday joyfull and nice. She played with the children duing the day, and in the night, she took good care of everybody wiht karaoke, salsa, greek dance and so on. Amazed by her talent and her commitment to the job. The appartments were so noce - vere big and light, and every day a very good cleaning. The view from the appartment is stunning....the best we ever seen, mountains, see and Herssonisos city. Near by the hotel there is a lit nice things to do. I wnt there with my boyfriend and our children (2 and 10) and I would wery much like to go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tinakarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We visited at the end of the season, so things were winding down.
However, we thought the food was decent enough, the rooms were clean and the view was lovely.
The hill is quite steep, but there is a courtesy couch to take you up if you are too tired!
Nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZhanMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Of course we read other reviews and comments and were a bit anxious about the accomodations, however we were not disappointed at all. My husband and I and our two kids stayed at a family room, which is more like an apartment with a bedroom and a livingroom with two comfortable beds. Nothing extravagant, and the kitchenette included no plates, glasses nor silverware, but with all inclusive - who needs it? We used the kitchen cabinets for the kids clothes, and the spacious closet between the tub-bathroom and bedroom for our own clothes. We payed to have the option of aircondition when we were in the apartment (central door key needed for all electrial units).

The resort is white little squares, built together, forming a really cozy village environment, lemon trees and hibiscus growing between the buildings that are placed terracelike on the hill. The view is absolutely amazing - looking out over the ocean, but with only a 15-20 minute walk down to STAR BEACH, which during daytime is a marvelous place for enjoying the complimentary pools, ranging from kiddy pools to large pools with slides etc. On the other side of the boardwalk, the little beaches are available. You can't bring food and beverages, but there are plenty of restaurants and bars, also for amusements at night - open to the wee hours of the morning (we were told). As we are quite lazy in warm weather, we only went one day, and stayed at the resort, enjoying the pool the rest of the week; shallow at one end, and 3 metres deep at the other end, the pool was never crowded.

The atmosphere is very cozy and the staff are nice and helpful, from house-cleaning to reception and restaurant area, I have only praise for the people working to make our stay as good as possible. We were picked up at the airport and dropped again a week later for a small amount of money, but that service was just another little thing that made our stay better.

The entertainment for the kids (and adults as well) was excellent, and nothing at all like the large-scale "kindergardens" you see at bigger places.Wateraerobics everday, waterpolo, drawing, playing with beads, decorating photoframes were all part of the entertainment program, and included in the price.

Food and drinks were not as versatile and extraordinary as in other places we have been to, but we all agreed that no one went to bed hungry, and no one was in need for a cool beer or soft drink ever.

In short; we had a great vacation and enjoyed the pool, the food, the heat, the sun, the view of the water and would definetely consider going back for another week of sheer relaxation enjoying each others company in this welcoming resort!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gm3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

When my couple and I made the decision of staying in this hotel, we were full of hesitation and afraid due to some commentaries posted in this site. When we came we realized that those were really far from the truth. The hotel is GOOD ENOUGH. I mean for a low-medium budget, this hotel is perfect. Good service, acceptable food, friendly staff, spacious rooms, nice lobby , but overall a really nice view. In conclusion the hotel is neither the best nor the worst one . So if you want more then pay more. but as I mentioned above for this budget HOTEL SUNSHINE VILLAGE IS INDEED A GOOD CHOICE.
Disadvantages: Drinks are drinkable but could be better; Extra services, such as air conditioning, internet are expensive and mattresses (at least ours) were not so comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vextropk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

It was a great holiday. The view was to be enjoyed. You had a nice view over the city and the sea, especially at night, then you see a beautiful sunset and the city is beautifully lit.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is good, there is plenty of choice and everything is warm. Also, the food varied.
The animation was done by Mónika. She is very spontaneous and fun. Her commitment to make it fun for everyone is phenomenal. The activities are nice to participate.
Also nearby there is plenty to do. There are many bars and restaurants. And everything looks neat. I recommend this holiday for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mirandakoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#24 of 184 in Hersonissos
793 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 184 in Hersonissos
779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sundance Apartments & Suites
Sundance Apartments & Suites
#9 of 13 in Koutouloufari
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Village

Address: Seferi Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £74 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Village 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunshine Village Hotel Chersonisos
Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village And Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing