We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but terrible food and facilities”
Review of Porto Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Village
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed towards the end of the season when our travel agent told us, the week before we were due to fly out, that our previous hotel had closed down. Porto Village is at the top of an hill, so if you need to shop you have to be fit. We went all inclusive and the food was repetitive and awful. We ate out on many occasions. They even ran out of butter one day, despite their being a Spar supermarket at the bottom of the hill! The only bar is outdoor at the pool side and it was cold there in the evening. There are no indoor lounge or bar facilities. Music from the bar played until 2:30am on our first night and this, and the compressor of the fridge at the bottom of my bed (which we later had to unplug!), kept me awake the first night. Most other nights it stopped about 12:30-1am There is solar power and so there was no hot water from the shower until the sun had come out, so we had to shower late afternoon. The all inclusive was very restricted and stopped at 10:30. Free coffee stopped at 8pm and drinking chocolate was not part of the all inclusive, neither was still orange in the evening. You have to finish one drink before you can have another and so, given the small plastic cups they served drinks in, we spent a long time doing to the bar. There was no tea and coffee in the room and no chairs to sit on, just the beds. On a positive note, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and there was free wifi in the reception area. They saved us a sandwich for when we first arrived, as it was late in the evening. It was not the hotel of our choice and we probably wouldn't stay there again. We had initially booked 5 star accommodation and ended up with what was supposed to be 3 star but it just didn't make the 3 star grade in my opinion. The whole place needs updating.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near reception. They just about get wifi but get all the noise from the pool bar above r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Porto Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

was ok but not great for just one person £599 all inc arrived early hours in the morning and reception was closed room wasnt ready had to be put in another temp room till morning food was same every day not that great limited drinks wasnt good (ouzo,raki,brandy,local beer red n white house wine) that was all 5euros for cocktails room was good beach view swimming pool was nice even though has cracks in the floor 2* complex i give this

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Reading the reviews I find it rather strange that some people expect 5star service for the price of 3star hotel. That's a really great place to stay at.
The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff is very polite and helpful. Maybe the furniture and towels may seems to be a bit old, but everything is clean.
The pool area looks great. The food was very tasty and we didn't find it repetitive, though we've been staying there for more than two weeks.
We enjoyed every day of our holidays and we would be happy to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artyomdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I've been there many times since 2010 and is still my favorite place to stay. Nice clean rooms with amazing sea view, mountain view and garden view, all in one, The restaurant nice and relaxing, the food very tasty and Greek, the pool bar and the pool area just perfect, all the staff friendly, there is nothing bad at all to mention, everything is great. The location is simply the best because is very close to the town and very close to the villages up the hill. I recommend this complex to everyone. Is ideal for families and couples as it is for singles and party of friends. No regrets. No1 in Hersonissos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank StratosKanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Holiday'd here with my friend in August. Room was a good size and clean. Bedding, towels changed every other day and if you asked at reception could get more clean towels if needed. Staff friendly, reception staff always on hand and very accommodating. Food was ok, although not 'greek' however was fine for the week. No British guests but this did not spoil our holiday as majority of very friendly. There were several groups of teenagers but they were no trouble in fact were curtious to 'two 'middle aged ladies'! Went on a trip to Spinalonga ...lovely scenery, Plaka was fab! Beach although small at Hersonissos was lovely and the sea warm and inviting. The Greek people as ever..the best!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank madcynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hotel grounds:nice fruit trees flowers and grapes growing everywhere two pools.
Apartments/rooms very small and a little dated your bed may be in the kitchen!
Staff:Quite nice and helpful (most of them).
Food:Edible not much choice,only one choice of desert for whole week, breakfast awful soft drinks beer wine self service.
Location:a ten min walk from main strip up a steep hill.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who wasn't eastern European as we were the only British in the hotel we had no one to talk to and all the others were gangs of drunk Russian and Dutch teenagers who of course were as rude and aggressive as possible staring and blatantly talking about you and growling at our children and shouting and screaming till 5.30 it would of been quite nice if the guests were different.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunflower203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

me and my girlfriend wanted spend a nice time toghether,being for 4 months together that time. we wanted go out to the clubs , of course,but also spend some evenigs, afternoons by the pool as well. we had a good time in the clubs,so i advice all of you go to chersonissos!the pool in the hotel was nice, not so many sunbeds but the water was clean,we could notice some men fixed it in the evenings.but so bad,in the evenings ,when we wanted be by the bar ,the barman there made us not such a pleasant time.he was rude,screaming all the time to us and the others, nervouse.he had all the evenings parties with some greek people on the left side of the bar.he was spitting into the sink there!!!!!!!!i have never seen something like this entire my life,and i travel enough i can say.the food was ok,only repeating all the time.the cleaning was fine,just we didn§t like the holes in the towels and sheets.probably i wonˇt go there anymore.my advice:if you want go Porto village only for sleeping,then it is ok.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
3.7 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#12 of 36 in Kato Gouves
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Plazza
Porto Plazza
#89 of 171 in Hersonissos
35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amuse Hotel
Amuse Hotel
#122 of 171 in Hersonissos
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Memory Boutique Hotel
Memory Boutique Hotel
#94 of 171 in Hersonissos
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sergios Hotel
Sergios Hotel
#46 of 171 in Hersonissos
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Village

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range: £58 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Village 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Village Hotel Chersonisos
Porto Village Hersonissos
Porto Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing