We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Sunshine Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Village
Ranked #58 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I had a great time here the food was good and there was always something to eat , even though some people never stopped complaining we found the staff we're great and always helpful and the accomodation large and spacious and clean. And the entertainment was a great laugh every evening. We met loads of nice people who enhanced the holiday too. So we have told all our friends and relies about this little gem and hopefully we will return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz_donovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Dont listen to all the bad reviews me and my best friend stopped here on the 4th july and had a great time it wasnt the best hotel but it was homly and the staff very friendly and always trying to help wish we had stayed longer met some lovely people we will never forget what a lovely time and the people we met well worth it even if the hill coming back up is a killer! Beautiful views deffo going back next year! Thanks for a lovely time sunshine village

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xFran91x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This small hotel nestled on the hillside above the town of Hersonissos is great for families. With only one entrance in and out, the compound feels secure and you are confidence of the security of young children.
However, due to it's location (hillside) and layout (split levels for the accommodation) this is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.
The pool is not overly large, but is very deep and you can swim or dive comfortably.
The clientele seem to be from several countries, but the hotel entertainer brings everyone together to make the most of the holiday.
There is a small play area for children, but there is little for very young children in there.
The staff (for 2013) were mainly University graduates or students on placement from their courses in Romania and they made everyone really welcome. They were hard working, constantly with a smile and friendly welcome for everyone and all multi-lingual. Let's hope that the hotel can get such good staff each year as the staff are what makes a holiday into a positive or negative experience and this year they had excellent recruits.
When we had a small flood in our room, the hotel were quick to send staff to look at this and when they could not resolve it immediately found us another (better) room to transfer to.
As the hotel is small, food could at times be limited, but with fussy children, there was always something that they would eat. however, the hotel could improve by offering a better selection for children.
There are a couple of small maintenance issues that need to be undertaken (e.g. cracked tiles between pool at and table tennis), but this does not detract from the overall experience.
There is air conditioning in the rooms, but this is not brilliant and could probably do with upgrading.
All in all this was a great holiday.

Room Tip: The closer to reception your rooms are, the less walking you'll have to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ti-AnnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Sunshine Village is a medium sized hotel located on the hillside above Chersonissos with great views over the Mediterranean Sea and the town. The service at the hotel was very good and professional. The reception desk gave friendly, engaged and accurate information on sites to visits as well as how to get to the locations. We got excellent help and assistance, from Nikos who works at the hotel, when one of our children was in need of hospital care and it felt safe that there was personnel with paramedics expertise in the hotel.
All the family enjoyed the sports and games activities that was lead by "the Animation team" - the activities were well selected and well managed and brought guests from many nationalities together - and there were activities that the children could enjoy on their own - which gave their parents a well needed break. Included in these activities were trips to the sandy beach down from the hotel as well as visits to the old village located on the hillside- which had a much more genuine feel than Chersonissos by the sea.
We selected the all inclusive option and enjoyed the food which seems geared mainly towards a british/middle-european audience. While the all inclusive option at a large hotel self evidently can be run differently than in a medium sized hotel there was a great variety of food from breakfast to dinner. The highlights on the menu were the greek dishes, which were second to no restaurant in the village. The only complaint we could have is that there could have been a tiny bit more garlic in the tzatsiki :). The serving personel were always helpful and caring.
The apartment contained two rooms with at fantastic balcony facing the sea. Furniturewise it was rather basic, but it served its purpose. The rooms were cleaned every day and bedlinen changed regularly. The hotel has a large swimming pool in which we thrived for many days - the pool was clean and contained a sensible amount of toys. There were also a pool for smaller children. Seeing that the hotel is located on the hillside, there is quite a steep uphill walk from the village - however this gave the opportunity of exercise well needed after the food at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crinnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked this as a last minute break overall the place is fine but needs some sprucing up the staff are great and work very hard always cheerful and helpful, food was good always a wide selection and salads fab, plenty of room at the pool for everyone John the animation guy works hard getting everyone involved, could do with a bit more entertainment in the evenings for those who don't want to go down to the town, only one negative don't leave cash in your room !!!

Room Tip: 316 has limes and pomegranates growing outside and sun on balcony in evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 194Jules57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After reading some of the reviews before we went, we were a bit worried - absolutely no need to be, this is a fantastic hotel with really hard working staff. We have 2 children aged 11 & 8 and they loved everything about it too. The pool area is clean, never crowded and there are plenty of nice sunbeds at whatever time you go there.

The restaurant is expertly run by the lovely Adrian and there was never a massive queue for food, which is varied and tasty (fish and pork especially) and the tables are cleared quickly. The range of drinks available is really good (including vodka) and the wine and beer wasn't bad either!

We arrived at 1am in the morning and there were sandwiches and fruit in the fridge which was a great surprise. A/C is extra, we managed without by opening the windows but closing the shutters. Apartment was cleaned everyday and towels changed regularly.

The entertainment was not too full on and you weren't pestered to join in if you didn't want to. The guy who ran it single handed was fabulous and even came to say goodbye to us on his day off - 'big applause Zoul, we miss the water polo and football especially, and even doing wishy-washy!'

The views are incredible, day or night and the whole place has a really relaxed feel to it. The walk back up the hill isn't too bad although it is quite steep and wouldn't suit those with mobility problems but there is a courtesy bus 3 times a day. There was always a lovely gentle breeze which was very welcoming in the 30+ degree heat.

If we had to pick something that could be improved it would be to include ice cream in the daytime snacks, other than that we couldn't fault it.

All the staff were friendly and polite and work so hard to make sure you are happy. We couldn't find the guy from the pool bar to say goodbye to but we hope he enjoys the four four two magazine and that he finds someone else to talk football with.

All the other guests were great - to the welsh contingency, we're sorry West Ham beat Cardiff but we loved your singing and your company. To our new friends from Dartford, great meeting you, we miss you already although sometimes think we can hear a very faint shout of Cannonball!

We would definitely return to this hotel and we haven't said that before about any other place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebsL450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Sad to say but due to a family arrangements I didn`t go to a family holiday with my boys which after hearing their account on the hotel and overall staying I was even more gutted...
From their point of view hotel was superb.Rooms very spacious, clean and fresh. very friendly staff, amazing views and what`s most important for my husband-always a slight breeze for a nice fresh air so welcome with high temperatures, which he utterly dislikes..apparently from now on it`s only Greece and surrounding islands for our family as a holiday destination..:-)
Kids, (age 6,4) had an amazing time making some new friends and spending most of the time in a hotel pool..
After reading some of the reviews I was a bit concerned about this particular hotel but to their account they had a fab holiday and want to go back there at some point...
If my husband could survive there with 2 young kids and came back saying what a great holi they had-I believe that this hotel is anything but unworthy of try...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
23.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,049 reviews
31.1 mi away
Koutsounari Traditional Cottages
45.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#21 of 35 in Elounda
233 reviews
41.2 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
134 reviews
18.6 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Village

Address: Seferi Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £71 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Village 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunshine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunshine Village Hotel Chersonisos
Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village And Apartments Hersonissos
Sunshine Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing