We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
153
56
17
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
56
17
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk air con met some great friends self catering expensive euros single bed drying rack cooking rings other guests bbq night local beach small beach great holiday perfect hosts rooms are small nearest beach pool area
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Firstly just want to reiterate the reviews already given (the good ones that is). This place is lovely we had an upstairs apartment with views over the lovely garden, trees, pool and the blue sea on the horizen. Secondly this place wouldn't be as nice as it is without Stavro and Eli who look after them and anyone that stays there. They are so kind, when our flight was late and we arrived nearly 2 hours late (1.30am) he was waiting up for us and even offered to cook us something to eat. We are going back in April next year and can't wait.
If you go between now and April - please feed the cats!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

From start to finish Stavros and his family made us feel completely at home. The room was clean, tidy and well equipped. View from our room was great, with surrounding trees and flowers in bloom. We would highly recommend Saradari for a lovely peaceful break. Thank you Stavros!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

First, disregard any bad reviews you have read of these 18 apartments. They are excellent value for money and set in a very good location with pleasant gardens and are within a 5 minute walk to the sea and 10 minutes to a lovely little beach which is round the back of a little taverna which calls itself a Wine Bar. The wine was shocking, but we managed a few carafes over the fortnight!

We arrived at the Saradari after midnight, early on a Monday morning, and there was a party in full swing - an engagement party for the owners son we were told. We were shown to our apartment and even though Stavros was busy with the party he found time to arrange toasted sandwiches for us which we washed down with a beer. Perfect! At the same time we arrived another couple also turned up. They were not expected as their holiday company had not actually made the reservation with Stavros. However within 30 minutes he had found them alternative accommodation for a couple of nights, after which they moved back to the Saradari.

The rooms were clean and adequate and the sheets and towels were changed 4 times during our 2 week stay. We always had a hot shower, although the whole shower/toilet arrangement was a bit peculiar - to sit on the loo meant having your right foot in the shower tray. Still, not really a problem!

The pool was clean and well kept and very pleasant to sit by at the end of the day to have a beer and watch the sun go down. There were plenty of sun beds and parasols and whilst we were there there was never any shortage.

There is a bar by the pool which also serves food - including breakfast - and Stavros puts on the odd function in the evening, such as a barbeque which we attended with about 16 other guests, and which turned into a good evening.

At the little beach nearby 2 sunbeds and 1 parasol are available for 7.5e from a charming 'bed' man who is very helpful and friendly and speaks good English. The beach was lovely - the sea was clean and the beach was a mixture of rocky areas and sand and was very well kept. The little taverna/wine bar by the beach was somewhat limited in choice but perfectly adequate for lunch.

The main area of bars and restaurants is about 1 km away - a 10-15 minute walk. There is a huge selection of bars, including several Italian/Greek restaurants, which served fresh pizzas, good pasta dishes and a wide range of Greek food. The Starlight was one of the better restaurants, and a shared starter, two main courses and a carafe of wine (of somewhat indifferent vintage!) cost about 30e.

The best place we found to eat was a family run taverna called Mythos. We didn't actually try this until 4-5 days before the end of our holiday. However, we managed to go there a total of 3 times before we left. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly. We had a shared mixed grill for 20e which we struggled to eat as the portions were so generous and so we smuggled some of the meat out to share amongst the ever hungry cats on the island.

Overall, a fantastic experience. We returned very relaxed and would not hesitate to recommend the Saradari for a cheap holiday to anyone.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harley1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived at the Saridari apartments at 6am following an arduous journey as the result of a delay, to be greeted by the lovely Stavros who, unaware of our delay, had fallen asleep in the pool bar in view so that he wouldn't miss us to welcome our party of two and hand over the keys!

Although very sleepy (and understandably so) Stavros sprang into action immediately and was quite the host, taking great pride in showing us around the place that we were to call home for the coming week. Simple but comfortable, the apartment was equipped with everything we needed for the duration including means with which to cook and prepare food, a fridge, air conditioning (for a modest additional fee and well worthwhile purchasing!) hairdryer, tv (which had British speaking news channels), safety deposit box and two extra single beds which doubled up as sofas.

There was always plenty of space at the poolside without the usual stress of waking up early to claim a sun lounger, the pool was often quiet and a perfect size for relaxing and cooling down after a couple of hours baking in the Cretian sun. The pool bar served a great range of snacks and drinks including a tempting range of cocktails expertly prepared (think Tom Cruise from Cocktail!!) which featured sparklers which was a nice touch. During our time at the Saradari apartments Stavros cooked a lovely BBQ which included enormous pieces of steak, pork and chicken, all cooked to perfection and facilitated a wonderful evening which brought guests together and culminated in dancing around the pool side until 4am!!!

5 minutes walk away we found (under direction from our host, Stavros) a lovely pebbly beach which lends itself perfectly to snorkeling and once you get past the fact that the fish are partial to taking a curious nibble of your feet there are some wonders to behold in this beautiful aquatic world whilst being only waist deep in water!

We were advised by our helpful host that, should we require entertainment that was slightly more upbeat, Star Beach is only 1 1/2 miles walk from the apartments. There is a plethora of activity including water sports (jet skis, banana boats, para-sailing, etc) as well as a few water slides and crazy golf course, not to mention some chilled out poolside bars to relax and unwind for a debrief of the day before heading home to change for the evening.

We would certainly recommend the Jeep Safari which can be purchased at any of the tour guide shops and available for around 50 Euros, the one we chose after much deliberation was one through a company called Jeep Tour Hollandse, and our guide Sandra took us round some sleepy little Cretian villages, guided us through the breath taking mountain tracks and even showed us a cave which we had a brief wander around before heading back to their base. A must-see!!!!

Thanks again Stavros for your hospitality you made our stay truly memorable. See you next year for Round 2!!!!

Sarah and Niall

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank niallclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

the place was really comfortable and cosy!!we spent there only 9 days but thanks to stavors and his family we spent a really nice time there.
the apartment was well-kept and we had a really nice view! the apartments are surrounded by trees and plants and the swiiming pool with the snack bar and the possibility to play billiards makes the place perfect.
try the mixed griil cooked by Stavros!!!very good! ;-)
we hope to come back there, where you can feel like home!!
STAY THERE YOU WON'TCOME BACK TO YOU REAL LIFE!
AH...two espresso please!!!and one gettone!!!;-)

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owlmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews