We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect hotel”
Review of Sunshine Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Village
Ranked #64 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect hotel”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

What a friendly, caring hotel, with staff who are very polite and helpful. Hotel spotless. Views amazing. Apartment clean, fresh bedding and towels. Stayed for 7 days. Left towels in the bath 3 times and all the towels got changed! We are a family of 4, kids 9yrs and 12yrs old. They were happy with the pool, facilities and entertainment on offer. Really enjoyed the ice cream for breakfast! We took playing card used them once. We are well traveled and a bit fussy. It was our first time to Crete. We would go back to to our hotel in a heartbeat.
The food was ok some days better than others but always something to eat.
I read the bad reviews and panicked, took my own sheets and gloves to clean. There was no need.
I asked our tour rep and the staff why the bad reviews, when the hotel was really lovely. They all said there were problems in the past and the hotel have tried really hard to improve standards.
If you book here you will have a great time and a lovely stay. Pay the 7 euros for air conditioning. Buy their water from reception. The drinks were local so unfamiliar but we enjoyed mixing them to fine a perfect blend!
Great job to all the staff at sunshine village, you all work really hard, hope to see you all soon. From the family who's Dad sang mambo number 5 and the Mum who celebrated being 40 with you all!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hameed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    103
    62
    16
    12
See reviews for
121
102
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Sunshine Village for 10 nights and we were absolutely taken back by the place. When we arrived, we were greeted by two lovely Greek women who helped us check in. One of the reception staff showed us to our apartment and provided us with a tour. The apartment was nothing like what we expected but we decided on a quick and easy package deal, therefore we were given the most basic room. We were a bit disappointed with having a room without a balcony, however, thinking about it we rarely spent time there. One annoyance we encountered was having to pay €15 for the use of a locker but we felt at ease doing so.
Luckily, we had read the reviews prior to leaving for our holiday so we knew we had to pay €7 euros a night for A/C but it was vital for a comfortable night sleep. The hotel provide 6 2Litre bottles of water for €2 euros which is a bargain and an absolute essential.
The pool area was brilliant, with plenty of sun loungers provided for everyone staying, with a 'Kidney' shaped pool and a kids pool. There was chilled music throughout the day which was pleasant and not annoying or loud. The All Inclusive drinks and snacks were available from 10am to 10pm everyday, of which drinks ranged from local beers to a soda machine. We didn't eat many snacks, as the meals provided plenty of food!
The meals were fantastic and had a wide variety of different types of food such as a fresh feta salad every meal (except breakfast), chips, cooked meats, Gyros (Greek kebab), fresh bread, local fresh fish and some of the best ice cream I have ever had! Basically, the list is endless and the food was absolutely lovely, ignore the bad reviews, they are just food snobs.
The entire hotel was classic greek architecture with a modern european interior, it made the perfect holiday destination, unlike the huge complex down the road. The views of the sea were genuinely breathtaking and can be seen across most of the main hotel area. To be able to have these views, the hotel is positioned up a steep hill which can be a bit tiring during the middle of the day, but don't let that put you off as they provide a shuttle service three times a day. However, we managed to walk it fine, but we recommend a dip in the pool to cool down after.
The service was incredible, with staff clearing tables and cleaning any rubbish lying around, they would work around the clock and always made sure the place remained beautiful, inside and out.
The evenings involved entertainment provided by the Animation man, Zoul, who was very friendly and loved getting people involved. One tip we suggest is to stack up your drinks until it reaches 10pm to avoid having to pay for drinks.

Overall, the place was amazing and we would definitely consider coming again. Don't listen to the bad reviews, they are just being pedantic and dismissive about the place when in fact its absolutely brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacks0n_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

we went on holiday to crete and stayed at best western sunshine village.we had such a brillant time.hotel was lovely staff were so friendly n polite nicos the hotel manager,yannis bar manager
mary at reception and animation man was so funny, trainees adrian n simona were all such lovely people.if ur looking for a hotel to stay in whilst on holiday in crete choose best western u wont be disappointed i knw me n my family were'nt.its got everthing u cld ask forwould love to go back 1 day

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our stay in this hotel made our holiday one of the best we have ever been to. We stayed from 16th July 2013 for 14 nights with our two children. The hotel itself is beautiful and consists of the main building and typical Greek houses/apartments placed just outside of the main building and swimming pool.This was ideal for us since we wanted our privacy.Our apartment consisted of the main room with two single beds for our children,kitchenette, bathroom and a separate room with a double bed for me and my wife. We didn't get the best view compared to those who had their apartments with balconies but it was still incredible.Our apartment was cleaned and supplied with fresh towels everyday. The hotel has a small swimming pool for children as well as a massive swimming pool for adults which is up to 3 metres deep, this was a real advantage for me as I like to dive.The hotel lays on a hill like any other hotel (10 mins walk to the beach) , to get back up from the beach can be a bit of a struggle but that is not a problem since there is a free hotel minibus which picks people up every 3 hours from the hotel and the super market which is right by the beach.Even better the bus driver, Nikos is so nice that if he sees you walking up the hill he will stop and take you. Furthermore,the food is really good and offers a variety of freshly cooked meals to eat everyday. The service is brilliant, one of the waiters called Adrian was always happy to answer any of my questions regarding food, the barman is always sympathetic and makes amazing drinks .The staff there are always happy and friendly whom create a joyful atmosphere . The animator of the Hotel Zoul/John is the one that makes the hotel a special place with the amount of activities he organizes such as water-polo,darts which everyone tends to participate in, Greek nights out to old Hersonissos, football for children, days out to the beach, discos and different competitions such as Mr and Mrs sunshine village competition.He is very funny, a friendly fellow ,the children love him and find it easier to make friends with each other. Over all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as I think it was the highlight of my holidays in Crete.

Room Tip: Best rooms in my opinion are the ones with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomasz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have jus arrived back from great western sunshine village & had a fab time. The staff were lovely polite & friendly Kitchen manager Adrian, bar staff Yannis hotel manager Nicos, receptionists Mary & simona. They also had a hotel dog there which kept the kids entertained they called him Waggs. Pls do visit, the atmosphere is one u won't forget. We won't!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shind79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hackney london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had an excellent time here, the staff are great just so helpful and friendly. Especially Adrian, yannis, simona, Mary and Nikos. You should go here and you will have an excellent time just as we did. The only down hill is the steep hill to get back up from beach, ok to go down but hard to walk back up. But if u active then don't let the hill stop u from booking this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rajjas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

we booked last minute and we read the reviews later so we thought we done a big mistake....well some people want five star for the price of three and then they complain !! Brilliant hospitality good food and excellent and helpful staff, we advise to explore Crete hire a car and give it a go very good value for money....will go again. Costas and Jayne Manchester.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank costas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
45.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
23.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
19.1 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#13 of 32 in Amoudara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.2 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
36.0 mi away
Bali Star Hotel
Bali Star Hotel
#3 of 16 in Bali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
84.1 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#12 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Village

Property: Sunshine Village
Address: Seferi Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Village 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunshine Village Hotel Chersonisos
Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village And Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing