We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed 4th october 2013 - 7 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
Ranked #19 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A very clean and comfortable hotel. Food was good staff quite good. BUT we complained when we felt we were being treated as second class guests (Thomas Cook rep dismissive) as we were all inclusive it was clear staff did not approve!! Compare a cocktail before and after 22.30 massive difference in quality and appearance. Snacks for those paying poolside near hotel - if inclusive a trek up a steep hill. I like all inclusive holidays you don't have to carry cash and deserve a first class service as in my view you have paid up front. A comment made at an animation show suggested "all" all inclusive guests drank and ate to excess some may do but everyone should not be tarred with same brush. I agree with an with an earlier comment non British did get a better service. Would I stay there again? No. Arriving at airport we were given wrong time for Thomas Cook meeting and again rep was dismissive not really believing their fault. The indoor heated pool does not get heated till end of October.

Room Tip: ask for room near hotel if you have mobility issues.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We're quite late in posting this review as our visit to the Grand Holiday Resort was in May 2012, but we loved the place and still wanted to post. We stayed here on an RCI exchange, and had read terrific reviews on Trip Advisor. From the first warm welcome from Ana, everything about the Holiday met or exceeded our expectations. This property is not a resort in the sense that the only facility is a pool. Instead, it consists of fabulous apartment-like accommodations built on a hillside with balconies (really full porches) with spectacular panoramic views of the Mediterranean. The accommodations were spotless, very well decorated with kind of a southwestern US motif, and extremely spacious. We had a 1 bedroom, LR, and full-outfitted kitchen. The town of Chersonisos is adorable with some excellent restaurants, and is about 20 minutes by thoroughfare from the Herakleon airport. It's very well situated for exploring the island cities and sites, although it's a long drive to the far northern side of Crete, and we didn't venture that far. Don't miss the aquarium in Chersonisos; it's remarkable.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Mediterranean.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamer3651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I have just got back from a week stay at this fantastic hotel, it is situated in between hersonisos and stalis which is great because it means you can go to either town for a walk or night out and it only takes about 20 mins or 5 mins in a taxi, the hotel is really clean and tidy and all the rooms are spacious and the beds were cumfy and the staff were polite and helpful, the food is ok if you are staying for a week but if you were staying any longer you mite get a bit fed up with the choice but you would not go hungry, we did eat at the a la carte restaurant which was really good and something different to do, the animation team do their best to keep people entertained during the day with activities like water polo and darts, and other things which is great because lazing around can get a bit boring, there were plenty of sunbeds although it was getting close to the season ending, the hotel had 3 swimming pools and a part with 5 water slides which is great for kids or adults, the hotel is built on a hill which does keep you fit although they do provide a FREE taxi to get you to your rooms if you don't want to walk there, when we arrived there is a porter who puts you cases in a car and takes you and your cases up to your room and shows you round which is something I thought was very nice, the all inclusive starts at 10.30 am and ends at 10.30 pm which is a little early but if you haven't drunk enough by then there could be something wrong with you, we did experience some trouble on the Saturday night which was a little upsetting but when you give people drink for 12 hours a day who cannot handle it you can expect some bother ( just the same as here in the uk ) the weather was great for the first 3 days and then it went down hill and we had strong winds and rain just like being at home but overall it was a nice week away from the daily grinds of home life, I would definitely recommend the Grand Hotel and would go back but to Crete but may be in a couple of years time although we did meet people who were on their third visit to the Grand so they must be doing something right

Room Tip: send the hotel a email and ask for a room lower down or near the main swimming pool
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

just got back from a great holiday, cant really ask anymore from a holiday. the hotel is clean,friendly and the food is excellent. there was plenty of sunbeds and its against the hotel rules to reserve any...fantastic. The hotel reception are very helpful and will do anything for you. would look about going back in the future.

Room Tip: trousers must be worn on the eveing meal for gents
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hu5ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Let me start with the positives. This hotel is very very clean. It is comfortable and the animation team are great, especially Lindsay from Glasgow. She made our stay more bearable.
The Al a carte restaurant is great, but you only get one visit per stay.

Now for the 2 weeks that we experienced.
The food is rather basic and very repeditive. You will always find something to eat if you are not too fussy but for the price you pay (or we paid, and it was not cheap) then you would expect more choice, and a little more than the same ingredients rehashed into differnet things night after night.

The juice that you have in the morning, Orange Juice, Apple juice.....is no more than coloured water, it is dreadful. REALLY.

There are only Greek tea's available and again they are REALLY disgusting. Best advice bring your own if you like a cup of tea with your breakfast or buy some Liptom teabags from the shop downstairs.

If you tip the staff prior to getting a service from them then you WILL get a service and a better one, but we only found that out through experience. I always thought tips were earned not given to bribe a person to do their job.

The All inclusive stops at 10.30 sharp, which is a bit early as this is only 8.30 British time and everyone is on holiday after all and this is when you want to stay up a bit later and lie a bit longer. So an extra hour wouldn't kill them.

The snack bar is right at the top of the hotel and it is quite a climb, the hotel is built on a hill which is very steep so depending where your room is situated it can be a bit of a keep fit exercise several times per day for 2 weeks.

No one goes on holiday to watch TV or spend all day in their rooms but sometimes when there is an off day weather wise you have no choice but to stay indoors and we found on one such day that the 25 channels on the TV were all German, Greek and Dutch. The British get BBC world news and Sky News, the German families get cartoons for the kids, film channels....

FINALLY what really capped our holiday was on our first week here a fight broke out just outside the main restaurant between 2 Polish men, somehow a poor young Irish fellow on holiday with his girlfriend was simply in the wrong place at the wrong time and was smashed in the face with a glass, he was then held down by both the 2 Polish fellows and repeated kicked and stamped on. The whole hotel was turned out, there was blood everywhere, screaming, shouting....in the half hour that we witnessed we never saw the police and thought they were very slow to respond. The Polish are now in prison and the Irish boy is scarred for life. As are many who witnessed the terrifying ordeal for the poor boy who had this done to him on his birthday no less!!

I wouldn't go back but as I say it is clean, it is comfortable and the animation team are great but value for money NO. To be recommended or repeated NO, not in my humble opinion. If you are German/Polish/Danish/Belgian then this is a hotel that will cater for you as you are further up the list of priorities than the British.

Room Tip: Get one near the main lobby of hotel as it is not so steep.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed as part of a large group. We paid extra for a room upgrade but not sure what difference it made but if that was a deluxe room I'm glad we weren't in a standard room! Complex was huge, there was a car to drive you if rooms were miles away like some of our friends especially with the hilly walk back up! Slides were a good addition. All inclusive food was fine, standard buffet but the 'all inclusive' finished at 10.30pm!!!!! So unless you're tucked up in bed by then or are happy to pay the extortionate bar fees then look for an alternative. The difference in the drinks when you started paying for them was huge, the cocktails were then freshly mixed instead of ready mixed 'cocktails'. Overall a good stay with a group but the all inclusive could be massively improved.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkHappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Lovely hotel! Great pools! Shame certain people ignore the rules! Slides were great fun!
Church on side
Great food, only one silly staff member, rest were fantastic!
Pools were gorgeous! Salt water remember! And pretty cold!
Really really nice place to stay. You can get into Hersonissos and Stalis easily.
Highly recommended .

Room Tip: Around 600 so you are about half way up!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,111 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 172 in Hersonissos
752 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,347 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Holiday Resort

Address: L. Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#34 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Holiday Chersonisos
Grand Resort Holiday
Grand Hotel Crete
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing