We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
153
56
17
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
56
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk air con met some great friends self catering expensive euros single bed drying rack cooking rings other guests bbq night local beach small beach great holiday perfect hosts rooms are small nearest beach pool area
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived at the Saridari apartments at 6am following an arduous journey as the result of a delay, to be greeted by the lovely Stavros who, unaware of our delay, had fallen asleep in the pool bar in view so that he wouldn't miss us to welcome our party of two and hand over the keys!

Although very sleepy (and understandably so) Stavros sprang into action immediately and was quite the host, taking great pride in showing us around the place that we were to call home for the coming week. Simple but comfortable, the apartment was equipped with everything we needed for the duration including means with which to cook and prepare food, a fridge, air conditioning (for a modest additional fee and well worthwhile purchasing!) hairdryer, tv (which had British speaking news channels), safety deposit box and two extra single beds which doubled up as sofas.

There was always plenty of space at the poolside without the usual stress of waking up early to claim a sun lounger, the pool was often quiet and a perfect size for relaxing and cooling down after a couple of hours baking in the Cretian sun. The pool bar served a great range of snacks and drinks including a tempting range of cocktails expertly prepared (think Tom Cruise from Cocktail!!) which featured sparklers which was a nice touch. During our time at the Saradari apartments Stavros cooked a lovely BBQ which included enormous pieces of steak, pork and chicken, all cooked to perfection and facilitated a wonderful evening which brought guests together and culminated in dancing around the pool side until 4am!!!

5 minutes walk away we found (under direction from our host, Stavros) a lovely pebbly beach which lends itself perfectly to snorkeling and once you get past the fact that the fish are partial to taking a curious nibble of your feet there are some wonders to behold in this beautiful aquatic world whilst being only waist deep in water!

We were advised by our helpful host that, should we require entertainment that was slightly more upbeat, Star Beach is only 1 1/2 miles walk from the apartments. There is a plethora of activity including water sports (jet skis, banana boats, para-sailing, etc) as well as a few water slides and crazy golf course, not to mention some chilled out poolside bars to relax and unwind for a debrief of the day before heading home to change for the evening.

We would certainly recommend the Jeep Safari which can be purchased at any of the tour guide shops and available for around 50 Euros, the one we chose after much deliberation was one through a company called Jeep Tour Hollandse, and our guide Sandra took us round some sleepy little Cretian villages, guided us through the breath taking mountain tracks and even showed us a cave which we had a brief wander around before heading back to their base. A must-see!!!!

Thanks again Stavros for your hospitality you made our stay truly memorable. See you next year for Round 2!!!!

Sarah and Niall

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank niallclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

the place was really comfortable and cosy!!we spent there only 9 days but thanks to stavors and his family we spent a really nice time there.
the apartment was well-kept and we had a really nice view! the apartments are surrounded by trees and plants and the swiiming pool with the snack bar and the possibility to play billiards makes the place perfect.
try the mixed griil cooked by Stavros!!!very good! ;-)
we hope to come back there, where you can feel like home!!
STAY THERE YOU WON'TCOME BACK TO YOU REAL LIFE!
AH...two espresso please!!!and one gettone!!!;-)

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owlmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed with Stavros and his lovely family at the Saradari Apartments. Stavros is extremely friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. We were given apartment 27 and stayed for 10 nights on 16th-26th June 2011. I can honestly say we had the best holiday ever and the weather, when we were there, was absolutely stunning!

For what we paid we were extremely happy. Anyone expecting more than what we experienced/received should book a 5 star hotel!

As other people have said on Trip Advisor the place is extremely clean. The apartment’s bathroom seemed to be cleaned daily and the bins were emptied daily too. Towels and bedding was changed around every 3-4 days, which didn’t bother us from an environmental point of view.

The air conditioning worked very well but you have to hire the remote for about 5.00 Euros per day, which was fair enough because Saradari needs to cover the cost of the electricity and maintenance. Air conditioning was a must for us because the temperatures ranged between 29-35 every day!

Each apartment has a lovely balcony with white plastic table and two chairs. Vines covered the apartment walls that produce amazingly vivid pink/purple flowers. Our balcony had a good sea and mountain view but wasn’t on the from row of the apartments, which would have had better sea views. This didn’t bother us at all though because the 2nd row of apartments, where we were, was quieter (in other words we were further away from the pool/bar).

There were enough bed spaces in our apartment for 4 people. There was one double bed and single bed in the bedroom and another single bed in the kitchenette (although the fridge might keep the person in that room awake so just use ear plugs.

The pool area, which had plenty of sun loungers and parasols was never that busy (but we did go in June) because there are only around 18 apartments. There’s a pool table and bar with a decent basic but decent snack menu (pasta, burgers, chips, salads etc; like I said – it’s a snack menu, not restaurant). We had a tuna salad one day for around 4.50Euros each and it was big and very delicious. Talking of salads, you must try the Greek salads. I’ve never tasted tomatoes and olives like those.

It takes around 15 minutes to walk to the town centre and 5 minutes to walk to the nearest beach, which is very narrow but offers amazing views and beautifully enclosed bathing suntraps. The beige coloured sun loungers we used are 2.50 Euros each. Parasols are 5.00 Euros each. This is much cheaper than other beaches we’ve been to in other countries.

There are 2 mini super markets along the closest beach (only 1-3 minute walk from Saradari) and these stock just about everything you need, even basic pre-packed wraps and baguettes if you want lunch on the beach whilst sun bathing. The only problem is they are not as cheap as the Spa on the main road further into town (another 10-15 minutes walk from the beach).

If like us you walked to and from the Saradari and town 2 times a day (so making 4 journeys) you might want to consider hiring a quad bike. We didn’t look at prices in details because the walks didn’t bother us (helped shed a few calories from the night before!). I think you can hire them for around 20-30 Euros per day.

Would we go back to Crete? Yes. But probably not for quite a few years because there are too many beautiful places in the world to see and explore. If we went back to Crete, where would we stay? The Saradari Apartments, of course!

I can highly recommend the Saradari Apartments for a self-catering/B&B holiday however, if you’re used to a choice of restaurants, a few pools, your bed made every day and a 24-hour reception then don’t stay here. Get your expectations right before you book and you’ll really enjoy your stay with Saradari.

Enjoy your holiday,
James.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesAndRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My g/f and I had 11 nights here with bookableholidays.com (who were great). The location was perfect - about 200m from the beach - really quiet. Only 10 min walk to the town with loads of great restaurants. The beach was really quiet and secluded - lovely little coves to hide from the sun (Crete is HOT).

Your hosts Stavros and Eli cant do enough for you. There's a little taverna on site for poolside drinks and snacks if you fancy staying put for the day. love the place, love Crete - want to go back!

Gareth & Clare

Room tip: Upstairs apartment all the way
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elbiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My girlfriend and I booked the saradari through low cost holidays. We checked trip advisor and there was only one bad review (the matress).

We had a fantastic time over the 10 night stay!! The rooms are small but spotless. The atmosphere is very much of a family run place! Stovros (bar man, cook, and all round entertainer) is outstanding at his job and nothing is too much for him. His wife works extremely hard keeping the rooms and the pool area clean. The pool is fairly small but close to rooms and bar. The location is great, 15 minute walk from the town and beach (I'd recommend eating at Mythos).

All in all a great place for young couples to stay on a budget, we will definitely be going back there over the next couple of years!!!

Super Stavros!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomSam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews