We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
Ranked #16 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
east kilbride
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Kindae confused by some reviews, the hotel is an easy 5 to 10 minute walk to Heronissou and Stallis, the road is busy but there is an underpass, pool music was played 2 hours morning and afternoon very mixed from Elvis to U2 certainly not rave music Used pizza and aL Carte resturants both twice found staff very efficent and friendly the hotel check DOB when you book and present you with a birthday cake free of charge daughter found this both lovely if not slightly embarassing!!! Our teenagers (16&17) used the wellness centre pool and gymn but were not charged anything they also went into Mallia one night 12 euros and about 10 minutes away by taxi . Our experince here was excellent arrived to be told over booked, we had booked 2 rooms as 2 older teenagers, asked if we minded a family room for one night then next day w we were given 2 upgraded rooms at relax pool, which I had requested prior to dparture after reading reviews of very steep hill which it is, as way of apology free safe and kept rooms on for late check out again free of charge. We did not find the All Inc an, issue we never waited for drinks\and you are free to go to bar and order yourself which we did getting a couple at 10pm but tended to find were served AL inc till closer to 10.30. Food was good but did get bored of nearing end of 2 weeks. Pools and all areas of hotel very clean, maid service great, I requested extra pillows which were brought up within 15 minutes. Agree there is an issue with sun beds been reserved often left unused for most of day, one guy even had one bed for his lilo!!! We did witness sun bed fights and were told the cleaners were lifting towels put down before 8am but one had ben kicked by a guest for removing so they were refusing to lift them understandbly but they will need to do something need to be up for 7 when we were there to get beds. All in all a great holiday and would recommend this hotel as a good family hotel I would not think great for young british couples or singles, Heronissou is mostly catering for German/Dutch and stallis limited nightlife.

Room Tip: e mail in advance requesting room below block 1036 to avoid steep hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janice_millar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    297
    90
    22
    10
See reviews for
412
387
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Just returned from two weeks all inclusive. (family of five).
We had two large rooms 225 and 212 facing the main pool and a beautiful view of the sea, the room was very clean as were the grounds, pool, restaurant and bars.
The food was more continental we would have preffered Greek and it got a bit repetitive. There was a good selection of alcholic and non alcholic drinks all well known brands.
The bar staff in the main pool bar were excellent as were the waiters in the restaurant.
The entertainment was mostly the animation team except for a Greek barbeque with dancers and music and a Brazilian dance group and a magician who was rubbish.
On the down side there wasn't many English about 5% the rest were French & Germans who are very arrogant and turned there noses up if you didn't speak there language. They couldn't acknowledge you with good morning.
REMEMBER EVERYBODY PAID THE SAME FOR THERE HOLIDAY SO THAT DOESN'T MAKE THEM ANY BETTER.

Room Tip: ask for a room near main pool, lobby bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed at the Grand hotel in crete, Hersoninssos with two other friends. Had the worst 11 days sleep of our lives as the beds were like sleeping on stone! The hotel itself is very nice, clean and staff are all really lovely. We had a sea view, which was lovely, and food was more than acceptable. It was dissapointing that after 10pm you had to pay for your own drinks. This is unusual for an all inclusive holiday as most places serve all inclusive menus until midnight. Bar staff were lovely though and good fun. If you are looking for a fun packed all inclusive holiday and you enjoy crazy loud music around the pool area from 10-5 on a daily basis, then this is the place for you!! For us, this was all a bit too much and resembled a Butlins holiday camp atmosphere! The animation team don't really leave you alone. There is a quite pool area, but he music from the main pool area is so load, there is no getting away from it, you can even hear it in your room! We left he hotel most days for a very long walk to the beach in Stalis (about a 20 minute walk) the only good thing was that there was a lovely breeze most days so it wasn't too bad. The area around the hotel is very dry and not very preety. Nearby Hersonissos is very loud and ugly, not like the usual holiday resort you would expect from Greece. Bus service is good and cheap so its easy to get around. Shops were all expensive in the local areas and a lot of items had no prices on them, kind of felt like you were being ripped off a bit. The worst thing about the holiday was Heraklion airport....its HORRIFIC!! In high season its too small for all the people, dirty and staff are unhelpful. Definatly won't return to this resort, but really had a nice holiday despite a lot of the things I didn't like. I go to Greece a lot and have visited many of the Islands, Crete not as preety as some. If you're going to go to Crete, Rethymnon is definatly the preetier end of that side.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loonyohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My partner and I have just returned from 2 weeks AI at the Grand Hotel, I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here but it really was a great holilday. This hotel is spotlessly clean we stayed in room 610 which was a superior room and I gather was newly decorated, it was very modern with a plasma TV on the wall and was decorated with neutral colours compared to the others rooms which were quite standard with a box tv. The aircon isnt the best in the room, but you learnt to cope with the heat. You do have a fridge in the room but this isnt replenished and you have to pay for the safe (35 euro for 2 weeks).
You also have to put a deposit down for towels 20 euro for 2 people for 2 weeks, you will get this back if you return your towels at the end of your stay (someone round the pool took 1 of our towels whilst at lunch so be cautious). It is difficult to get a bed with an unbrella I would say at peak season all bed are taken by 8:30am but there is a piles of beds situated around the pool so we used to just pick our loughes from the pile and place them in a free place.
The food is lovlely, but does get repetative by the 2nd week (bearing in mind this happens at a lot of AI complexs though). The soup at luch and tea is so nice and the desserts are brill too. The Al a carte is ok for a change but wont be to everyones taste and the italian is nothing special. The snack bar at lunch (at the kids pool) is enjoyable if you dont fancy the main restaurant its serves toasties, burgers, baguettes etc.
Yes the AI stops at 10pm which is disappointing when youve paid for AI, this personally didnt bother me and my partner because we just went out after 10pm.
Those who moan about walking up the hill in the resort are just nit pickers, its not even that bad and if you have trouble walking they supply a car which is near the relax pool which drives you right up the hill. Also people saying the walk into Stalis and Hersonissos is too long and you cant walk in because of quads and bike I DONT agree with this, it is a 10 minute walk into Stalis and about 15 minutes into Hersonissos bearing in mind there are bars on the way so you can stop off for a drink on the way into Hersonissos. There is quads and bike but you just keep to the side of the road and the majority beep there horn so you know when they are approaching. Stalis is perfect for couples and families and is alot cheaper than Hersonissos, its great for a relax night out and there is a beautiful chinese and italian restaurant right in the centre of Stalis. Hersonissos is more loud and is great for a party night out.
The three outdoor pools are salt water which isnt great, t but this didnt seem to bother most people and the pools were always busy. This hotel would be perfect if the AI drinks lasted until 12pm or was 24 like most AI hotels, I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shauney05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have recently returned from the Grand Hotel. The rooms are average but we only used it for sleeping so not really a problem. We had room 423 which is a short walk from the main pool, the higher the numbers were up a fairly steep hill (near the fun pool area) and I personally wouldn't like the hike up & down for meals etc... The food was always of a very high standard, always something for everyone. There is an Italian (fun pool area from 6pm-up the hill!) and also an A la carte in the main building-as all-inclusive you can visit one per week but you need to book in advance at the reception area. Our friends dined in the a-la-carte & said that it was very slow...in there over 2 hours so we didn't bother.
The main pool is where the animation team can be found, always something going on, football, volleyball, aqua gym....it's there is you want to join in.
Sunbeds.....there are signs to let you know that you cannot reserve sunbeds but everyone does so we just followed suit!
There is a very friendly receptionist called Alexia, extremely helpful - we found out that the hotel do trips but they are not allowed to advertise them. Spinalonga was an excellent day out, well worth the money, there is an extra 5 euro charge for the BBQ but I wouldn't bother, we took a packed lunch from the hotel (order 24 hours in advance).
The beach is nothing to write home about, it's over the main road & belongs to another hotel, you can hire sunbeds & parasols for about 5 euros-we didn't bother.
All inclusive........Drinks are ordered from the waiters & you show them your all inclusive card. We were shocked to find the all inclusive finished at 10pm!! After that you have to pay which can get quite expensive & defeats the object of "all inclusive". We tried to order extra drinks one night before 10pm & were told we we not allowed as we hadn't finished the ones we had!!!
The evening entertainment consists of a mini disco, then a small show for kids. There is a disco every few days that starts about 10.30pm.....when the all inclusive has long finished!! There was only one big event in the 12 days that we were there-a BBQ (all inclusive was 7 euro each) with Greek dancers and the fabulous George (one of the waiters doing his thing-brilliant!) A bit disappointed with the entertainment to be honest but we made the most of things & drank an amazing amount of cocktails!!
The main restaurant & lobby bar insist that the men wear long trousers but it seemed to be down to whatever mood the head waiter was in, we did see a few people asked to leave & get changed but many got away with it.
A 20 minute walk to Hersonissos to a big high street with lots of the same shops. A 10 minute walk in the other direction to Stalis which was a lot quieter, same kind of shops but less hussle & bustle. I even managed to find a shop that did fish pedicures-if you go from 11am you get 20 mins for 10 euro-it was fab!!
All in all we had a good time, nice drinks (before 10pm!!) lovely food, clean but fairly basic room. Would we return? No, there is not enough to walk to & discover for us as a family- we enjoyed our 12 days though. Somewhere different for us next year-possibly Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levi257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just got back from two weeks All inclusive at the Grand Hotel and had a fantastic holiday.
Room - we were up at the top 1503 fantastic views worth the walk up the hill (there is a car that will take you if you dont want to walk). standard room for three, plenty of space, very clean(take you own coat hangers, we did as you never get enough). only downside was the hard beds.

Pools- We stayed by the fun pool as it has fantastic views,was nearer to us and easier to get a sunbed. you are best to get up aound 8 to get a sunbed by the pool in a good spot, but we think they had got more sunbeds due to complaints so you could still get one from a pile at the side anytime and squeeze it somewhere. Kids antertainment good if they want to get involved but they leave you alone if you dont. Martina at the pool bar is fantastic, works so hard

Food and drink- We were all inclusive. Food is really good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Yes it does get a little repeptative, but you will find this in all AI hotels we just go out for dinner a couple of nights for a change. The only downside is that all inclusive finishes at 10. It would be better to go on until 11 so you didnt feel like rushing, waiter service for drinks was slow and you couldnt go up to the bar. We tended to walk into stallis about 9 after dinner as drinks much cheaper you can get a large beer for under two euros, wine two, cocktails about 4 .With all inclusive you also get to eat in the a la carte and pizzaria, both were excellent. If you book first day there you can book two visits per week would recommend both

Trips- We went to spinalonga, a waterpark and the crete night(greek dancing in the mountains) they were all worth it. Dont book with your rep as it works out much more expensive, walk down the strip in stallis and book with a company there, we got the waterpark free so only had to pay for two
Stallis itself has lots of nice places to eat and drink and is aobut 15 walk from the hotel.
Fantastic holiday, good hotel, just think the AI should continue a little later

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leics29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Just back from 1 week at the grand hotel we had a fantastic time.
The food was excellent plenty of choice.
Lovely swimming pools everything was lovely and clean.
The hotel is set into the rock face so it is hilly but not a problem we had rooms at the top of the complex and the walk is ok if we got really tired there are cars parked in various places just to run guests up to the rooms,so dont be put off.
We will be going back again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie231260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#5 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Smartline  Village Resort & Waterpark
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Holiday Resort

Property: Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
Address: L. Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#34 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Holiday Chersonisos
Grand Resort Holiday
Grand Hotel Crete
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing