We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Hill Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort
Ranked #18 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just got back from an excellent holiday at the Grand Hotel. The hotel met all the high standards people have been talking about in previous reviews. We stayed in a Superior Room, 6012. The room was at the top of the hill near the family pool. We had no problems with the room it was cleaned daily and had everything we needed. Please be aware this hotel is built on the side of a big hill, But the hotel has a transfer car to drive you up and down from rooms to main hotel area.

The Food was fantastic :-)
Hotel Pools are Ace ;-)
Rooms are great :-)

For the Brits please be aware this is not a hotel run for English. Which wasn't a problem but be aware the kids clubs and entertainment is organised by reps from other countries, and communication problems often occurred. My experience the Brits sometimes got a rum deal compared to people from other countries I don't know why. It's the first time I have experienced this in Greece.

I would return to this hotel, in general we had a great time.

Also while I'm writing, Heraklion Airport is a joke! If Crete wants to remain on the tourist map they need to sort out the airport quick it's a joke!

Room Tip: Ask for a room below 1000 if you struggle with steep hills as this hotel is built on the side of a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirky162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The little villa type accommodation is extremely clean and comfortable. Most rooms face the sea. The food is varied and caters for all tastes. The staff are all friendly especially in the restaurant. Sit outside on the side and Eleni will treat you with kindness, fun and she is very efficiently. The pools are clean. Lots of sun beds at the quiet pool. Great little towns nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greedy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have just returned back from a weeks stay in the Grand Hotel. As it was myself and my three friends first holiday without our parents we were obviously slightly anxious. But…with the Grand Hotel there is nothing to be anxious about. From the moment we arrived, even though All Inclusive had stopped, we were offered a meal after our flight. Then, as our rooms were not near each others they moved us to a suite the next morning. Small touches which they did not have to do but made the holiday even more enjoyable. The staff were all so friendly and there was great service everywhere, especially in the dining rooms - you were always greeted with a smile and conversation. The ale carte restaurant was incredible, such an enjoyable meal with hilarious staff! The all inclusive is definitely worth doing as you have all your drinks and meals covered so you don't have to worry! The rooms were spotless, I have honestly never been in such a clean hotel. We didn't use much of the entertainment, however, there was always something on during the day. A taxi into Hersonissos was great. 7 euros which I found really reasonable as it is not particularly in walking distance. We spent many a happy night in Hersonissos, if you are planning to go out for a night out and don't fancy it as loud and busy as Malia, there is a strip in Hersonissos which is also great. Cameo club was a personal favourite. The only problem is with the pool, by 8am every morning sun beds are reserved. Even though there are signs saying no reserving, people end up doing this so you are stuck with very little sun beds. All in all, we had the most wonderful holiday at the Grand Hotel and we are now looking into booking ourselves in for another holiday in two years time once my friend arrives back from her gap year! Thanks to all at the Grand Hotel for such a great holiday!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week from the 12th august and we had the best time. When we arrived in crete we were 2 hours late and by the time we got to the hotel at was about 00:30 and we were both shattered, once we had checked in the staff on reception told us they had plated up a small dinner for us if we were hungry, in the main restaurant, it was only a salad with some pork but it was beautiful, wasn't expecting it at all. Once we had finished our dinner we went back into reception where there was a hotel taxi waiting for us to take us to our room. Our room was a standard room but it was pristine and the air conditioning was excellent. We went all inclusive so we weren't sure what the food would be like all week but we didn't have a single problem with it, there was something different everyday but there was something to fit everyone's taste if you are a fussy eater and this was consistent for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We booked to eat at the Italian restaurant on our last night and it was fantastic! I would recommend not eating lunch before going as there was so much food but the quality and the service was brilliant. There were only a few little things that bothered us whilst we were at this hotel for the week, one being the reserving of sun loungers. It clearly says not to but that didn't stop some people getting up at 5:15 to reserve them. My boyfriend would go and reserve two at about 7:30 because otherwise we would not have got any but we would go and have breakfast and be back at the sun loungers for about 8:30/9:00 whereas some people who reserved large numbers of sun loungers wouldn't come back to them until about 3pm! This was very annoying. Another thing was there were two families who had about 5/6 members in each and they would place there towels on the sun loungers so that there were 3/4 empty sun loungers dotted between their ones. My boyfriend and I stayed at the quiet pool as we didn't enjoy the main pool as it was too loud for us as we just wanted to relax, but this sometimes didn't happen because there were some families who thought that they were an exception to the rules of no children under 16 allowed and even though I did not have an issue with children being in that pool if they were behaving, the majority of them were shouting, splashing bombing into the pool and running around and their parents did nothing to stop them. There was also a very small sign on one side of the pool that said no games at the quiet pool and that included no Lilo's but if you hadn't seen it you wouldn't have known. There was a lad lying on one at the side of the pool not in anyone's way not bothering anyone and one of the animation team told him he couldn't do that but didn't say a word to the children under 16 shouting and bombing into the pool at the same time he said to the lad with the Lilo. Another girl told me this happend to her but it was one of the mothers from one of the families with the noisy children who told her she couldn't lie on the Lilo at the side of the pool. We didn't let this ruin our holiday but they were annoyances that shouldn't have happened really. I think there should be monitoring of the sun loungers and the quiet pool to make sure that the beds aren't being reserved and that if some families choose to take their children to the quiet pool that they aren't being noisy and disrupting everyone else around the pool as this was really unfair. Other than that we had an amazing holiday and the staff in the hotel were fantastic and couldn't have done enough for you, they work very very hard, particularly Maria and Giannis in the main restaurant and Ioanna in the bar in the evening. we would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from one of the best hotels I have ever stayed In . I went for a week away with my husband and 2 girls aged 14 and 10 . The hotel was immaculate and the pools some of the cleanest I have ever seen. The accommodation was perfect . We had a family room which meant that the girls had a separate room with proper beds . The air conditioning was just right and adjustable .
The staff were friendly and helpful. The animation team worked extremely hard and provided activities throughout the day . Aqua Zumba and Zumba included .
The choice of pools meant that it never seemed over crowded , the small water park attached was an extra bonus .
Food - always a great variety , and staff were very attentive . During your stay you can also eat once at each of their special restaurants . We tried both the Italian and the Greek . They were brilliant and it was good to try a variety of appetisers .
Entertainment - varied , the acts that came in were of a good standard especially the variety act .
Location - beach a short walk across the road ( use the underpass to access it ) quite a small bay and fairly rocky but still nice .
Caught a bus into the local town of Stalis . Surprisingly easy , timetable on bus stop , and relatively cheap; 6 euros for 4 people . Lots of great gift shops :)
A variety of drinks available , water is always mineral water as is the ice so fine to drink . Girls loved the milkshakes an I loved the frappes .
No real negatives , people have moaned about sunbeds, but I think that is a problem everywhere you go . All inclusive cards not a problem for us . Drinks finishing at 10:30 not an issue .
Overall a fantastic place , and I would definitely recommend this to families with children over 5 .

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Nic0la_J16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived late on the 15th of August to find our room, and three other couples rooms, had been 'cancelled' and we were spending the night in the hotel over the road. We were told we would be upgraded to all including (from half board) and to a superior room for the inconvenience. The hotel over the road wasn't very nice (not the 5 star, the 2 star (guessing) next door)...but it was only for one night so can't really complain. Our rep (Thomas Cook) wasn't happy he hadn't been informed about this by the hotel so I'm not sure if it's a regular thing.
The Grand itself made for a lovely stay-nice variety of food, even with me being a very fussy eater, and the Italian and Greek restaurants on site were gorgeous. Most of the staff were very friendly, the whole place was clean and in a great location for visiting other resorts. There are pools for everyone on site too-family, young children, no children (quiet pool no under 16s allowed) and an indoor spa pool.
Other reviews are right about the wifi, it doesn't work well at all...thankfully we didn't want to be online on holiday so this didn't bother us.
Would definitely stay again, but hopefully in our own room from the start.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our first trip to Crete. Not far from the airport (approximately 20mins). Lovely beach just across the road. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the facilities are great, with four different pools for everyone's needs. Even though the hotel was fully booked when there it did not feel busy. Lots of restaurant's, snack bars to eat at, good selection of food every day. The animation (entertainment) team work very hard day and night with lots of activities to do, including shows in the evening. We booked all inclusive which made it easier for getting food/drinks. The hotel is built on very hilly land but there is a vehicle driving round the complex all day to take you to the top end apartments/pool. The sunbeds do have towels on them from about 8am, but this is no different to any other holiday, we had no problem getting a sunbed during the afternoon. We travelled with two children who loved the pools, activities and evening shows. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are 16 blocks of rooms/apartments. Blocks 1200 - 1600 are higher up the hill. Depends on ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Takethatmkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
4.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
773 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#28 of 172 in Hersonissos
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
1.8 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Holiday Resort

Address: L. Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#9 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#34 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £61 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Hotel Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Holiday Chersonisos
Grand Resort Holiday
Grand Hotel Crete
Grand Hotel Holiday Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing