We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel cockroach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eri Sun Village Water Park
Ranked #140 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel was the worst hotel I have ever been too food was look warm at best, cockroaches roamed everywhere and to top it off Olympic holidays said COCKROACHES was the norm in hot countries and we should expect to see them roaming freely. I don' think so............We as a family went in August and had to eat out every night so was not classed as an all inclusive to us plus even though orange juice was meant to be free they charged 2 euors a glass. Pools were not cleaned the two weeks we stayed there. Very very poor pool toilets were also filthy and we saw guest peeing around the pool area.

Room Tip: Very basic think very carefully. We did have some wonderful photos of coakroaches and lovely dirty p...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Eri Sun Village Water Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Having booked this last minute, I would like to say I had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. There was always a good selection of food, cheerful staff, pleasant surroundings, clean but very basic accomodation.

Although situated on a hill, shuttle buses and taxis access were easily available. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times, my only criticism being the other guests namely the stony faced russians and various other foreign visitors who looked more like they were going to a sad occasion than taking a holiday, all in all a very enjoyable experience, highly reccomended.

The hotel manager did a fantastic job every day trying to improve customers stay

If anyone would like to discuss further about the hotel then contact Lorna Ketley- 07794686789.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Me and my husband came here for our honeymoon in the second half of September 2013. First of all, we would like to ask: What the heck is your problem, people?
1. The staff were really friendly. Waiters mostly could not speak very good English but we always managed to get the meaning across when asking for cutlery etc. - fair enough, they are not quick enough to clear and reset the tables, often there were no clean glasses etc. but those people were working their bums off there and there were just not enough of them to manage it all.
2. Food was not great, but there was always something we liked. We definately did not go hungry as some people on here claim. Some days there was not much meat to choose from, or the meat was boney and/or fatty, but there was no wonder the food was of lower quality when so many people (mainly Russians) overloaded their plates with double the amount of food they were able to eat. The ice cream was lovely. There were always plenty of melons and oranges.
3. Our only negative comment would be to the number of (mainly really rude) Russians there. They don't queue, they just barge in. They were really loud, shouting and (drink)driving their rented quadbike throught the hotel sites at night.
4. Pool was great, salty water but whatever. Slides were great fun even for grown-ups (my husband loved them). We did not take part in the aqua aerobic but many people seemed to enjoy it.
5. Yes, the hotel is situated on a hill, quite far from the beach but you all must have known about it when booking your holidays. There was a shuffle bus going to and from the beach. It ran every 2 hours from 10 to 6 (apart from 4 o'clock). Not a great ride but it certainly fulfilled its purpose, much better than walking it.
6. Room was quite basic but clean. Cleaned daily, towels changed 1x in our 7 night stay. Yes, you do have to deposit the toilet paper into rubbish bins but that's how it works everywhere in Greece. You should have read your guidebooks.

Overall it was a rather good holiday, not great but for the price you paid it was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jana_Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just got back after 9 days, all negative reviews we read before coming SPOT ON should of took more notice. Arrived just before midnight, chap on reception very good and helped us to room as well as giving us some cheese & ham sandwiches. Room basic and no shower curtain so room very wet after showe. Took 3 days for shower to be fixed as no holder bracket on wall, but at least fixed after talking to nice girl on reception. Room behind reception, so not much walking up STEEP HILL. No chance of sea view as they told us they were overbooked by more than 14 rooms, so she was not looking forward to telling people who had paid for sea view they would not get one. The food is basic and never hot, I have worked around the world all my working life (in my 60s now) and ate it but found it not enjoyable. My wife had trouble and just had salad all days, food seemed to be enjoyed by Eestern European family's, say no more. Drinks and cups// glasses ran out regularly staff not bothered when asked for more. This is NOT A FULL INCLUSIVE but full board as you get no offer of refreshments outside set mealtimes only from pool bar. The reception bar a thing of the past so no drinks in foyer area only free wifi. No entertainment only water aerobics at 11am, music at pool same and bar staff not very friendly. We hiired car for 3 days and enjoyed our days away also a trip to Spinalonga well worth it. Overall not for British it is all for Eastern European as no info in english for trips and staff do not help in recommended anything. The sister hotel down road (Eri Beach) by Star Beach okay and free use of facilities and drinks, only one at a time or you get told off. Try and get to greek night at restaurant bottom off hill, starts 8pm and none stop till midnight. To sum up food bad, noisey throughout night so not very relaxing staff ok rooms clean and basic ok if we were Russian, nothing to do at night so go out. Stayed 10 till 19 September and would come back to Crete BUT NOT HERE.

Room Tip: Ground floor very noisey
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hostel is not called hotel .. Shocking food levels!!!! And I'm not picky .. no choice, repetitive and looked awful. Milk mixed with water, omelets and pancakes are not cooked rabbit meat and no other kind of meat meal, the bread hard as a rock, etc. ......
Beds are single beds that connected them no such thing as Double, feel the springs every day wake up with back pain
Air conditioner and refrigerator windy. The hotel is relatively close to the central area but is found on the mountain so that the rise hotel is a sharp and hard ... right track.
Bring towels from home because if you pool towel you'll have to pay for it ..
The only thing that was good about this hotel pool and the atmosphere was fun and slides.

Waste of money to go there ...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sagit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We arrived here at about 1 in the morning. The man in reception couldnt find our booking. Not great when you have a 5 year old! The bloke was miserable and clearly didnt want to be there, although when he eventually found our booking we were given a lift in hotel mini bus to our room. As stated in all other reviews this hotel is at the top of a VERY steep hill and in 35 degree heat was really hard work. Which was annoying when the animation crew were on as the music was played louder than any rock concert iv ever been to. That loud that you just couldnt talk to the person next to you. It would have been nice to go for a nice stroll down into the resort but with the hill and a 5 year old just wasnt always possible. The food was a nightmare! Our entire family lived on Spag Bol for the week. Breakfast was very strange (not sure if its what eastern europeans eat) But scrammbled eggs with long spaggetti in it?? or beans with carrots in? The all inc was strange, we always go on all inc holidays and have never seen such basic programme. only beer, wine and ouzo. No ice cream for kids not even to pay for. No snacks through out the day, Just cake at 4ish which did not look good. My main complaint on this hotel would be the loudness of the music, I am only 34 but too much for me. Room was fine. Barmen were strange! you could only get 2 beers at a time which is fair enough but it really depended on which barman you got and what mood they were in as to how many you really got! We really enjoyed Crete. The resort was nice and all the greeks we met away from the the hotel were lovely.I WOULD DEF NOT RECCOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ENGLISH PEOPLE.

Room Tip: Just dont bother, There are plenty of nice hotels here.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pipgibbs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We have been here since the 10th sep go home Thursday . if you have children there is nothing for them lucky to get juice some mornings no coffee hotel guests have had to clear a table to eat a meal food not nice ok for Eastern Europeans what this hotel caters for , down stairs 15 information books 5 diffrent languages none in English I asked a rep for advice on day trips he said I only deal with Russians . Nothing to do at the hotel of a night u have to go in town up and down a big steep hill or pay 7 euros for a taxi , no snacks through out day just stale cake at 4 pm always people complaining in reception I wish I would of taken more notice of reviews I have lived on salads my husbands will eat anything and one night he said it wasn't edibil we hired a car for 3 days seen lovely places Bali beach lovely spinalongha trip a must overall wish took more notice and never booked here again this is for English just eastern eurepeons

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
18.4 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#25 of 32 in Amoudara
410 reviews
5.4 mi away
Diogenis Blue Palace
Diogenis Blue Palace
#15 of 36 in Kato Gouves
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#118 of 171 in Hersonissos
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 171 in Hersonissos
749 reviews
18.3 mi away
Elounda Water Park Residence
2.7 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eri Sun Village Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eri Sun Village Water Park

Address: Hilltop overlooking Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#28 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: £55 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eri Sun Village Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Eri Sun Village Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eri Sun Village Water Park Hotel Chersonisos
Eri Sun Village Water Park Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing