We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
153
56
17
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
56
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk air con met some great friends self catering expensive euros single bed drying rack cooking rings other guests bbq night local beach small beach great holiday perfect hosts rooms are small nearest beach pool area
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed with Stavros and his lovely family at the Saradari Apartments. Stavros is extremely friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. We were given apartment 27 and stayed for 10 nights on 16th-26th June 2011. I can honestly say we had the best holiday ever and the weather, when we were there, was absolutely stunning!

For what we paid we were extremely happy. Anyone expecting more than what we experienced/received should book a 5 star hotel!

As other people have said on Trip Advisor the place is extremely clean. The apartment’s bathroom seemed to be cleaned daily and the bins were emptied daily too. Towels and bedding was changed around every 3-4 days, which didn’t bother us from an environmental point of view.

The air conditioning worked very well but you have to hire the remote for about 5.00 Euros per day, which was fair enough because Saradari needs to cover the cost of the electricity and maintenance. Air conditioning was a must for us because the temperatures ranged between 29-35 every day!

Each apartment has a lovely balcony with white plastic table and two chairs. Vines covered the apartment walls that produce amazingly vivid pink/purple flowers. Our balcony had a good sea and mountain view but wasn’t on the from row of the apartments, which would have had better sea views. This didn’t bother us at all though because the 2nd row of apartments, where we were, was quieter (in other words we were further away from the pool/bar).

There were enough bed spaces in our apartment for 4 people. There was one double bed and single bed in the bedroom and another single bed in the kitchenette (although the fridge might keep the person in that room awake so just use ear plugs.

The pool area, which had plenty of sun loungers and parasols was never that busy (but we did go in June) because there are only around 18 apartments. There’s a pool table and bar with a decent basic but decent snack menu (pasta, burgers, chips, salads etc; like I said – it’s a snack menu, not restaurant). We had a tuna salad one day for around 4.50Euros each and it was big and very delicious. Talking of salads, you must try the Greek salads. I’ve never tasted tomatoes and olives like those.

It takes around 15 minutes to walk to the town centre and 5 minutes to walk to the nearest beach, which is very narrow but offers amazing views and beautifully enclosed bathing suntraps. The beige coloured sun loungers we used are 2.50 Euros each. Parasols are 5.00 Euros each. This is much cheaper than other beaches we’ve been to in other countries.

There are 2 mini super markets along the closest beach (only 1-3 minute walk from Saradari) and these stock just about everything you need, even basic pre-packed wraps and baguettes if you want lunch on the beach whilst sun bathing. The only problem is they are not as cheap as the Spa on the main road further into town (another 10-15 minutes walk from the beach).

If like us you walked to and from the Saradari and town 2 times a day (so making 4 journeys) you might want to consider hiring a quad bike. We didn’t look at prices in details because the walks didn’t bother us (helped shed a few calories from the night before!). I think you can hire them for around 20-30 Euros per day.

Would we go back to Crete? Yes. But probably not for quite a few years because there are too many beautiful places in the world to see and explore. If we went back to Crete, where would we stay? The Saradari Apartments, of course!

I can highly recommend the Saradari Apartments for a self-catering/B&B holiday however, if you’re used to a choice of restaurants, a few pools, your bed made every day and a 24-hour reception then don’t stay here. Get your expectations right before you book and you’ll really enjoy your stay with Saradari.

Enjoy your holiday,
James.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesAndRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My g/f and I had 11 nights here with bookableholidays.com (who were great). The location was perfect - about 200m from the beach - really quiet. Only 10 min walk to the town with loads of great restaurants. The beach was really quiet and secluded - lovely little coves to hide from the sun (Crete is HOT).

Your hosts Stavros and Eli cant do enough for you. There's a little taverna on site for poolside drinks and snacks if you fancy staying put for the day. love the place, love Crete - want to go back!

Gareth & Clare

Room tip: Upstairs apartment all the way
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elbiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My girlfriend and I booked the saradari through low cost holidays. We checked trip advisor and there was only one bad review (the matress).

We had a fantastic time over the 10 night stay!! The rooms are small but spotless. The atmosphere is very much of a family run place! Stovros (bar man, cook, and all round entertainer) is outstanding at his job and nothing is too much for him. His wife works extremely hard keeping the rooms and the pool area clean. The pool is fairly small but close to rooms and bar. The location is great, 15 minute walk from the town and beach (I'd recommend eating at Mythos).

All in all a great place for young couples to stay on a budget, we will definitely be going back there over the next couple of years!!!

Super Stavros!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomSam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Just spent two fantastic weeks in the Saradari Apartments. We stayed here 5 years ago and although there had been some poor reviews we found nothing wrong ourselves back then.The place has a good revamp with very secure doors and windows and newly whitewashed. The gardens are beautiful and just what you would expect from the photos.

One issue that was raised is that these apartments are billed in the UK by the Travel Companies as Four Star. Pease be aware, these are very 'basic 'apartments which in truth are big enough for two people but it would be extremely crowded if four shared. Ok if you are just using them to sleep in,but four self catering for themselves the whole holiday could be an issue. Stavros himself has asked everyone who stays there to please inform their Travel Agents when they return that no apartments in Crete are Four Star as he is the person that people make the complaints to when they arrive and expect Four Star when in fact if these were in the UK they probably would be 1/2 star

The Manager Stavros and his wife Elli couldn't have made us more welcome if they had tried. These wonderful people worked so hard to keep things clean and tidy (Elli completely cleans the apartments everyday and bedding and towels were changed every 3/4 days). As well as being a fulltime Mother to two beautiful and wonderful children Elena (5) and Ardi (18 months). One of the loveable things I saw was Stavros, Elli and Ardi all troop off at 08.30am to take Elena to school, then straight back to start work, (up to 20 hour days possibly for Stavros) ((4am finish one night whilst we were there, so I'm sure there will be more of those for him over the next few months)). They are extremely professional and hardworking as well as helpful, friendly and lovely people.

Stavros cannot do enough for you, and not only manages the complex but works behind the bar, cooking, gardening, maintaince (except locks !!! :0) !!! ) and then finds time to make each and every person is happy and ok xxx He does all this as well as being a fulltime Father.

Karen and I would like to take the time to thank both of these great people for making our holiday one of the best we have ever had xxx :0)

Room tip: Rooms nearer the Bar can be more noisy
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bredy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Myself and my Gf (both 22) arrived here in the middle of the nite a bit lost and confused as where the apts where but once we turned the corner we were greeted by a beautiful little resort.
Then we were met by one of the nicest people i have met and real top guy, Stavros. The bar is small but really nice, the food is good and stavros make a mean cocktail. Close to the town but a killer walk back from the town (all uphill) but on the other hand it is quiet enough to enjoy a good nites sleep (get air con) and be refreshed for your next adventure. Honestly i cant recommend this place highly enough and Satvros, Eli and their 2 kids are the nicest people, i even got pissed with him one nite and stayed up most of the nite having a laugh. Top place, top people, top Holiday.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherSmyth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews