We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again.”
Review of Porto Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Village
Ranked #87 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never Again.”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Never again, This is a very dirty hotel!.

Our englishbreakfast every morning was chips and eggs..
Every meal was existed out Spaghetti bolognese and chips!

We had every night 2 hours sleep! because of the drunk people.
The personal of Porto Village keeps making noice till 4 o'clock in the morning.
The houserules said, that we had to be quiet after 23 o'clock but after 23 o'clock the noice got more.(Drunk people, Drunk barman)

We where glad to go home!

This wasn't a holiday, THIS WAS HELL!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank XSharonX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    71
    33
    29
    35
See reviews for
76
83
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Pros-
+The staff here were very friendly and made us feel really welcome.
+Complex and pool was nice
+Cleaners came regulary to change bedding and towels and we were never there when they came

Cons-
+We were the only english in the hotel. The dutch were having a great time but we had no one to talk to
+The towels and bed sheets were tatty. We got given a sheet that was stained with blood from someones time of the month and constantly got sheets and towels with holes in
+No nice beaches in Hersonisos have to get the bus (very easy to get) which we didnt mind but meant we didnt go beach as much as we wanted to
+All inclusive was quite nice but repetitive and not much to choose from

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca22238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I was on holidays with my friends (group of 6 teenagers, 4 adults). We had all inclusive.
The first room that the hotel offered stinked after smokes. Also other rooms were outdated - they felt dirty, the towels and bed sheets were with holes.
Also there is no WiFi network, whick is, I assume, normal service nowadays.

The dinner wasn't good - the same every day, not really tasty, but edible. Snacks at the bar - leftovers from breakfast.

A small pool, lots of russian families, that are really noisy. Also a lots of teenager groups whick are noisy all night and nobody of the staff does something about that.

The most terrible experience was with the children playground - one night kids were playing there, they runned to our room and somehow managed to jump on 3 nails, so we had to go to the hospital! A board with 3 sharp nails in the territory of the hotel? What kind of safety is that???

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We travelled with 2 young children in July 2010.
Staff were friendly and helpful, both pools were nice and the complex was reasonably clean. There was a small park which our children enjoyed.
The complex is set on a hill with the town centre and beach being a short walk away (10 to 15 minutes).
The rooms were very small, and basic with poor kitchen area. Ours smelt of damp throughout the whole holiday and the bathroom was in poor condition.
The dining room was ok, with both an inside and outside area. Food was edible but not great and quite repetitive.
There were very few English people in the complex, nearly everyone was dutch. Not a problem for us, but made it hard for my daughter to make friends with the few children staying there. The main reason we wouldn't recommend this hotel for families is because it was mainly full of large groups of teenagers. They didn't cause any particular problems, it was just a lot noisier than we were expecting. If you're travelling with friends and looking for a cheap, basic place to stay then I imagine this place wouldn't be too bad.
We made the most of it and managed to enjoy our holiday but definitely wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ameliag_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We had to endure two weeks at the Porto Village. Online it looked quite nice and picturesque, which it is, to some extent. The buildings from the outside look very nice with pretty bourgainvillea everywhere. When we got there however we checked in and were quite excited. We were shown the direction of our room, which upon entry was not bad. However we were under the impression it was meant to be 5 Star!! This did not bother us as we are young but the room was a twin and we wanted a double. After humping our stuff back downstairs to reception we were given a double room. On entering that room all we could smell were drains and dampness, it was very dark and gloomy and the bathroom floor was wet. We asked if there was anything better but were told not until the morning, which was fine. That night whilst getting ready for dinner I was sitting on the toilet when I heard an electrical noise and all of a sudden the light bulb shattered and I was in darkness. My partner had to open the door for me as I could not find the toilet roll!! It turned out the shower from upstairs was leaking through the ceiling into the light fitting and onto the floor! I could have been electrocuted!! Which my partner thought was hilarious and we both laughed about how rubbish it was.
That night we went for the welcome night BBQ which turned out to be the best meal of the two weeks stay. The food was awful and sometimes inedible, and we are not fussy and like to try different things. On top of that the chef would constantly smoke in the kitchen whilst preparing the food!! Even the cereal in the morning was rubbish. The staff were rude especially on the bar and you were made to feel bad if you were All Inclusive. If you dared ask for a snack it consisted of one choice only which was curly ham and cheese in tiny rolls all leftover from the breakfast buffet.
We finally got an alright room, third time lucky! After a few days we just ate out every night at a delicious posh seafood reataurant on the seafront. We made the most of it and went sight seeing most days and quite enjoyed the holiday (A trip to Spinalonga is worthwhile), although it was a shame that it wasn't what we expected when we had spent our hard earned cash.
Would not go again and would certainly not recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cannywabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

it was very nice holidays ,nice weather,nice rooms, good food ,for sure we visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma_Lou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersonissos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

amazing holiday, very nice rooms, nice pool area, good food, everything very nice...ll be back for sure...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StratosKanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
3.7 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#12 of 36 in Kato Gouves
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Plazza
Porto Plazza
#83 of 171 in Hersonissos
24 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Memory Boutique Hotel
Memory Boutique Hotel
#96 of 171 in Hersonissos
114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#120 of 171 in Hersonissos
387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#64 of 171 in Hersonissos
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Village

Property: Porto Village
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Village 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Village Hotel Chersonisos
Porto Village Hersonissos
Porto Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing